主内容首部

世界上最适合营商的地方

要点:

  • 新西兰连续第四年成为最适合经商的地方
  • 去年有115个经济体实施了294项商业改革
  • 监管改革使各经济体更加亲商
  • 经商环境改善最大的地方包括沙特阿拉伯、约旦、中国内地和印度
  • 在新加坡和中国香港更易获得电力
  • 中国内地降低了纳税和创业的难度
  • 印度简化了跨境贸易

创业时会遇到很多障碍。首先是想法,然后是动机,再之后是融资、进行市场推广,以及寻找客户。除此之外,还有法律要求、移民法律和外国商业法规,所有这些都取决于您所处的市场。

我们应该如何选择理想的创业地点?

衡量经商的便利性

2003年,世界银行开始分析和比较全球监管最佳实践。然后,这些信息被用来根据中小企业在私营部门中营商的便利程度,对全球经济体进行排名。该榜单根据10个营商领域的41项指标对各经济体进行评分,分值为1-100分,其中1分代表在榜单中对企业的友好程度最高,100分是营商环境的最高分。1

商业活动的十个关键领域:

  • 创办公司
  • 获取施工许可证
  • 获取电力
  • 注册财产
  • 获得信贷
  • 缴税
  • 跨境贸易
  • 保护少数投资者
  • 履行合同
  • 解决破产问题1

调查数据表明:

(明确的)规则创造了良好的经商环境,让有干劲和创新想法的新进入者能够开始创业,让有生产力的公司能够投资、扩张和创造新的就业机会。其目标是鼓励高效、透明和易于实施的监管,从而使企业能够发展壮大。

此后,世界银行的《营商环境报告》(Doing Business)年度研究涵盖了186个经济体的3,500多项商业改革。去年,190个经济体中有115个进行了294项改革。2如果您正考虑在海外创业,这便是个好消息。监管改革往往会使经济体更加亲商,而企业活动的增加可以带来更高的就业水平、更好的收入,以及政府收入的增加。

营商环境排名:哪些国家位居榜首?

根据世界银行的《2020年经商环境报告:保持改革步伐》(Doing Business 2020–Sustaining the pace of reforms),在经商环境排名中得分最高的十个经济体是:

  1. 新西兰(86.8分,满分100分)
  2. 新加坡(86.2)
  3. 香港特别行政区(85.3)
  4. 丹麦(85.3)
  5. 韩国(84)
  6. 美国(84)
  7. 格鲁吉亚(83.7)
  8. 英国(83.5)
  9. 挪威(82.6)
  10. 瑞典(82)1

得分解析

在全球190个经济体中,新西兰连续第四年被评为全球最佳营商环境。注册一家公司只需要办一项手续,而且只需要半天时间。相比之下,《经商环境报告》也提到,在委内瑞拉注册一家公司需要20个程序和230天。

在亚洲,新加坡再次排名第二,在获得电力和办理施工许可证方面略有改善。在最容易做生意的经济体中,排名第三的是香港特别行政区,它在“办理施工许可证”、“获取电力”和“开办公司”方面得分很高。

丹麦在西欧国家中排名第一。它的商业改革使得办理施工许可证和开办公司变得更加轻松;在韩国纳税变得更容易了;美国的积极改革使开办公司、办理施工许可、获得电力、纳税和执行合同变得更加容易。和新西兰一样,在格鲁吉亚注册一家公司也很快(只需一天),新的改革也使跨境贸易更加容易。

尽管税制改革使经商的难度略有增加,但英国总体排名第八,较去年上升一位。挪威在执行合同(第三)和解决破产问题方面得分很高(第五)。

在世界银行的营商环境调查中,瑞典排名第十,在跨境贸易的低成本和效率方面得分最高。1

优胜者的共同特征

所有得分最高的国家和地区都有相同的特征。这些包括:

  • 用于纳税、设立公司、转让财产和取得许可证的电子文件系统
  • 可靠的电力供应
  • 操作透明度高1

在《电力供应:理解布线监管的好处》报告中,世界银行指出,定期对电力系统进行测试的经济体通常能够可靠地接入电网,并让企业在受保障的标准下运行。1

据估计,家庭电气化将使入学率平均提高7%,就业率提高25%,收入提高30%。电力服务不足的地方,企业绩效会受到负面影响。

经商环境改善最多的经济体

根据《2020年经商环境报告》,全球十大改善程度最高的经济体分别是沙特阿拉伯、约旦、多哥、巴林、塔吉克斯坦、巴基斯坦、科威特、中国内地、印度和尼日利亚1

这些经济体的改革占所有改革的五分之一,中国和印度提出的改革计划将在未来几年继续改善商业监管。

在这些进步最快的国家中,中国、尼日利亚和多哥让开办公司变得更简单了;中国(北京)和印度的施工许可透明度有所提高;多哥的电力获取变得更方便;巴基斯坦和多哥的信息透明度也有所提高。

