主内容首部

移居加拿大指南

加拿大地大物博,大自然的景色绝美,城市生活现代化,并拥有多样化的共融社区,同时兼备多方面的优点,实属难得。

汇丰自1981年起已扎根加拿大1。我们的指南为您提供全面信息,助您融入当地,顺利在加拿大开展新生活。

马上跳到:

加拿大的银行服务

加拿大的金融体系稳健、极具竞争力,在全球首屈一指。在到达前预先安排好加拿大的理财工具,可让您更快地投入新生活。汇丰为您提供适切支持,满足您的理财需要,助您顺利安顿下来。

如何在海外申请加拿大银行账户

加拿大银行公会估计超过99%2的加拿大人持有银行账户。您需要开立加拿大账户,以便付费、支薪及提现。

加拿大的两大银行账户类型为支票账户(又称往来账户)和储蓄账户。支票账户用作日常理财、支付账单和支领薪水。虽然储蓄账户可赚取利息,但提款次数设有限制,可能会产生交易费用。

如您年满18岁并已是汇丰客户,或您将移居加拿大并有合理理由开户,便可在线申请个人或学生银行账户。

不确定哪种账户适合您?了解更多(只有英文版本)

如符合以下条件,不打算移居加拿大的海外人士也可在线申请汇丰加拿大账户:

  • 为任何一个地区的汇丰客户

  • 符合资格

  • 并非居于受限制司法管辖区(奥地利、文莱、意大利、爱尔兰、日本、卢森堡、新西兰、巴基斯坦、沙特阿拉伯或韩国)

如何汇款到加拿大

要汇款到加拿大,最常见的方法是使用SWIFT系统。要从海外收款,您须向汇款人提供您的全名、地址、账号、交易号码、金融机构号码和地址,以及SWIFT/BIC代码。汇丰和加拿大的其他银行并没有国际银行账户号码(IBAN)。

如果您在不同国家和地区持有多个汇丰账户,可通过我们的环球账户服务3连通各账户,一站式查看,更可在加拿大等全球30多个地区的合资格汇丰账户之间进行环球转账,费用全免。环球转账功能可让您从所在地向其他国家/地区支付账单或偿还房产贷款。

信用卡和借记卡

开立支票账户时,许多银行会一并向您发出借记卡;部分账户更包括信用卡。但请注意,使用前您应先仔细了解所有相关费用。为保障新客户,汇丰不会主动将借记卡邮寄到加拿大境外。到达加拿大后,您可亲临分行领取临时卡,或申请将卡邮寄到您的当地地址。

每月准时全额清还信用卡款项,是提高您在新国家/地区的信用评级的好方法;有些中介公司更可让您以信用卡支付房租。

在加拿大,由联邦监管的金融机构所发出的信用卡和借记卡均受到保障,不受欺诈交易影响,您须承担的最高金额不会超过50加拿大元。如果您不清楚信用卡及借记卡的合同内容,请向发卡机构查询。

您可访问加拿大政府网站(只有英文版本),以进一步了解在当地使用信用卡和借记卡的信息。

建议︰信用卡和借记卡在加拿大通行,您也可随身携带一些现金,以作日常小额消费。

在加拿大建立信用纪录

您在原居地的信用评级可能无法转移到加拿大,因此在到达后,您应着手建立良好的信用纪录。良好的信用评级可让您获得更优惠利率、贷款额度更高的房产贷款,以减低须支付的押金。

汇丰加拿大全面支持您建立加拿大信用纪录,一律免除加拿大信用局提供6,000加拿大元信用额的要求。如果您已在另一地区拥汇丰贷款额,我们会在加拿大为您提供同等贷款额,上限为50,000加拿大元。

连接通信网络

互联网 — 在加拿大,互联网服务供应商大多都提供包括固定电话和电视的服务计划,因此不妨货比三家。

申请互联网服务时,您可能须提供的文件包括您在加拿大的住址、银行账户资料、电话号码、社会保险号码,以及如护照等由政府签发并附有照片的有效身份证明文件。文件要求不尽相同,申请前应向有关的互联网服务供应商查询清楚。

电信 — 您可选择使用以信用卡或现金充值的SIM卡,也可选择提供SIM卡的合同计划,或附有手机的月费计划。加拿大的移动数据计划价钱在全球数一数二,所以如果您需要使用大量数据,就要有心理准备!

加拿大的面积广大,如果您拨打居住地区以外的电话,可能须支付额外费用。如果您需要定期拨打长途电话,应找寻包含免费跨区通信的计划。

建议︰前往购物时,可顺道找寻合适的电信服务计划。在加拿大,几乎每个购物中心都设有主要流动服务供应商的柜台,提供各种服务计划,非常方便!

