主内容首部

《When Your Kid Goes to College》(当孩子升上大学)和其他好书推介

初次踏足大学,特别是要到国外开始这人生的新旅程,一定让很多学生,甚至家长都大为紧张。虽然每个人的大学体验都不尽相同,但是所面对的难题都大同小异,而新冠疫情就是其中一项新挑战。

可幸的是,有不少谈到这些难题的好书,或许能为您解答疑问,让您增进对留学生活的了解,少一点困惑。*

适合学生和家长阅读、有关上大学的12本好书

《College Admissions During COVID》(在新冠疫情下入读大学)作者:Robert Franek

Robert Franek是《Princeton Review》的总编辑和《The Best 384 Colleges》的作者。这本书为在新冠疫情下入学的大学生,拆解所有切身难题,内容涵盖入学、奖学金、考试及在新冠疫情下的校园生活。

由于防疫措施因大学而异,而且会不时改变,请浏览大学网站,查看最新安排。

《如何让孩子成年又成人》作者:Julie Lythcott-Haims

这本书由斯坦福大学前新生院长撰写,建议家长可给孩子一些空间犯错,从中培养出毅力和自理能力;相反,过份保护孩子就只会适得其反。作者认为,“直升机家长”会削弱子女日后的赚钱能力,并造成严重心理影响。

《How to College: What to Know Before You Go (and When You're There)》(大学这样念:开学前后您要知的大小事)作者:Andrea Malkin Brenner和Lara Hope Schwartz

这本书很适合准备升上大学的高中生阅读,虽然书中的各种建议,寄宿生可能已经大多听过;但对第一次到海外留学的学生来说,就相当有用。

《The Truth about College Admission》(大学招生真相)作者:Brennan Barnard和Rick Clark

报读大学其实是影响全家人的事,所以这本既写给学生,也写给家长的好书,绝对值得一读。这本书与别不同,不标榜载有大学招生的秘密,而是简单直接地提供实用信息,助家长、学生充分了解大学的招生过程。

《没有好文凭的日子,我说故事》作者:Frank Bruni

这本书打破一贯的大学名牌效应,提出不论是否上名校,都可以创造美好的未来的论点。作者也谈到社会上用标签去定义人的现象,或会影响学生的情绪,甚至是他们之后的成就。

虽然到什么地方上大学,都不会完全决定您的未来,但一个学位确实能创造很多机会。不妨参考一下提供最佳毕业后工签的国家

《费斯克大学指南》作者:Edward Fiske

这本畅销选校指南,由前纽约时报教育版编辑撰写,选出美国最知名及最具特色的高等教育学府。您可比较约320家学院及大学,也可以将您的成绩与其他学生作比较。

《The Naked Roommate: And 107 Other Issues You Might Run Into in College》(室友光着身,和另外107个您在大学可能会遇到的问题)作者:Harlan Cohen

这本书有趣又易读,谈到很多在美国上大学会碰上的情景,有读者认为内容写实又切身。与孩子一起读这本书,一定可以激发很多讨论!

《Social Media Wellness: Helping Tweens and Teens Thrive in an Unbalanced Digital World》(好好用社交媒体:在不平衡的数字世界里引导孩子健康成长)作者:Ana Homayoun

有些家长可能对社交媒体戒备心很重,所以未有跟孩子有过具建设性的讨论。这本书的作者搜集了很多资料,提倡善用互联网和社交媒体,进行健康的社交互动,同时要懂得自律和注意安全。

《The Sunday Times Good University Guide: Where to Go and What to Study》(星期日泰晤士报大学指南:选校与选科)作者:John O'Leary

这本指南由《泰晤士高等教育增刊》的前编辑撰写,初版到现在已经有25年。随书附上实用时间表,提醒报读学生要注意的重要日期。

《The Princeton Review: The Best 384 Colleges》(普林斯顿选评:知名学府384所)作者:Robert Franek

这本书告诉我们,没有一所大学是适合所有人的。所以,选择大学时要照顾到自己的期望与所需,四个主要考虑因素是:经济支援、就业服务、校园文化和感兴趣的学科。

《The Hidden Ivies: 63 of America's Top Liberal Arts Colleges and Universities》(不为人知的常春藤盟校:63所美国知名博雅教育学院和大学)作者:Howard Greene和Matthew Greene

这本书解答很多父母的疑问:什么是博雅教育?它的重要之处是什么?常春藤盟校和其他学校又有什么不同?