巴林、中国、约旦、科威特和沙特阿拉伯加强了对少数投资者的保护;中国、约旦和多哥均改进了电子纳税系统,使纳税更方便。

巴林、中国、印度、尼日利亚和沙特阿拉伯都加强了边境基础设施,使跨境贸易更加便利;格鲁吉亚和约旦通过电子系统改进了商业监管,使合同更容易执行。

为您的海外业务开立银行账户

如果您正计划启动您的业务或已经在经营业务,在开立银行账户之前考虑您的需求。您是否符合资格要求或需要贷款来开办您的公司?您打算用哪种货币做生意?您估计的年销售额是多少?

您开办的可能是新公司,但汇丰可凭150年的全球运营经验助您一臂之力。我们现在是最大的银行和金融服务机构之一,为超过4,000万个人、财富和公司客户提供服务。

我们的足迹遍布64个国家和地区,包括这10个最佳营商环境的国家:新西兰、新加坡、中国香港、北欧地区(丹麦、芬兰、挪威和瑞典)、韩国、美国、英国,以及新晋的格鲁吉亚。

在离开家乡前往海外创业之前,您可以在全球30多个国家和地区开立汇丰国际帐户。

详细了解汇丰环球银行服务

准备好开立海外账户?

很多国家在批准签证前,会先要求申请人证明拥有充裕资金,能够自给自足。您可以在当地开立银行账户,方便提供证明。请填写简易表格,我们会尽快与您联系,解答您的问题,协助开立海外账户。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

1 World Bank Doing Business 2020–Sustaining the pace of reforms. https://www.worldbank.org

2 Governments Worldwide Launched 294 Reforms Over the Past Year to Make Doing Business Easier. https://www.worldbank.org

Top of main content
potter in her shop, stacking pottery on shelf; HSBC International Services life abroad article, Easiest places in the world to do business

The easiest places in the world to do business

Key takeaways:

  • New Zealand is the best place to do business for the fourth year running
  • Last year, 115 economies implemented 294 business reforms
  • Regulation reforms make economies more business-friendly
  • Most improved places to do business include Saudi Arabia, Jordan, mainland China and India
  • Singapore and Hong Kong made it easier to get electricity
  • Mainland China made paying taxes and starting a business easier
  • India made trading across borders easier

There can be a lot of hurdles when starting up a business. First comes the idea, followed by motivation. Then there's funding the venture, marketing, and finding your customers. On top of that, there's the legal requirements, immigration laws and foreign business regulations, all of which will depend on the market you're setting up in.

How does one choose the ideal location for starting up a business?

group of friendly business people at table, discussing contracts

Measuring the ease of doing business

In 2003, the World Bank began analysing and comparing worldwide regulatory best practice. This information is then used to rank global economies on the ease of small and medium-size firms doing business in the private sector. Economies are scored using 41 indicators across 10 business areas on a scale of 1–100, with 1 being the most business-friendly in the rankings, and 100 being the top score for ease of business 1.

The 10 key areas of business activity are:

  • Starting a business 
  • Dealing with construction permits 
  • Getting electricity 
  • Registering property 
  • Getting credit 
  • Paying taxes 
  • Trading across borders 
  • Protecting minority investors 
  • Enforcing contracts 
  • Resolving insolvency 1

The survey's data suggests that:

[Clear] rules create an environment where new entrants with drive and innovative ideas can get started in business and where productive firms can invest, expand, and create new jobs. The objective is to encourage regulation that is efficient, transparent, and easy to implement so that businesses can thrive.

The World Bank's Doing Business (DB) annual study has since seen more than 3,500 business reforms in 186 economies. Last year, there were 294 reforms in 115 of the economies (out of 190) .2 This is good news if you're thinking of starting up a business overseas. Regulation reforms tend to make economies more business-friendly, and an uplift in entrepreneurial activity can lead to higher levels of employment, better incomes, and a boost in government revenue. 

aerial view of road snaking through green mountains

Ease of doing business ranking – who came out on top?

