主内容首部

加拿大留学清单

友好、美丽、包容,加拿大一直被评为世界上最适合居住的地方之一,也是国际学生的首选目的地之一。在前往加拿大留学之前,有几件事情需要办妥,比如申请学生签证,开立银行账户和安排住宿。

1.检查您的护照

在海外更新护照比在国内要难。如果您的护照在12个月内就要到期了,那么您最好在出发前更新,以免遇到麻烦。如果政府要求您有再入境许可,您可能需要在护照上获得有关许可,才会获发加拿大签证。

拥有加拿大双重国籍的人(不含持有美国及加拿大护照的人)请注意了,从2016年开始,您必须持有效的加拿大护照飞往加拿大。即使您需要使用非加拿大护照旅行,也要确保两者都携带。

2.申请工作许可证和签证

要在加拿大指定的学习机构学习,您需要一份学习许可证(除非您的学习时间不满6个月)。一般来说,您必须在到达加拿大之前申请这份许可证,它的有效期通常等同于您的学习期限外加90天。申请时,您需要提供学校的录取通知书,以及身份证明和经济支持证明。我们强烈建议新申请者在网上申请。

某些国家的居民,包括中国、印度、巴基斯坦和菲律宾,可能有资格通过“学生直入计划”(Student Direct Stream/SDS)快速通道获得他们的学习许可证。请注意,学习许可证和签证不是一回事。您可能还需要访客签证或电子旅行授权,它应是和您的学习许可证同时签发的。

3.确定好学生宿舍

如果您在加拿大的学院或大学上学,您需要找好住宿。一些学院和大学提供宿舍和联排别墅。如果您住在学校,您可以选择学校的餐食计划。

另一个选择是在学校附近租房子或者和其他学生合租。作为一名国际学生,您将受到您学习所在省份或地区的房东房客法的保护。如果您要租房子,就要签12个月的租约,并支付第一个月和最后一个月的租金。提前支付损坏押金也是一种很普遍的做法。您们学校的学生服务办公室是寻找住宿的好地方。

4.开通银行业务

您将如何转移和获取资金?在加拿大留学期间,您必须证明您每年能拿到10,000加元,学费不包括在内。

有了当地的银行账户,您能更好地管理自己的财务,而且大多数雇主都会要求您有一个银行账户来存入工资。如果您住在校外,您可能还需要一个支票账户来支付房租。

您可以提前开立海外银行账户,并在出发前收到您的银行账号和借记卡或信用卡(按当地规定办理)。或者,您也可以在到达后在网上预约当地的网点。

5.安顿成本预算

到达加拿大后,您可能需要购买一系列的东西。比如适应寒冷天气的新衣服、您家里的新家具等。给自己定一个预算,包括到达目的地后您认为需要的所有东西,以及签证、学费、机票和住宿费。

租一套公寓一个月大概要花费800-3000加元1,但每个城市不同。建议您留出预算的25%用于住宿。至于衣服么?二手衣服不仅环保,而且在加拿大也被认为很时髦。据加拿大排名第一的地方分类广告网站Kijiji的调查,85%的加拿大人曾买卖过二手商品。2这样,您不但能节省预算,说不定还可以从二手交易中获得不少乐趣。

6.开始存钱

现在您已经有了预算,为自己设定一个储蓄目标。您认为您能在留学之前攒够钱吗?如果情况不妙,您也许可以削减当前的开支,或在出国时削减一些可能发生的费用。

为了进一步节省费用和获得优惠,您可以利用由联合国教科文组织认证的国际学生身份证(ISIC)的学生折扣。只要支付20加元会员年费,这张数字ISIC卡就能让全日制学生在超过125个国家和地区享受旅游、购物、用餐和文娱折扣。

7.做健康检查

在您出发去加拿大之前,您需要准备一份医疗和免疫记录,以及您需要的处方药清单。如果医学院学生不提交免疫接种记录,他们可能会被禁止在临床工作,所以要确保接种记录是最新的。这点可能也适用于您。

另外,您应确保准备好在加拿大可能会用到的各种药物,也别忘了在您的随身行李里多带一些,以防托运行李延误导致您无法及时服药。如果您有任何疑虑,不妨和您的医生讨论各种备选方案。