寻找住房

加拿大租房资料

许多地产中介的网站清楚列明须支付的房租金额,您也可查看当地社交媒体群组,以了解不同社区。

找到心仪住处后,您须与房东签署租赁协议。您应确保当地银行账户中的存款额达数个月的房租,以用作首月房租、押金和其他费用。

加拿大的房东通常会要求您提供“无效支票”,以确认您的账户资料。由于大多数加拿大人已不再使用实体支票,您可通过网上银行下载一张以交予房东。

如果您未持有加拿大银行账户,大可在到达前开立

如打算租房,您可能需要由雇主发出的收入证明书、显示有足以支付数个月房租的银行存款结单,以及前房东的推荐信;房东还可能会查看您的信用评级。刚移居到加拿大的您在当地并未建立信用纪录,因此您可能须支付更多押金。

建议︰您无须支付中介费用。加拿大的房地产经纪不向买方或租客收费,您可免费享用租房中介服务。

加拿大买房资料

刚到达加拿大的人士当然可选择购买房子,但需考虑的事情不少。

有意买房但无意移居?您须确定自己是否享有加拿大居民待遇。非居民可能须支付更高额的首期,一般为房价35%左右,也须支付额外税款。物业规条可能因省份而异。

多数人使用房产贷款买房(网页只有英文版本)。您可直接联系借贷构机,或联系房产贷款经纪。一般提供给居民的房产贷款需约20%的押金;如购买房产贷款违约保险(mortgage default insurance),押金则可低至5%。这属申请过程之一,但跟其他保险不同,这类保险保障贷款机构免受违约风险。

可在加拿大工作的永久和非永久居民,以及加拿大公民,均可享首置优惠,即借取房价5%至10%的贷款作为首付。

先想清楚您希望居住在什么地方,想拥有什么样的房子,以及您最著重的社区特点,再联系熟悉该区且信誉良好的房地产经纪。

觅得到心仪物业后,下一步就是出价。报价文件是正式法律合同,您的房地产经纪或律师会为您备妥。只有在满足列出的所有条件的情况下,合同才会具法律效力。您须在报价的同时支付押金,金额视乎房价。制定预算时记得包括在内!

我们乐意协助您投资物业或移居加拿大。汇丰提供加拿大等超过9个国家和地区的海外房产贷款

移民和税收

加拿大政府的网站提供全面信息,解答初到当地的大部分问题,以及列出新冠疫情下的最新入境限制。

了解更多加拿大入境信息(只有英文版本)

签证

在大多数情况下,您需要有工作签证才能在加拿大就业。工签分两类:开放式工作签证(可受雇于任何加拿大雇主),以及指定雇主工作签证。您申请指定雇主工签的机会较高,该工签会注明您的工作地点和期限。

如果计划在加拿大的大学留学,您须申请学生签证,但您只可在当地就读,不可凭此入境,所以您须另行申请入境签证。从指定教育机构毕业的合资格学生,可申请毕业后工签计划。

无论您的路向为何,我们都建议您尽早开始搜集相关资料,并提前准备好所有文件和费用。

税收

只要您开始在加拿大工作,就须按收入纳税。理论上来说,当您成为加拿大的居民时,便须纳税,通常从您到达当地当天起计算。

加拿大的纳税人可享优越福利,如托儿服务和税务减免。详情可访问加拿大政府网站入息税网页(只有英文版本)。

社会保险号码

您须申请社会保险号码(SIN)才能在加拿大合法工作。加拿大的社会保险号码类似美国的社会安全号码(SSN)、印度的Aadhaar卡,以及香港的身份证号码。

这组国家识别码有9位数字,让您参与政府计划并享有国家福利。如您身处加拿大,申请社会保险号码其实相当简单,在线申请或邮递申请均可。

了解更多社会保险号码相关信息(只有英文版本)

教育和医疗

教育

加拿大的教育由幼儿园开始,然后依次为小学、高中。学生的升学选择不少,包括免费的公立学校、收费的私立学校,以及在家自学。视乎所在省份,授课语言可以是英语或法语,不妨先了解附近的学校。

高等教育方面,您可查看加拿大政府的指定教育机构列表(只有英文版本),了解加拿大大学所提供的课程。

如您正申请加拿大学生签证,请注意,来自部分国家,如中国内地、印度、巴基斯坦和菲律宾的学生,只需符合资格,便可通过加拿大政府的学生直入计划(SDS),加快学生签证申请。