The 10 highest-scoring economies on the ease of doing business rankings, according to the World Bank's Doing Business 2020–Sustaining the pace of reforms report, were:

  1. New Zealand (86.8 out of 100)
  2. Singapore (86.2)
  3. Hong Kong, SAR (85.3)
  4. Denmark (85.3)
  5. Republic of Korea (84)
  6. United States (84)
  7. Georgia (83.7)
  8. United Kingdom (83.5)
  9. Norway (82.6)
  10. Sweden (82) 1

Breakdown of scores

For the fourth year in a row, New Zealand ranked first out of 190 economies for the best place in the world to do business. There's just one procedure required to register a company, and this will only take you half a day. On the other end of the Doing Business scale, it'll take you 20 procedures and 230 days to begin doing business in Venezuela. 

In Asia, Singapore once again ranked second, improving slightly on 'getting electricity' and 'dealing with construction permits'. The third-easiest economy in which to do business went to Hong Kong, SAR, with high scores for 'dealing with construction permits', 'getting electricity' and 'starting a business'. 

Denmark ranked number one in Western Europe. Its business reforms made it easier to deal with construction permits and to start a business; it became easier to pay taxes in the Republic of Korea; and positive reforms in the US made it easier to start a business, deal with construction permits, get electricity, pay taxes and enforce contracts. Like New Zealand, it's very quick to register a company in Georgia (taking just a day), and new reforms made it easier to trade across borders. 

Despite a tax reform making it slightly more difficult to do business, the UK ranked eighth overall, up one spot from last year. Norway scored well for enforcing contracts (third) and resolving insolvency (fifth). 

Sweden ranked tenth on the World Bank's ease of doing business survey, receiving top scores for the low cost and efficiency of trading across borders 1

woman holding shoebox and checking inventory on latptop

Common features of top performers

All of the top-scoring countries and regions share common indicators. These include:

  • Electronic filing systems in place for paying taxes, setting up a business, transferring property, and obtaining permits
  • A reliable supply of electricity
  • Operating with a high degree of transparency 1

In 'Getting Electricity: Understanding the benefits of wiring regulation', the World Bank states that economies that have regular testing in place for electrical systems usually have reliable access to grids and operate under protective standards. 1

Household electrification is estimated to result in an average rise of around 7% in school enrollment, 25% in employment and 30% in income. Where electricity services are deficient, firm performance is negatively impacted.

Economies with the most improvements in a business environment

Worldwide, the 10 most-improved economies, according to the Doing Business 2020 indicators, were Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Togo, Bahrain, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Kuwait, mainland China, India, and Nigeria.1

These economies accounted for one-fifth of all reforms, with China and India proposing reform programmes that will continue to improve business regulations over the next few years. 

Out of these top improvers, mainland China, Nigeria and Togo made it easier to start a business; China (Beijing) and India saw improved construction permit transparency; Togo made it easier to get electricity; and Pakistan and Togo saw an increased transparency of information. 

Minority investor protections were strengthened in Bahrain, China, Jordan, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia; and mainland China, Jordan and Togo made it easier to pay taxes with enhanced electronic systems. 

Bahrain, mainland China, India, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia all strengthened border infrastructure, making cross-border trading easier; and Georgia and Jordan improved business regulations with electronic systems to make it easier to enforce contracts. 

tall colourful buildings in Sweden

Setting up banking for your business overseas

If you're planning to launch your business or are running a business already, consider your needs before opening a bank account. Will you meet the eligibility requirements or need a loan to start your business? What currency will you be doing business in? And what is your estimated annual turnover?

You'll find us in 64 countries and territories, including the top-10 easiest places to do business: New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong, the Nordic region (Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden), Korea, the United States, the United Kingdom, and most recently, Georgia.

Before you even leave home to start your business overseas, you can open an international account with us in more than 30 countries and territories around the world.

With multiple worldwide HSBC accounts, you can use our Global View services to view, link and manage all of your eligible self-named or third-party HSBC accounts. Global Transfers then allows you to instantly transfer funds between your accounts in real time, with no transfer fees and generous daily transfer limits of up to USD200,000 in many markets.

See how you can manage your accounts through Global View and Global Transfers with a single log on.

Ready to open an overseas account?

Many countries require you to show you have enough funds to support yourself before they'll approve your visa. This is easier to do with a local bank account. Leave your details on our quick form and we'll get in touch to answer your questions and to help you open an overseas account.

1 World Bank Doing Business 2020–Sustaining the pace of reforms.  https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/feature/2019/10/24/doing-business-2020-sustaining-the-pace-of-reforms

2 'Governments Worldwide Launched 294 Reforms Over the Past Year to Make Doing Business Easier'. https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/press-release/2019/10/24/governments-worldwide-launched-294-reforms-over-the-past-year-to-make-doing-business-easier