加拿大公共资助的全民医保体系是世界上最好的医保体系之一。虽然它对加拿大公民和永久居民是免费的,但国际学生在加拿大逗留期间必须自己支付医疗保险。有些省份可能通过其医疗保险计划(Medical Care Plan/MCP)为学生提供基本医疗保险,但各地情况不同,最好进行核实。如果您的教育机构不提供医保服务,那他们至少可以告诉您有哪些要求。

请参阅须知事项以及加拿大卫生系统的运作详情

8.考虑购买旅行保险

旅行保险和医疗保险不是一回事。旅行保险不仅涵盖您的疾病,还覆盖出行财物、旅行延误、错过航班和航班延误。

如果您选择了省级医疗保险计划,那么旅行保险可以作为补充,比如紧急牙科手术或超出每日限额的费用。如果您在加拿大以外的地方度假,国际或多地区的保险就变得至关重要。尽管美国只在一条边境之隔,但如果没有保险,去一趟急诊室可能会花掉您数千美元。保险范围会根据您的保险计划而有所不同。

9.检查您的手机是否解锁

从2017年开始,所有在加拿大销售的新移动设备都必须解锁,手机供应商必须免费解锁旧设备或提供使用说明。然而,如果您的手机是在其他国家购买的,您可能需要在离境前解锁。一旦解锁,您就可以在您的手机上使用加拿大的SIM卡,不限运营商。

记住,如果一家商店试图向您收取“赎金”来解锁您的手机,您可以根据加拿大的《无线法典》保护您的消费者权益。这部法典还能让您在2年后取消套餐合同且免于受罚,无论合同条款是什么;它对数据漫游费设置了上限;如果您对新手机不满意,您可以在15天内退货(同样无需罚款)。

10.仔细检查所有材料

在最后的几天里,确保准备好所有相关的文件。检查护照的有效期,确认您有相关的签证和学习许可证,打印您的医疗保险和旅行保险文件。

如果您打算用您的外国驾照在加拿大开车,您需要先从您自己的国家获得国际驾照。法律可能因省和地区而不同。

此外,您也可以在出发前扫描重要文件,万一遗失任何文件也能轻松获取备份。

打算开立海外账户?

汇丰环球网络覆盖64个国家,包括加拿大的分行。如果您已经确定加拿大是您留学的目的地,不妨预先开立一个账户,以便到达时可以使用所有的银行业务。如需了解我们能为您提供的服务,请预约回电,我们会很快与您联系。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

Top of main content

Canada checklist

Friendly, beautiful and inclusive, Canada is consistently rated as one of the best places in the world to live. It's also a top destination for international students. Before moving to Canada to begin your studies abroad there are a few things to get sorted, like applying for a student visa, opening a bank account and securing accommodation.

1. Check your passport

Renewing your passport overseas can be harder than doing it at home. If your passport is going to expire in the next 12 months, it may be worth renewing it before you go to avoid any hassles. If your government requires you to have a re-entry permit, you may need to get one in your passport before you're issued a Canadian visa.

Dual-Canadian citizens, except those holding American and Canadian passports, take note: as of 2016, you must now fly into Canada on your valid Canadian passport. Even if you need to travel on your non-Canadian passport, make sure you travel with both.

2. Apply for work permits and visas

To study at a designated learning institute in Canada you'll need a study permit (unless you're studying for less than 6 months). Generally, you must apply for this permit before you arrive in Canada and it's usually valid for the length of your studies, plus an extra 90 days. To apply, you'll need an acceptance letter from your school, as well as proof of ID and financial support. New applicants are strongly recommended to apply online.

Residents of certain countries, including China, India, Pakistan and the Philippines, may be eligible to fast-track their study permit through the 'Student Direct Stream' (SDS). A study permit is not the same thing as a visa. You may also need a visitor visa or an electronic travel authorisation. One should be issued with your study permit.

3. Lock in student accommodation

If you're attending a Canadian college or university, you'll want to get your accommodation organised. Some colleges and universities will supply dormitories and townhouses. If you're living on campus (called ''living in residence''), you may be able to opt for a meal plan program.

Another option is to rent a property close to campus or move into a share house with other students. As an international student, you'll be protected by landlord-tenant laws of the province or territory in which you're studying. Expect to sign a lease for 12 months if you're renting, and to pay for the first and last month's rent. It's also pretty standard to pay a damage deposit up front. Your school's student services office is a good place to start when looking for accommodation.

4. Set up your banking

How are you going to move and then access money? You're required to show you'll have access to CAD10,000 per year while studying abroad in Canada, not including tuition.

