主內容首部

英國留學清單

英國擁有多元文化,既有大都會城市,亦有美麗的鄉村,是追求國際認可教育的國際學生熱門選揀之一。

如果您將前往英國留學,不妨儘早辦妥所有相關事務,例如學生簽證、海外銀行戶口和旅遊保險,讓您在出發前可安心享受在本國餘下的時間。

以下是英國留學應準備的事項。*

1. 檢查護照的有效期

如果護照將於一年內到期,建議您在出發前先續領。如果舊護照到期(或遺失或被盜),您將無法將簽證轉移到續領的護照上。屆時您須改為申請生物信息卡(BRP)。

如果您在英國以外地區申請BRP,便需向簽證申請中心預約。簽證獲批時,您將自動獲發BRP。

2. 申請工作許可和簽證

來自歐盟、歐洲經濟區和瑞士以外地方的學生必須持有簽證,才可在英國留學。請注意,夏天通常是處理簽證的最繁忙時間,因此建議您儘早申請(早可在開學前6個月申請)。

如果留學時間不足6個月,您可能可以申請短期留學簽證。留學多於6個月的學生需要申請學生簽證或兒童學生簽證(於2020年10月取代第四級Tier4(General)學生簽證)。新的升學指南可參考英國政府的學生簽證和入境網頁

使用此簽證,您可能要在入境時證明自己的英語能力:持新簽證的國際學生必須能夠在沒有傳譯員協助的情況下溝通。

想在畢業後逗留的學生,您很幸運:英國已在2020年秋季重啟畢業工作簽證(post-study work visa)。在獲批准的高等教育學府完成學士或以上課程的所有國際學生,均可申請此2年期簽證。

請參閱簽證處理時間表

3. 物色住宿

在海外留學的最大開支,大概是租金了,因此您最好儘早開始研究各種選擇。當地住宿類型非常多,例如由大學管理的宿舍、出租公寓,甚至私人房屋中的房間。

入住大學住宿可能讓您更易結交朋友,而且洗衣機和飯堂等各種所需設施都會在校園範圍內或在附近,非常方便。您的大學甚至可能為一年生準備了學生住房,因此不妨查看有意修讀大學的網站,看看他們提供哪些選擇。

4. 設定好銀行服務

在英國留學時,您須證明擁有足夠資金支持自己生活,以及證明資金來源。持學生簽證或兒童學生簽證可在英國開立基本銀行戶口,但預先開立海外銀行戶口會較為容易,也更省時。

在英國,通常須擁有銀行戶口,才能申請手機合約和支付水電費,在工作時僱主也需要您有銀行戶口才能將薪金直接存入。您可預先開立海外銀行戶口,在出發前收妥扣賬卡或信用卡(受當地法規約束),抵達後即可使用全部銀行服務,例如環球銀行轉賬。

5. 制定生活成本預算

英國文化協會估計,未計學費,學生在英國留學的每年花費平均達12,600英鎊1。獎學金也許能抵付部分開支,稍為減輕預算壓力。例如,為英國和印度哲學博士學者而設的Newton-Bhabha Fund就涵蓋住宿、津貼、簽證費、國際航班機票和旅遊保險等方面。

不肯定將要花費多少?您可在這個學生預算計算器搜尋自己的大學,好好估算一下。

6. 開始儲蓄

制定好預算後,不妨定下儲蓄目標,以便在出發時準備就緒。獎學金和資助都是不錯的學費資金來源,但兩者競爭都非常激烈,因此不妨多點嘗試,儘早申請。最知名的獎學金包括志奮領獎學金(Chevening scholarships)、英聯邦獎學金(Commonwealth Scholarship),以及為哲學博士生提供的中英聯合研究計劃(UK - China Research Partnership)。

持學生簽證亦可每週工作最多20小時。不妨在當地賺些收入、又可擴展生活圈子和取得工作經驗。

國際學生證(ISIC)將助您進一步節省金錢,而且可用範圍不止英國,而是全球130個國家/地區。既然有學生折扣,為何還要支付全價?