有意参加的话,您需要开立加拿大银行账户。汇丰投资担保证书(GIC)可作资金证明,助您达到申请中的财务要求。

查看我们的海外学生投资担保证书计划(只有英文版本)

医疗

加拿大的医疗保健系统为公营体系,属全民医疗保健2,按需要提供,不受个人经济能力影响。加拿大公民和永久居民,以及部分外国雇员和留学生可享用。新移民不太可能在首三个月获保障,因此应考虑在到达当地之前购买医疗保险。

了解加拿大的医疗保健信息(只有英文版本)

到达后首3个月

我们的移居指南助您在到达加拿大后,顺利开展新生活。汇丰为您提供最适切的规划和支持,让您在目的地步上轨道。进一步了解我们的环球银行服务

打算开立海外账户?

我们可为您建议申请海外账户的最佳方法。在选择您的所在地,以及您有意开立海外账户的目的地后,我们会向您提供详细步骤。

了解如何开立海外银行账户

免责声明

汇丰控股有限公司基于其认为可靠的公开资料编写本文,但并未独立核实此等资讯。汇丰控股有限公司和汇丰集团(统称“汇丰”)对您因使用或依赖本文而可能招致或遭受的任何损失、损害、责任或其他任何形式的后果概不负责。本文内容如有更改,恕不另行通知。汇丰不对本文的准确性、及时性或完整性作任何陈述或保证。

 

本文并非投资建议或推荐,也无意出售投资或服务或招揽购买或认购。本文不应用作任何有关税收、遗产、信托或遗产规划决定的基础。您不应使用或依赖本文来作出任何投资决定;汇丰不对此类使用或依赖负责。本文所展示的任何市场资讯均为过去资讯,不应被视为未来市场表现的指标。每当进行任何形式的优质住宅或商业物业购买、出售或出租前,您都应考虑寻求专业意见。如果您对本文的内容有任何疑问,请向您所在地区的专业顾问查询。

1 汇丰加拿大

2 加拿大银行公会:银行与消费者

3 适用于加拿大的汇丰卓越理财和汇丰运筹理财客户。环球账户服务和环球转账功能仅在提供汇丰卓越理财和汇丰运筹理财的部分国家和地区适用。

Top of main content

Things to know before moving to Canada

Canada is a vast country defined by its breathtaking wilderness, modern city living and diverse, tolerant communities - a unique combination that's hard to find anywhere else.

HSBC has had a presence in Canada1 since 1981, so we know a thing or two about helping people settle in to the country. This guide will equip you with some of the essential information you need to make a successful start to life in Canada.

Take me straight to:

Banking in Canada

Canada has one of the strongest and most competitive financial systems in the world. Get your banking set up before you arrive and you'll find it easier to settle into your new home. At HSBC, we're here to support your banking needs so that you get off to the best possible start.

How to open a bank account in Canada from overseas

The Canadian Bankers Association estimates that more than 99%2 of all Canadians have a bank account. You'll need one to pay bills, receive your salary and get access to cash.

In Canada, there are two main bank account types: chequing (also called current, in some countries) and savings. A chequing account is used for daily banking, paying bills, and having your salary paid in. While a savings account will earn you interest, it also comes with a limited number of debits and can incur transactional fees.

If you're at least 18 years old and an HSBC customer, or you're moving to Canada and have a valid reason for opening an account, you can apply online for a personal or student bank account.

Not sure which account suits you? Learn more.

Overseas applicants who are not planning to move to Canada can also apply for an HSBC Canada account online if they:

  • are already an HSBC customer in another market
  • meet the requirements
  • are not living in a restricted jurisdiction (currently Austria, Brunei, Italy, Ireland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia or South Korea)

How to transfer money to Canada

The most common way to send money to Canada is through the SWIFT system. To receive funds from overseas, you must provide the sender with your full name and address, account number and transit number, institution number and address, and SWIFT/BIC Code. HSBC and other banks in Canada do not have an IBAN (International Standard for Bank Account Number).

If you hold multiple HSBC accounts in different countries and regions, these can be linked and viewed in one place through our Global View service3. This allows you to then make fee-free Global Transfers between eligible HSBC accounts in over 30 markets, including Canada. Global Transfers can be used to conveniently pay your bills and mortgage payments in one country or region while living in another.

Credit and debit cards

Many banks will issue you a debit card when you open a chequing account. And depending on the account, you may also qualify for a credit card. It's wise to carefully check all the fees and charges associated with any card before you use it. To protect new customers, HSBC will not automatically mail debit cards outside of Canada. Once in Canada, you can pick up a temporary card at a branch or have it mailed to your local address.

