主内容首部

美国留学清单

美国拥有世界上最多的大学和学院,拥有全球半数的顶尖高等教育学府。1除了提供世界一流的教育之外,美国的大学通常更具有包容性和灵活性,并提供很好的社交机会。

如果您打算去美国留学,不妨参考以下指南,帮助您计划海外学习。*

1. 检查您的护照

您的护照有效期必须在您学习结束后至少还有6个月。如果您认为护照会在美国留学期间到期,请在出发前续期,以避免任何麻烦。

如果您在美国更新护照,您仍需在旅游时携带旧护照,以便初始上面的有效签证来证明您的留学生身份。如果您对有关护照和签证的要求有任何疑问,请访问美国移民和海关执法局网站

2. 申请在美国留学后再申请签证

除加拿大和百慕大公民外,在美国上学的外国人需要持有F-1或M-1学生签证。不过,您首先需要被美国移民和海关执法局(ICE)的学生和交流访问者项目(SEVP)认证的美国大学录取。

F-1签证适用于长期学习,只要您是全日制学生,您就可以留在美国。两种签证都可以提前3个月签发,但学生只能在开学前30天入境美国。要获得美国学生签证,您必须是全日制学生,证明您的英语水平,并证明您有足够的资金来支持自己。

此外,您还需要进行面试。面试官会问您关于留学和在美国的居留计划方面的问题。美国政府提供了学生签证面试和所需文件的准备贴士。由于签证要求可能发生变化,请访问SEVP网站获取最新信息。

3. 解决住宿

如果您上的是美国大学,您可以选择校内住宿(宿舍)或校外住宿(私人家庭或寄宿家庭)。

许多国际学生更喜欢学生公寓,至少一开始是这样。原因是在宿舍更容易结识新朋友,而且宿舍与教室和食堂距离较近。如果您住在校外,做好预付定金的准备,而且您的水电等公用设施费用要另外支付。您很可能还需要签12个月的合同。

您的大学的网站是寻找学生住宿的好地方。

4. 开通银行业务

您可能会用支票账户来处理大部分日常银行业务,包括支付账单。如果您正在接受经济援助,这些援助通常会以支票形式提供,或者直接存入您的账户。

然而,对于非美国居民来说开设银行账户可能会很困难,尤其是网上开户:虽然部分银行有不同的要求,但您通常会被要求提供身份证明和收入来源、您的地址以及您的社会安全号码(或纳税识别号码)。

出国之前开立国际银行账户,最简单的理财方法。通过汇丰服务,您的账户信息以及借记卡和信用卡(根据当地规定)将在您离家之前准备好。如果您有多个环球帐户,您只需登录环球账户服务一次,即可管理所有账户。

欢迎在网上预约汇丰服务,或到就近的分行咨询详情。

5. 建立预算

您的学校和签证办公室需要您证明能支付您学习期间的生活费用。这实际上是您获得签证批准的一个条件。

除了您的签证、学费、机票、住宿费和其他成本,比如大部分私立大学规定办理的学生医疗保险计划(Student Health Insurance Plan/SHIP)。

计算您的收入和支出,以保持收支平衡。理想情况下,您应该入大于出。因为事情并不总是会按计划进行,所以要留出一些钱以备不时之需(以及用来度假:即使学生也是需要休息的)。

6. 开始存钱

您可以根据您的出国预算设定一个储蓄目标。在您出国之前存到这个数额现实吗?如果感觉有些不切实际,您可以考虑削减某些方面的开支,让目标更容易实现。

不妨看看您的财务管理习惯。您的花费是否比想象中多?自己煮咖啡,在家做饭,少去美甲沙龙,乘坐公共交通(或者骑自行车)都是不错的做法。很多常见的银行费用都可以避免(或减少),例如避免使用非附属自动柜员机、逾期支付信用卡款项、透支、预支信用卡现金、环球转账,以及让余额低于最低规定(如果您的账户有这样的最低要求)等等。

想知道国际教育的成本和别人是如何为之储蓄的吗?汇丰的研究《教育的价值:成功的成本》着眼于全球教育趋势,并为准备海外教育提供实用建议。

7. 做健康检查

在进入美国之前,您可能需要接种疫苗或接受健康检查。国家旅行卫生网络和中心以及世卫组织建议入境者接种狂犬病和破伤风疫苗。

您的学校可能有自己的要求。许多大学要求所有新生证明他们接种过疫苗或对某些传染病有免疫力,如麻疹、腮腺炎、德国麻疹、百日咳和脑膜炎,并进行结核病筛查。

参见美国疾病控制和预防中心的全部要求。

在旅行时,确保您准备好旅途中可能需要的所有药品,也别忘了在您的随身行李里多放一些,以防托运行李延误导致您无法及时服药。如果您有任何疑虑,不妨和您的医生讨论各种备选方案,并咨询学校的网站,了解他们的疫苗接种和医疗保险政策。

