主內容首部

在美國留學的獨特體驗

您或許曾遊歷美國,但可有想過在此留學?美國作為海外學生的首選留學國家之一,一直以多元化和富彈性的學習環境而聞名,但其吸引之處,遠不止於此,將能為您提供精彩的留學體驗。

多元文化

在美國境内使用的語言超過350種,海外留學生的人數亦屬世界之冠。美國的學院1包容學生的多元性,並會在不同的文化節慶舉行各種社交活動。

來自不同地方、社會經濟背景、種族或宗教的學生於大學校園聚首一堂,大家彼此交流,學習互相欣賞、理解和尊重,為將來投入多元社會做好最萬全的準備。

您在留學生涯中不單可接受到海外教育,更能提高文化意識和環球思維。最難能可貴的是,您有機會結交來自不同國家的朋友,把社交圈子擴展到世界各地。

在您前往學校報到之前,請注意不同大學的新冠病毒疫苗接種要求可能有別,您甚至可能須再次接種。請瀏覽您院校的網站,以了解有關資訊。

團隊精神

您主修的科目,跟您所留學的國家一樣,將大大影響您的海外學習體驗,但除了學術因素外,學校文化和校園團隊精神亦十分重要。

除非您就讀規模較小的社區學院或職業培訓課程,否則體育運動、兄弟會和姐妹會等社交組織,以及聯誼派對,都是很多美國大學校園生活的頭等大事。大家一起為運動隊伍打氣,能把學校社群團結起來。

靈活的學習環境

如果您慣於嚴謹刻板的學校環境,那美國輕鬆的學習氛圍可能讓您喜出望外,因美國的高等教育課程甚具彈性。

學生可憑個人意願選修課堂,當計算成績時,課堂作業、專題研習和考試所佔的比率都很大,並非單由出席率決定。當地的學習氣氛雖然較悠閒,但學生的學習態度卻相當認真。

首兩年的留學體驗

在首兩年,您將修讀人人必修的通識教育課,例如數學和文學,以打好廣闊的學術基礎。其後,如果您決定另謀出路,美國的教育制度容許您靈活地轉科,讓您在最後兩年,集中精力修讀所選的主修科目。

入讀社區學院節省學費

如果您擔憂學費帶來的壓力,不妨考慮於首兩年入讀社區學院,先完成通識教育課程,之後再轉讀另一間大學繼續最後兩年的學業,學費將便宜很多。很多大學都在同區內設有附屬的社區學院。

成績並非「一試定生死」

美國大學傾向評估學生的整體表現,考慮因素包括︰學生的學業成績、課外活動、社區服務工作。GPA(平均績點)是計算學業成績的標準方法。GPA雖然並不代表一切,但確實非常重要。

一流的學術機構通常要求您的GPA達3.5(滿分4.0),但在您求職時,僱主未必在意您的GPA成績。不過,較高的GPA確實有助您進入夢寐以求的團體和組織。

重視分析而非死記硬背

中國和印度的大學著重測驗成績,但美國的大學卻著重於評核學生的分析和解難能力,毋須死記硬背,無疑更受學生歡迎。

期末考試的成績只佔GPA計算的一部分,學校將更公正全面地評估學生的學術水平,而非單單取決於他們的溫習和應考能力。

如果您在的選擇學校時不知從何入手,不妨參考有關書籍

多元化的科目選擇

為什麼美國是留學的熱門之地?因為當地的教育選擇就像美國文化一樣極多元化。眾多科目可供選擇,自然能提供更具知識自由的人文教育。

與英國著重鑽研一至兩個科目不同,美國的大學在學生的首兩學年提供一系列人人必修的科目和課程,涵蓋範圍廣泛,因此,美國的學士學位總共需時四年,比其他國家,例如英國(蘇格蘭除外)和印度的三年制大學多出一年。

非一般的主修科目

想修讀與別不同的學位?不妨前往位於美國匹茲堡的卡內基美隆大學(Carnegie Mellon University),修讀風笛碩士學位;或到北卡羅萊納州的阿帕拉契州立大學(Appalachian State University),修讀發酵理學士學位(即是「主修啤酒」)。

留學費用不菲

在考慮入讀美國的大學時,所需費用往往是家長和學生最關注的問題。您可以選擇學費較便宜的公立大學,也可選擇私立大學。但無論公立或私立,美國大學的學費通常都高於其他國家。

您當然可以運用獎學金和貸款支付學費,但學生在留學期間,身兼一份、兩份甚至三份兼職亦很常見(當然須視乎簽證)。美國靈活的學習環境正好方便學生打工賺外快。

生活費用的多少取決於多項因素,例如住宿、水電煤(未必包括在租金內)、食物雜貨、交通和娛樂等。當然,這些費用亦視乎您入讀的學校和所在的城市而定。

準備好開立海外戶口?