Charging bills that must be paid monthly to your credit card (and then paying it off in full) is a great way to boost your credit score in a new country. You can even pay your rent on your credit card if you use an intermediary company. There are companies set up specifically to help you do this.

In Canada, both credit and debit cards issued by a federally regulated financial institution offer protection from fraudulent transactions. The maximum amount you can be liable for is CAD50. If you're unsure about your card agreement, get in contact with the service provider.

You can find out more about using credit and debit cards in Canada on the Government of Canada website.

Top tip: In Canada, credit cards and debit cards are widely accepted, but it's always a good idea to carry some cash with you for smaller day-to-day purchases.

Building good credit history in Canada

Your credit score from home may not be transferable to Canada, so it's important to start building a solid credit history when you arrive. A higher credit score can result in preferential interest rates, larger home loans and the ability to secure deposits.

HSBC Canada will support you in building up your Canadian credit history. We automatically waive the need to have a Canadian credit bureau to provide credit up to CAD6,000. And if you already have credit with HSBC in another market, we will match your existing limit up to CAD50,000.

Getting connected

Internet - In Canada, ISPs often offer bundles that include a landline connection and TV packages, so shop around for the best deal.

When you apply for internet service, you may need to provide documentation that includes your current Canadian address and Canadian bank account details, phone number, Social Insurance Number, and a valid, government-issued photo ID, such as your passport. Check with your ISP before you apply as there may be different requirements for each company.

Mobile - You can choose from a pay-as-you-go SIM card that you top up with your credit card or cash, a SIM-only deal, or a handset with a contract. Canada is known to have some of the most expensive mobile plans in the world, so brace yourself if you are the kind of person who likes to use a lot of data!

As Canada is such a large country, there might be additional charges if you call outside your city or region. If you think you'll need to make regular long-distance calls, look for a plan that includes coast-to-coast free calls.

Top tip: Find a mobile plan as you shop. In Canada, nearly every shopping mall has a counter selling plans for all the major mobile providers. Simply walk up and ask!

Finding accommodation

How to rent in Canada

Many realtors have sites that will give you a good indication as to how much you can expect to pay for rent. It's also worth looking at local social media groups for information about different neighbourhoods.

Once you've found a place you'd like to rent, you'll need to sign a rental agreement with the landlord. Make sure you have several months' rent available in your local bank account to deal with paying the initial rent, the rental deposit and other set-up costs.

Landlords in Canada will often ask for a "void cheque" to confirm your account details. As most Canadian don't even use cheques anymore, you can download one through online banking and give that to the landlord instead.

If you don't have a Canadian bank account yet, you may be able to open one before you arrive.

To start renting, you may need to show a letter from your employer stating your income, a bank statement to show you have sufficient funds to cover several months' rent, and references from previous landlords. Your landlord will probably also conduct a credit score check. As a newcomer to Canada, you won't have a local credit score yet, so you might be asked to pay a higher deposit.

Top tip: Go through a fee-free agent. Real estate agents charge neither the buyer nor the renter, so you can use their services for free to help you find a place to live.

How to buy property in Canada

Buying a home as a new arrival to Canada can definitely be done, but there are a few extra things to consider.

Are you looking at property but not planning to move? You'll have to establish whether you'll be considered a resident of Canada. Non-residents may have to pay a higher down payment - about 35% of the purchase price is common - and additional taxes. The property rules may vary by province.

Most people buy property with a mortgage. You can approach lenders directly or use a mortgage broker. A conventional mortgage for residents usually requires about a 20% deposit. It's possible to get a mortgage with a smaller deposit (5% or more) but you'll need to take out mortgage default insurance. This is covered as part of the application process. Unlike other types of insurance for buyers, however, this one's in place to protect the lender from possible loan defaults.

As well as Canadian citizens, permanent and non-permanent residents who are permitted to work in the country may be eligible for a First-Time Home Buyer Incentive. This enables you to borrow up 5% to 10% of the home's purchase price to add to your down payment.

Understand where you want to live, what type of home you'd like, and what's important to you in a neighbourhood. Then find a reputable real estate agent who is knowledgeable in that location.

Once you've found a property you like, the next step is making an offer. An offer is a legal contract that your real estate agent or lawyer should prepare carefully. The offer only becomes binding once all the conditions listed in it have been met. You'll have to provide a deposit as part of your offer, which will depend on the purchase price of the home. Don't forget to factor that into your budget!