7. 完成健康體檢

入境英國前,您可能需要注射疫苗或進行健康體檢。目前,中國、香港、印度、印尼、巴基斯坦和越南等至少80個國家和地區的居民如需在英國逗留6個月以上,則必須進行肺結核檢查。

完成簽證申請後,您亦須支付醫療保健附加費。持學生簽證將可在英國免費使用國民保健服務(NHS)。

建議您在抵達後儘快向您大學附近的全科醫生註冊,如果您有長期醫療狀況更應如此。您的學校可提供醫生名單,因此請先詢問學生服務處。

如有任何疑問,不妨在出發前與醫生討論各種選擇。

您可在此計算醫療保健附加費

8. 考慮購買旅遊保險

一份全面的單程旅遊保險可保障隨身行李、行程延誤、錯過出發航班以及航空公司延誤等問題。雖然NHS可提供多種醫療服務,但涵蓋範圍和療程有限。

額外購買保險前,您可先向本國現有的醫療保險公司查詢。保障範圍可能涵蓋海外的生活。

9. 檢查手機是否已解鎖

如果手機已解鎖,您便可在英國使用任何SIM卡,在使用同一步手機轉換合約時更具彈性。您亦可在回家時轉用另一張SIM卡,節省漫遊費用。

如果購買新手機,鎖機政策會因電訊商而異。如果手機已鎖定,您可能需要等到最短合約期過後才能解鎖。不過,完成合約後,電訊商將不可再為此服務向您收費。

10. 再次檢查所有文件

前往英國之前,請確保您已準備好所有文件,並已妥為掃描和儲存。不過,您仍須隨身帶備影印本,在過關時出示。

這些文件包括旅遊和住宿詳情、資金證明、護照和簽證,以及與您留學相關的任何通訊。如果不確定是否已齊備所需,可參考由英國邊境執法隊提供的國際學生順利入境10大貼士

11. 保障自身安全

在英國的生活或許與您現時習慣了的生活不同。雖然很多安全資訊都是基本常識,多了解如何保障自身安全依然非常重要。GOV.UK匯集了所有政府網站,是值得參考的資訊來源。您可在此查看關於在英國生活、留學和旅遊的最新資訊。

準備好開立海外戶口?

準備開立海外戶口嗎?滙豐可以幫到您。您可填寫下方的「預約回電」表格,我們的人員就會在您方便的時間致電聯絡您,為您講解開戶過程。

有疑問?

歡迎向我們的顧問查詢。

* 此指引未必涵蓋全部詳情。請聯絡您目的地國家或地區的政府簽證辦事處,了解更多規定。

1 英國學習:開銷及預算

Top of main content

Heading to university overseas? Set up your banking before you go.

UK checklist

The United Kingdom is a culturally diverse combination of cosmopolitan cities and beautiful countryside. It's also a top destination for international students looking for a globally recognised education.

If you're studying in the UK, sort out all the logistical stuff early, like your student visa, overseas bank account and travel insurance, so you can relax and enjoy your time at home now.

Here's a few things to prepare you for your study abroad in the UK. *

1. Check that your passport is valid

If your passport is due to expire within a year, you may want to renew it before you travel. It's no longer possible to transfer your visa to your replacement passport if your old one expires (or is lost or stolen). You'll need to apply for a biometric residence permit (BRP) instead.

If you apply for your BRP outside of the UK, you'll need to book an appointment with a visa application centre. The permit will be granted automatically when your visa is approved.

2. Apply for work permits and visas

Students from outside of the European Union, European Economic Area and Switzerland need a visa to study in the UK. Be aware that summer's usually the busiest time for processing visas, so lodge your application as early as possible (up to 6 months before your course starts).

If you'll be studying for less than 6 months, you may be eligible for a short-term study visa. Students studying longer than 6 months will need a Student or Child Student visa, which replaced the Tier 4 (General) student visa in October 2020. The new guidelines for these student routes can be found on the UK government's student Visas and Immigration page.

Be prepared to prove your English proficiency at the border while travelling on this visa as well: international students on the new visas must be able to communicate without the need for an interpreter.

For students wishing to stay on after graduation, you're in luck: the UK post-study work visa was brought back in autumn 2020. The 2-year visa is available for all international students who have completed an undergraduate or higher course study at an approved higher-education institution.

See visa processing times.

3. Find accommodation

Rent will mostly likely be your largest expenditure when you're studying abroad so it's best to start researching your options as soon as possible. There's lots of accommodation types to choose from, like university-managed dorms, rental apartments, or even rooms in a private house.