遠赴海外升學前,如先在目的地開立銀行戶口,可更輕鬆地管理財務。

請在我們的簡易表格上填寫您的詳細資料和所需,我們會在您指定的日期和時間與您聯絡,助您開立海外戶口

1 在英國,「學院」(college)是指於高中後升讀的學校;在美國,「學院」(college)則指大學。

Top of main content
group of college cheerleaders waving pompoms; image used for HSBC International Services study abroad article, What it's like to study in the US.

What students find different about studying in the US

You may have travelled to the US, but have you wondered what it's like to study there? Diversity and a flexible learning environment are just a few things you'll get from your studies in the States.

It's culturally diverse

Over 350 languages are spoken in the US, and the country houses the largest international student population in the world. American colleges1 understand the importance of embracing the diversity of their students and will organise social activities around cultural celebrations or holidays.

Students converge on college campuses, learning to appreciate, understand and respect their classmates, regardless of geographical differences, socioeconomic background, race or religion. It's perfect preparation for the world beyond school.

You'll return home with more than just an international education. You'll also get improved cultural awareness, a global mindset and best of all, a new network of friends from all around the world.

Here's 5 good reasons why a study abroad might be right for you.

S-P-I-R-I-T!

Your host country's culture will define your schooling experience, as will your college major. But aside from the obvious academics, the school culture and campus spirit will also have a huge impact on your study abroad experience.

Athletics, as well as social organisations like frats and sororities (and their parties), are a big thing at many American universities, unless you're at a smaller community college or doing vocational training. Collectively cheering for a sports team unites the school community.

Flexible learning environment

If you're used to a very rigid school environment, the more casual approach to studying in the US might come as a (pleasant) shock to you. Higher education in the US comes with quite a bit of flexibility.

Students can choose classes that are convenient for them, and grades largely depend on coursework, projects and exams, rather than mere attendance. There may be a more laid-back attitude but this doesn't mean that they don't take their academics seriously.

What to expect in the first couple of years

For your first 2 years, you'll take general education courses that everyone's required to take, like math and literature, which gives you a broad foundation. If you decide to follow a different path after a few years, the American system will allow you to change your major - it's that flexible. You'll focus on your chosen 'major' subject in the last 2 years of study.

Start at a community college to save money

If cost is a concern, you can even spend the first 2 years as a freshman and sophomore taking general education courses in community colleges, where the tuition is significantly more affordable, before transferring to another university to finish off your junior and senior years. Many universities have community college affiliates located in the same area.

3 students holding books and walking on campus; image used for HSBC International Services study abroad article, What it's like to study in the US.

Grading is not just about the final exams

US universities tend to look at the student as a whole: how well they do academically, their extracurricular activities, and their commitment to community service. GPA (Grade Point Average), the standard method with which academic success is measured, isn't everything, but it's very important.

Top academic institutions will usually require a GPA of at least 3.5 (out of 4.0), but employers won't necessarily ask for your GPA scores when you're applying for jobs. A good GPA can, however, get you into coveted clubs and organisations.

Analytical skills, not rote learning

Many students are attracted by the lure of schools that don't place the most emphasis on test scores, which is a common practice in Chinese and Indian universities. Students are graded on their capability to analyse and solve problems, not on rote learning.

Final exams account for only a portion of the GPA, which allows for a fairer evaluation of the student's knowledge and not just their ability to cram.

If you're not even sure where to start in the search of your perfect school, perhaps it's time to hit a few books on the subject.

You can study almost any subject

Why do a lot of students go to the US to study? Educational choices are pretty much like American culture itself: diverse. With a huge selection of elective courses, there's greater intellectual freedom in a liberal arts education.

Compared to UK universities, which emphasise depth in 1 or 2 subjects, US colleges offer an array of subjects and courses that everyone must take during the first 2 years. Expect to study for an extra year if you're attending college in the US - degrees in the UK and India, for example, only take 3 years, not 4, except in Scotland.

If you've already arrived, this checklist for settling in might make your first week or two as an international student, easier.

And now for some really unusual majors

Want your degree to really stand out? Head to Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh to get a Master's in Bagpiping, or to Appalachian State University in North Carolina for a BSc in Fermentation (also known as "majoring in beer").

It doesn't come cheap

Cost is cited as the number one concern for parents and students when considering a US university. You can attend a cheaper, public university or a private, Ivy League one. Public or private, US universities tend to cost much more than other comparable universities around the world.

You can pay for tuition with scholarships and loans, but it's not uncommon for students to hold down 1, 2 or sometimes 3 jobs while studying (depending on their visa, of course). This is where the flexible learning environment also benefits students and their schedules.

Living costs can vary depending on factors such as accommodation, utilities (which may or may not be included in the rent), groceries, transportation and entertainment. Of course, all of these costs will depend on where you go to school, and in which city.

Ready to open an overseas account?

When studying abroad, it's easier to manage your finances if you have a bank account already set up in your host country. Leave your details to let us know what you're looking for. We'll aim to call you on your preferred date and time.

1 In the UK, college is where you go after high school; in the US, a college is synonymous with university.