If you're looking for an investment property, or to move to Canada, we may be able to help. At HSBC, we offer overseas mortgages in more than 9 countries and regions, including Canada.

Immigration and taxes

The Canadian government has created a comprehensive website that should answer most of your initial questions about arriving in Canada, and address any current COVID restrictions that apply to new arrivals.

Find out more about Canadian immigration

Visas

In most instances, you'll need to get a work permit in order to take up employment in Canada. There are two types available: the open work permit, which allows you to work for any employer in Canada; and the employer-specific permit. Most likely, you'll be applying for an employer-specific work permit, which states the permitted location and duration of your employment.

If you're planning to study as an international student at a Canadian university, you will need to apply for a study permit. While this permit allows you to study, it doesn't let you enter the country - you will still need to apply for a visa. Eligible students who graduate from designated learning institutions can then apply for the Post-Graduation Work Permit Program.

Whichever route you choose, we recommend you start your research early and prepare all documents and fees in advance.

Tax

As soon as you start working in Canada, you will be liable for tax on your income. Technically, you become a resident of Canada for taxation purposes when you establish residential ties to the country, which is usually considered to be the date you arrived in the country.

Being a taxpayer in Canada brings with it substantial benefits and credits, including childcare. You'll find more information about income tax in Canada on the Government of Canada website.

Social Insurance Number

You will also need to apply for a Social Insurance Number (SIN) in order to work legally in Canada. The Canadian SIN is similar to a Social Security number (SSN) in the US; the Aadhaar card in India; and the Hong Kong Identification Number in Hong Kong, for example.

This nine-digit national identification code gives you access to government programmes and benefits. Once you're in Canada, applying for your SIN is straightforward: you can do it online or by mail.

Find out more about how the Social Insurance Number works

Education and healthcare

Education

Children in Canada usually start school at kindergarten before enrolling in elementary and then high school. There are plenty of options available, including free public schools, paid private schools and home schooling. The language of education can be English or French, depending on which province you're living in. Take time to read up the school board pertaining to your particular province.

When it comes to tertiary education, you can find out what courses are available at Canada's universities by visiting the government of Canada's list of designated educational institutions

Are you applying for a Canadian study permit? Certain foreign students, including those from mainland China, India, Pakistan and the Philippines, can have their permits fast-tracked through the Canadian government's Student Direct Stream (SDS) program if they meet the eligibility requirements.

To participate, you will need a Canadian bank account. The HSBC Guaranteed Investment Certificate (GIC) program helps you fulfill the financial criteria for your application by showing proof of funds.

Check out our International Student GIC Program

Healthcare

Canada's healthcare system is publicly funded, with universal healthcare2 provided on the basis of need rather than the ability to pay. That said, only Canadian citizens and permanent residents, as well as some foreign workers and international students, will have access to it. As a newcomer, you are unlikely to have coverage for the first three months, so consider taking out health insurance before you arrive in the country.

Understand how healthcare works in Canada

Wrapping up your first 3 months

We hope you find this guide useful in getting off to a great start in Canada. At HSBC, we're here to give you the right level of planning and support so you can make a success of the experience. Learn more about our international services to see how we can help.

Ready to open an overseas account?

We can tell you the best way for you to apply for an overseas account. Simply select your current location and where you would like to open an account. We'll then walk you through the steps.

Disclaimer

HSBC Holdings plc has prepared this article based on publicly available information at the time of preparation from sources it believes to be reliable but it has not independently verified such information. HSBC Holdings plc and the HSBC Group (together, "HSBC") are not responsible for any loss, damage, liabilities or other consequences of any kind that you may incur or suffer as a result of, arising from or relating to your use of or reliance on this article. The contents of this article are subject to change without notice. HSBC gives no guarantee, representation or warranty as to the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of this article. 

 

This article is not investment advice or a recommendation nor is it intended to sell investments or services or solicit purchases or subscriptions. This article should not be used as the basis for any decision on taxation, estate, trusts or legacy planning. You should not use or rely on this article in making any investment decision. HSBC is not responsible for such use or reliance by you. Any market information shown refers to the past and should not be seen as an indication of future market performance. You should always consider seeking professional advice when thinking about undertaking any form of prime residential or commercial property purchase, sale or rental. You should consult your professional advisor in your jurisdiction if you have any questions regarding the contents of this article.

1 HSBC in Canada

2 CBA Banks and Consumers, https://cba.ca/banks-and-consumers

3 Available for HSBC Premier and HSBC Advance customers in Canada. Global View and Global Transfers are not available in all countries and regions where HSBC Premier and HSBC Advance are offered.