You may find that it's easier to make friends while living in university accommodation, and that any facilities you might need - like laundry and dining halls - will be close by, if not on campus. Your university might even set aside student housing for first-year students, so take a look at your prospective university's website to see what they have to offer.

4. Set up your banking

You'll need to prove you have the funds to support yourself, as well as where the funds came from, while studying in the UK. Those with a Student or Child Student visa can set up a basic bank account in the UK, but it'll be easier (and you'll save time) if you set up an overseas bank account in advance.

In the UK, you're usually required to have a bank account to apply for a mobile phone contract and to pay your utility bills. If you're working, your employer might also expect you to have an account for them to directly deposit your salary into. Open an overseas account to receive your debit or credit card prior to departure (subject to local regulations) and to be able to access full banking services, like global bank transfers.

5. Set a budget for settling in costs

The British Council estimates that it costs on average GBP12,600 per year1 for a student studying in the UK, not including tuition. Your scholarship(s) may cover certain expenses, which makes it easier to budget. The Newton-Bhabha Fund for UK and Indian PhD scholars, for example, covers accommodation, a stipend, visa fees, international airfares and travel insurance.

Not sure how much it's going to cost you? Search for your university in this student budget calculator and you'll have a pretty good idea.

6. Start saving

Once you have your budget, set yourself a savings goal so you'll be ready when the time comes to move. A good way to supplement your tuition is through scholarships and grants. These can be highly competitive, so apply often and early. The most well-known scholarships include the Chevening scholarships, Commonwealth Scholarship, and the UK - China Research Partnership for PhD Studies.

Student visa holders are also able to work up to 20 hours a week. Make some money, meet people and gain work experience while you're there.

The International Student Identity Card (ISIC) will give you even further savings – not just in the UK but in 130 countries around the world. Why pay full price when you can get a student discount!

7. Complete a health check

You may need to have vaccinations or health checks before you enter the UK. Currently, residents of at least 80 countries, including mainland China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Pakistan and Vietnam, must be tested for tuberculosis if they're to stay for more than 6 months.

When completing your visa application, you'll also need to pay a healthcare surcharge. This entitles you, as a Student visa holder, to access National Health Service (NHS) care in the UK at no extra cost.

It's recommended that you register with a GP near your university as soon as you arrive, especially if you have an ongoing medical condition. Your school can provide you with a list of doctors, so ask student services first.

If you're unsure about anything, chat to your doctor about your options before you leave.

You can calculate your healthcare surcharge here.

8. Consider travel insurance

A fully comprehensive one-way travel insurance policy can cover you for your belongings, travel delays, missed departures and airline failure. And while the NHS will provide you with a wide range of health services, there will be limitations to coverage and treatments.

Check with your current healthcare insurance in your own country before you buy more. Your cover may also protect you when living overseas.

9. Check that your phone is unlocked

If your phone is unlocked, you'll be able to use any SIM card in the UK. This makes it much more flexible if you switch to a contract and keep your handset. You can also save on roaming costs by switching to another SIM card when you're travelling back home.

If you're buying a new mobile phone, the locking policies are different with every provider. With a locked phone, you may have to wait for a minimum contract period to have it unlocked. Once you're out of your contract, however, providers can no longer charge you for this service.

10. Double-check all documentation

In the days leading up to your move to the UK, make sure you have all your documents ready, scanned and saved. You'll still need hard copies in your hand baggage, however, when going through immigration.

Documents include your travel and accommodation details, proof of funds, your passport and visa, and any communication relating to your studies. If you're unsure if you have all you need, the UK Border Force has top 10 tips on getting through immigration smoothly as an international student.

11. Stay safe

Life in the UK may be different to what you're used to. While some things may be common sense, it's important to read up on how to stay safe. The GOV.UK website is a compilation of all the government websites and a great resource. Here, you'll find the most up-to-date information about living, studying and travelling in the UK.

Ready to open an overseas account?

Do you need to tick 'Set up your banking' off your list? HSBC can help you on this one. Fill out our 'Arrange a call back' form below and one of our team will call you back at a convenient time to walk you through the account opening process.

It's easy to get in touch with us. Talk to us directly through our 'Live chat' channel about opening an HSBC international bank account.

1 https://study-uk.britishcouncil.org/moving-uk/money-budgeting

*This is not a comprehensive guide. Contact the government visa office of your destination country for more requirements.