8. 考虑购买旅行保险

美国并不提供全民医保,因此购买充足的保险至关重要。美国的医疗达到顶尖水平,所以保险通常较为昂贵。

您的学校可能有自己关于医疗保险的要求,甚至可能有由学校资助的学生医疗保险计划。一些学生医疗保险计划可能只覆盖从学校到周边一定范围,所以最好核实一下。一份好的旅行保险会涵盖校内和校外的费用,您还可以选择看哪位医生。

旅行保险也许能覆盖您整个留学阶段,或者仅仅保障前几周。如果您遗失了行李或行程有延误,导致需要付费,旅游保险将会很有帮助。

9. 检查您的手机是否已解锁

如果您的手机已解锁,您在美国学习期间就可以使用任何SIM卡了。如果您忘记解锁,需要购买新手机的话,在美国的做法与加拿大和英国的不同:加拿大的手机供应商不可出售任何已锁定的新手机;英国则正提出禁止售卖已锁定的手机;但在美国,大部分新手机都会锁定,不准使用者转用其他运营商。

如果购买二手手机,请确保它是解锁的,否则您可能无法转用其他运营商。即便如此,如果您尝试使用其他运营商的SIM卡,也无法保证解锁的手机能正常工作。如您在美国购买新机,并想知道如何解锁您的手机,您必须了解每个手机运营商都有自己的规则。

您应确保手机已解锁,以避免不必要的麻烦。

10. 仔细检查所有材料

建议您扫描和保存您的文件,包括信用卡和旅游文件,并随身携带纸质复印件。扫描和保存您的材料是一个好办法,包括您的信用卡和旅行文件的副本,但要随身携带纸质文件。

确保您旅行时持有有效的护照和签证、入学证明和资金证明,学生和交换访问者信息系统(SEVIS)表格、非移民学生资格证明(表格I-20)、学校的联系方式,以及处方(如适用)。边境管制人员还可能会检查您的社交媒体,所以要准备好提供相关的详细信息(但绝不要提供密码!)

持有F-1签证的人不需要预订返程机票,但有一张机票的话,在边境检查接受问询时会顺利很多。

如果您有不确定的地方,可以参考美国移民和海关执法局的网站或向您的大学查询。

打算开立海外账户?

在海外学习期间,管理学费、住宿和其他费用的最简单方法之一就是开立汇丰海外账户。欢迎告诉我们您方便的时间,让我们致电并帮助您开立账户。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

* 本指南涵盖的内容并不全面。如需更多信息,请与目的地国家政府签证办公室联系。

1 国际教育研究所《门户开放》报告

Top of main content
Student sitting on a car with an american flag overlooking Grand Canyon; image used for HSBC international services study abroad US checklist

US checklist

The United States has the most universities and colleges of any nation, and it's home to half of the top higher-education institutes in the world.1 Aside from providing a world-class education, universities in the US are known to be generally more inclusive and flexible, and they offer great networking opportunities.

If you're heading to the US as an international student, here's a guide to help you plan for your studies abroad.*

1. Check your passport

Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months after your studies end. If you think it'll expire while you're in the US, renew it before you leave home to avoid any hassles.

If you renew your passport while in the US, you'll still need to carry your old one when you travel, because it will have your valid visa that proves your status. If you're at all in doubt of the requirements around passports and visas, visit the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement website.

2. Apply to study in the US, and then for a visa

Except for Canadians and citizens of Bermuda, foreigners going to school in the US will need an F-1 or M-1 student visa. But first, you need to be accepted by a US college that's certified by the US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP).

The F-1 visa is issued for longer-term studies and allows you to remain in the US as long as you're a full-time student. Both visas can be issued up to 3 months in advance, but students may only enter the country 30 days before the start of their studies. To be eligible for a US student visa, you must be enrolled full time, prove your English proficiency, and show that you have enough funds to support yourself.

In addition, you'll need to attend an interview where you'll be asked about your plans for study and stay in the US. The US government provides tips on how to prepare for the student visa interview and what documents to provide. As visa requirements can change, visit the SEVP website for up-to-date information.

3. Sort out accommodation

If you're attending a US college, you can choose between on-campus accommodation (dorms) or off-campus accommodation (private homes and homestays).

Many international students prefer student housing, at least to start with. It's an easy way to make friends, and you can't beat the proximity to your classes and the dining hall. If you're living off-campus, be prepared to pay a deposit up front, and expect that your utilities, like gas and water, will be extra. You will most likely be locked into a 12-month contract, too.

Your university's website is a good place to start when looking for student accommodation.