You'll be able to manage your money better with a local bank account, and most employers will require you to have one to deposit your salary. If you are in accommodation off campus, you may also need a chequing account to pay rent.

You can set up an overseas bank account in advance and receive your bank account number and debit or credit card (subject to local regulations) prior to departure. Alternatively, you can book an appointment online at a branch when you arrive.

5. Budget for settling in costs

There are a range of things you may need to buy once you land in Canada. It could be new clothes for the cold weather or new furniture for your place. Set yourself a budget that includes all the things you think you'll need once you arrive as well as your visa, tuition fees, flights and accommodation.

Renting an apartment varies by city, but it could cost you around CAD800-3,000 a month1. It's recommended that you set aside about 25% of your budget for accommodation. As for your wardrobe? Secondhand clothes are not only sustainable but they're also considered hip in Canada. According to survey by Kijiji, "Canada's #1 local classifieds", 85 per cent of Canadians bought or sold secondhand goods.2 You can not only budget while settling in, you'll probably have fun doing it, too.

6. Start saving

Now you've got your budget, set yourself a savings goal. Do you think you'll be able to save enough before you leave? If it's looking tight you may be able to cut back on your current spending or on some of the potential costs when you move.

For additional savings and benefits, take advantage of student discounts with the UNESCO-endorsed International Student Identification Card (ISIC). For a CAD20 annual membership fee, the digital ISIC card gives full-time students travel, shopping, dining, and cultural discounts in over 125 countries.

7. Do a health check

Before you set off for Canada you'll need to get a copy of your medical and immunisation records, as well as a list of any prescription medication you'll need. Medical students may be barred from working in a clinical setting if they don't submit immunisation records, so make sure your vaccinations are up to date. This may also apply to you too.

Also, make sure you're able to access any medication you need in Canada and don't forget to pack extra in your carry-on bag, in case your checked baggage is delayed on arrival. If you're unsure about anything, chat to your doctor about your options.

Canada's publicly funded universal healthcare system is one of the best in the world. While it's free for Canadian citizens and permanent residents, international students must organise their own health insurance during their stay in Canada. Some provinces may provide students with access to basic healthcare through their Medical Care Plan (MCP), but this varies and it's best to check. If your educational institution doesn't offer you healthcare service, they'll at least be able to tell you the requirements.

See more information about what you'll need and how the health system works in Canada.

8. Weigh up travel insurance

Travel insurance is not the same thing as health insurance. Travel insurance can cover you for illness, but it also covers your belongings, travel delays, missed departures and airline delays.

If you've opted for a provincial healthcare plan, travel insurance can cover any shortfalls, such as emergency dental surgery or costs that might exceed your covered daily limits. If you take any holidays outside of Canada, this is where international or multi-region insurance becomes a necessity. The US may be just across the border, but a trip to the A&E could cost you thousands without insurance. Coverage will vary according to your insurance plan.

9. Check your phone is unlocked

As of 2017, all new mobile devices sold in Canada must be unlocked and phone providers must unlock or provide instructions for old devices at no charge. If your phone was purchased in another country, however, you may need to unlock it before you leave home. Once unlocked, you'll be able to use any SIM card in Canada with your phone, enabling you to shop around.

Remember, if a shop tries to charge you a "ransom fee" to unlock your phone, you can demand your consumer rights according to the Canadian "Wireless Code". This Code also enables you to cancel a phone contract after 2 years with no penalty, regardless of the contract terms; it caps data roaming charges; and you can return your new phone within 15 days if you're not happy with it (again, with no penalty).

10. Double-check all documentation

In the final couple of days make sure you have all relevant documentation ready. Check expiry dates on passports, confirm you have relevant visas and study permits, and print out your health and travel insurance documents.

If you're planning to drive in Canada on your foreign driver's license, you'll need to get an International Driving Permit from your own country first. The laws may differ by province and territory.

It's a good idea to scan your important documents before travelling, too. This makes it easier to replace anything that goes missing.

Ready to open an overseas account?

HSBC's global network covers 64 countries, including branches in Canada. If you've decided that Canada is your destination of choice for your study abroad, pre-open an account for full banking access when you arrive. To find out how we can help, arrange a call back and we'll contact you shortly.

If you'd like further information about opening an HSBC overseas bank account, our 'Let's chat' button will connect you instantly with a customer service member.