《Time Management Secrets for College Students: The Underground Playbook for Managing School, Work, and Fun》(大学生时间管理秘诀:兼顾学业、工作和玩乐的攻略)作者:Dennis Stemmle

为什么大学一年级生的退学率高达30%?能否顺利融入大学,适应新环境的能力很关键,当中包括良好的时间管理技巧。在开学前,家长和学生都可先读一读这本书,为大学生活做好准备。

《Good & Cheap: Eat Well on $4 a Day》(便宜美食:每天4美元就吃得好)作者:Leanne Brown Page

这本书破解烹调营养美食会很贵的迷思。作者以撰写SNAP(美国补充营养援助计划,又称“食物券”)烹饪书驰名,她认为低成本煮食很讲灵活性。这本书提供免费PDF版本,更有英文和西班牙文供选择,最适合那些想在家吃得省钱又健康的人。

进一步了解我们的环球银行服务

在适应大学生活时,您可能面对多方面的困难,单凭一本好书也不一定能帮助到您。汇丰提供各种客制化的服务,在不同人生阶段照顾您的需要,当中包括海外留学和学生理财服务。

为家长、学生和毕业生提供海外留学资源

*我们并非赞同这些书本的全部内容。但在您为高等教育做准备时,这些题材全面的书有一定参考价值。

Top of main content

When Your Kid Goes to College, and other good books

Heading to university for the first time can be pretty scary, and not just for the student. This is especially true for those studying abroad. While everyone's college experience will differ, some challenges are quite common.

Fortunately, there are a lot of books on the subject so you're bound to find one that might answer some questions and ease your fears.*

12 books about university for students and parents

How to Raise an Adult, by Julie Lythcott-Haims

The underlying message of this book, written by the former dean of freshmen at Stanford University, is that it's OK to let kids make mistakes. This builds resilience and self-reliance - things that that we cull by being too overprotective. Lythcott-Haims claims that helicopter parenting both threatens your child's earning power and will cause "enormous psychological harm".

How to College: What to Know Before You Go (and When You're There), by Andrea Malkin Brenner and Lara Hope Schwartz

This book is a good guide for high school students transitioning into university. Boarding students might have heard all this advice already. Students who are studying abroad for the first time will find the practical tips useful and easy to read.

The Truth about College Admission, by Brennan Barnard & Rick Clark

Applying for college can affect the entire family, and that's where this book comes in. Unlike some books, this one doesn't claim to have the secrets to university admissions. It will, however, help parents and students make sense of the process with straightforward information.

Where You Go Is Not Who You'll Be, by Frank Bruni

The subtitle of this book is ''An Antidote to the College Admissions Mania". It aims to reassure families that students can thrive in any environment. The author discusses "labels" and how our obsession with status can affect a student's happiness (and success). While where you go doesn't necessarily define who you are, it can certainly lead to a lot of opportunities. Have you considered which countries offer the best post-study work visas for international students?

The Fiske Guide to Colleges, by Edward Fiske

Authored by the former The New York Times education editor, this best-selling guide highlights what Fiske calls the ''best and most interesting'' higher-education schools in the US. You can compare colleges and universities (about 320 are mentioned) as well as how your grades and scores measure up against your peers.

Over 1 million international students study in the US every year. These are the top 5 most popular states and their schools.

The Naked Roommate: And 107 Other Issues You Might Run Into in College, by Harlan Cohen

This funny and easy-to-read book covers "what if" situations mostly geared toward students going to a US university. Some readers call it "shockingly honest" and "in your face". Read this with your child - it'll give you plenty to talk about!

Social Media Wellness: Helping Tweens and Teens Thrive in an Unbalanced Digital World, by Ana Homayoun 

If you're a parent, you may be so distracted by your fears about the effects of social media that you're not having healthy conversations about it. This is a well-researched book that encourages healthy socialisation, self-regulation and safety when it comes the internet and social media.

The internet's not all bad. There are a lot of different apps, including those for campus safety, that can help international students get the most out of their time in college.

The Sunday Times Good University Guide: Where to Go and What to Study, by John O'Leary

Written by the former editor of the Times Higher Education Supplement, this guide has been around for 25 years. It includes a handy timeline to assist students' applications so they don't miss key dates.

The Princeton Review: The Best 384 Colleges, By Robert Franek

Armed with the knowledge that no one university is right for everyone, this asks students to consider 4 wants and needs when choosing a university: financial aid; career services; the school culture; and academics.

The Hidden Ivies: 63 of America's Top Liberal Arts Colleges and Universities, by Howard Greene and Matthew Greene

This book tells you what a lot of parents are asking: what exactly is a liberal arts education and why is it important? And how does an Ivy League school differ from others?

Time Management Secrets for College Students: The Underground Playbook for Managing School, Work, and Fun, by Dennis Stemmle

Why are first-year university student drop out rates as high as 30%? A successful transition depends on the skills the students will need to manage their new environment, including good time management. Parents and students alike will benefit from reading this book before university starts.

Good & Cheap: Eat Well on $4 a Day, by Leanne Brown Page

Author Leanne Brown busts the myth that you need to spend a lot of money to make nutritious and delicious meals. "Frugal" cooking requires flexibility, says the author, who's also known for her SNAP cookbooks (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or "food stamps"). The PDF version of this book is offered free in English and Spanish. Great for anyone who's stretching a food budget but still wants healthy, home cooked meals.

Learn more about our international services

Adjusting to university can be difficult in many ways, and it might take more than a good book to guide you. At HSBC, we offer tailored services to help with all stages of life, including a study abroad and student banking.

Study abroad resources for parents, students and graduates

*While we're not endorsing these books, we do feel it's a pretty well-rounded selection to get you started on your education journey.