4. Set up your banking

You'll probably use a checking account to do most of your daily banking, including paying your bills. If you're receiving financial aid, it will most likely come as a check or be directly deposited into your account.

It can be difficult, however, for non-US residents to open a bank account, especially online: while some banks have different requirements, you'll probably be asked for proof of ID and your source of income; your address; and your Social Security Number (or Taxpayer Identification Number).

Opening an international bank account before you go abroad will be the easiest way to manage your money. With HSBC, your account details and debit and credit cards (subject to local regulations) will be ready before you leave home. If you have multiple worldwide accounts, you can manage them with one secure log on with Global View.

You can pre-book an appointment with HSBC online or pop into your nearest branch to find out more.

5. Create a budget

Your university and the visa office will need proof that you can cover your living expenses while you're studying. This will actually be a condition for getting your visa approved.

Aside from your visa, tuition fees, flights and accommodation, there will be other costs to consider, such as your Student Health Insurance Plan (SHIP), which most private universities require.

Calculate your income and your expenses and balance this amount. You should ideally be spending less than you're making. And as things don't always go according to plan, set some aside for emergencies (and for your holidays – even students need a break).

6. Start saving

Now you know how much money you'd like to have for moving, you can set a savings goal. Is it realistic to reach this amount before you leave? If it seems like a stretch, look at any areas where you could cut back to make it more achievable.

Take a look at your financial habits. Are they costing you more than you think? Brew your own coffee, cook at home, skip the salon manicures and take public transport (or ride a bike). Common bank fees that can be avoided (or reduced) include using non-affiliated ATMs; making late credit card payments; relying on your overdraft; taking out credit card cash advances; transferring global funds; and letting your balance slip below the minimum requirement (if that's a requirement of your account).

Want to know what an international education costs and how people are saving for it? HSBC's study The Value of Education: The price of success looks into global education trends and provides practical tips for preparing for an overseas education.

7. Get a health check

You may need to have vaccinations or health checks before you enter the US. The National Travel Health Network and Center and the World Health Organization recommend that visitors be vaccinated against rabies and tetanus.

Your school may have its own requirements. Many universities require all new students to prove they've been vaccinated or are immune to certain infectious diseases, such as measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), pertussis and meningitis, and to be screened for tuberculosis. 

See the full requirements from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

When travelling, make sure you're able to access any medication you might need and don't forget to pack extra in your carry-on bag, in case your checked baggage is delayed. If you're unsure about anything, chat to your doctor about your options, and consult your school's website for their immunisation and health insurance policies.

8. Think about travel insurance

There's no universal healthcare in the US so it's crucial that you're adequately covered. And because the healthcare is top-notch, the insurance will probably be pricey, too.

Your school may have it's own requirements regarding healthcare and might even have school-sponsored SHIP. Some SHIP policies might only cover you within a certain distance from your school so it's best to check. A good travel insurance will cover you both on-campus and off, and will give you options about which doctors you see.

Travel insurance may be able to cover you for the duration of your studies, or just the first few weeks. This may be helpful if your luggage is lost or if there are travel delays that cost you money.

9. Check that your phone is unlocked

If your phone is unlocked you'll be able to use any SIM card while studying in the US. If you forget and need to buy a phone? Unlike in Canada, where phone carriers cannot sell any new phone locked, and in the UK, where they're proposing a locked phone ban, most new phones in the US will still come locked to prevent you from switching companies.

If you buy a used phone, make sure it's unlocked or you risk being stuck with a particular carrier. Even then, there's no guarantee that your unlocked phone will work if you try to use a different carrier's SIM card. If you want to know how to unlock your phone (if you buy one while you're in the US), know that every phone company has its own rules.

Just make sure your own phone is unlocked to avoid the unnecessary hassles.

10. Double-check all documentation

It's a good idea to scan and save your documents, including copies of your credit cards and travel documents, but carry the hard copies with you.

Make sure you travel with a valid passport and visa; proof of enrollment and funds; the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) form; the Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status (Form I-20); contact information for your school; and prescriptions, if any. You may also be given a social media check, so be prepared to share those details (but never your password!) with border control.

F-1 visa holders don't need to book a return ticket home but having one could make the questioning at border control go a lot smoother.

If you're ever unsure, check the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement website or with your university.

Ready to open an overseas account?

One of the easiest ways to manage your money for tuition, accommodation and other expenses while studying abroad is an HSBC overseas bank account. Let us know a convenient time to call you and we'll help you with the account opening process.

Have a few more questions about our international bank accounts and would like to chat now? Connect instantly through the 'Let's chat' button for more information.

*This is not a comprehensive guide. Contact the government visa office of your destination country for more requirements.

1 Open Doors report from the Institute of International Education.