主内容首部

7个省钱外汇贴士

当您在国外消费时,像提现和换汇手续费这样的小费用可能会积少成多。牢记这7个外汇贴士可以节省一定费用。

如果您总是记不住它们,开通多币种账户会是更好的办法,它可以帮您避免这些隐藏的费用。

1)处于您的银行网络

如果您用当地的ATM机取钱,确保机器属于您的银行网络,否则您可能会被收取更高的交易费用。

如果您有多币种银行账户,也可以避免一些额外收费。只要在出发前确保您的账户里有一些当地货币即可。这样,当您使用银行卡光顾零售店、网上购物和取款时,通常不收取任何费用,甚至从第三方提款机取款时也不额外收费。

2)尽量用当地货币支付

无论您使用的是ATM卡还是信用卡,如果您可以选择用本国货币或当地货币支付,请务必选择当地货币。商家银行或信用卡设备的外汇利差通常比您通过自己的信用卡换汇要大得多。

3)信用卡不一定是最佳选择

信用卡在旅行时能提供很多方便,尤其是在支付机票和住宿一类的大额账单时。但是信用卡公司通常不会提供最好的外汇汇率。如果您喜欢在旅行时使用信用卡,不妨转而考虑在需要时用ATM卡取现。

我们知道您想要获得信用卡积分,但它们是否值得您支付额外费用呢?

4)避免在周末换钱

在银行营业时间兑换货币,汇率最佳。而最不理想的兑换时间是周末,因为世界各地均已收市。这会带来什么问题?由于银行不知道周一上午的新汇率是多少,通常会收取稍高的汇率,以保护自己在市场重新开盘时不受不可预见的市场波动影响。

5)检查是否有任何隐藏费用

许多货币兑换商店会列出很优惠的汇率,但您需要询问清楚所有的细节,比如他们是否收取佣金或交易费用。这些诱人的利率可能只适用于特定面额或特定年份的纸币。如果对方要求您兑换一定金额的货币才能使用该汇率,这可能是他们在您的换汇中增加费用的方式。而这些费用都会增加您的换汇成本。

6)选择较大的外汇兑换点

小商店的钞票储备通常较少,所以兑换现金时会有溢价。按需选择一个信誉良好的品牌找换店,也能确保您不会少收钱或收到假币。当然,您可能要花更长的时间排队兑换,但繁忙的换汇点通常是更安全的选择。

7)开立多币种银行账户

如果您在出国前已经开立了外汇账户,即可避免任何额外的外汇费用。通过国际账户,您可以使用网上银行或手机银行,在您的账户之间转移资金,并一站式管理各地账户。有些多币种账户甚至允许您设定自己理想的汇率。

汇丰外汇产品及服务

外汇市场是世界上体量最大的投资市场,任何持有汇丰账户的客户都可以进行外汇交易。*

我们提供全面的外汇及多币种账户服务,如现金存取款、定期存款、住房抵押贷款以及汇款,让您无论身在何处,都可以轻松地管理您的财务。您可以通过网上银行或手机银行,用我们的24小时外汇服务兑换外汇。

您也可以:

  • 通过外汇观点跟踪全球外汇市场
  • 查看实时汇率和设置您自己的自动换汇汇率
  • 设置限价订单或警报,由我们将为您跟踪汇率
  • 用Expat FX应用程序在旅行中进行国际汇款
  • 获得优惠的外汇汇率,不收取换汇手续费1

打算开立海外账户?

如果您需要处理国际银行业务,并希望避免汇率费用和转帐费用,请在我们的简易表格上留下您的详细资料。我们会在您指定的时间和日期与您联系,回答您的问题,并帮助您开立海外账户。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

*外汇服务因国家/地区而异

1只限汇丰卓越理财和汇丰尚玉客户

Top of main content
young smiling couple checking out FX rates on mobile phone; image used for HSBC International Life Abroad article 7 FX tips to save money.

7 essential FX tips to save you money

Little charges, like cash withdrawals and currency exchange transaction fees, can really add up when you're spending money abroad. Save some cash by keeping these 7 FX tips in mind.

If you keep forgetting them, maybe you're better off with a multi-currency account to avoid those hidden fees altogether.

1) Stay in your banking network

If you use a local ATM to take out money, make sure it's one that's in your bank's network. You could be charged a substantially higher transaction fee. 

You can also avoid fees and charges if you have a multi-currency bank account. Just make sure you have some of the local currency in your account before you go. This way, you can use your card for retail purchases, online shopping and cash withdrawals with usually zero fees, even those from third-party cash machines.

2) If you have the option, pay in local currency

Whether you're using an ATM card or a credit card, always choose the local currency if you're given the option of paying in either your home currency or the local currency. The merchant's bank or credit card device usually has a much wider FX spread compared to making the exchange through your own credit card.

3) A credit card might not be the best option

Credit cards offer some convenience when you travel, especially for settling large bills like tickets or accommodation, but the card companies don't usually offer the best foreign exchange rates. If you prefer to use a credit card when you travel, maybe consider using your ATM card instead to withdraw cash when you need it.

We know those credit card points are really tempting but are they worth the extra fees and charges?

4) Avoid weekends when exchanging your money

You'll get the best rates when you exchange currency during bank hours. The worst time to exchange is on the weekends because markets around the world are closed. Why is this a problem? Since banks don't know what the new rate will be on Monday morning, they charge a slightly higher rate to protect themselves against unforeseen market movements when the market re-opens.

5) Check for any hidden fees

Many currency exchange shops will give you a great rate on the board but make sure you get all the details. Ask whether they charge commission or transaction fees. That good rate might only be applicable to notes of a certain denomination or year. If they ask you to convert a certain amount to get that rate, this could be their way of adding fees to your exchange. It all adds up.

6) Choose a larger exchange shop

Smaller shops will often have fewer notes in stock, so you'll be charged a premium for exchanging your money. Choosing a reputable brand for your FX needs will also give you the security that you won't get short changed or cheated with fake notes. Sure, you might have to wait longer in the queue to change your money but a busier shop will usually be a safer option.

7) Open a multi-currency bank account

If you have a foreign currency account all set up before you go abroad, you can avoid any extra FX fees. With an international account, you can move money between your accounts and manage your global accounts together online or through mobile banking. Some multi-currency accounts even allow you to set the exchange rate you're comfortable with. 

HSBC foreign currency products and services

Foreign exchange is the world's most traded investment market, and any client that holds an account with us can transact in FX.*

We provide a range of FX and multi-currency account services, such as cash deposit and withdrawals; term deposits; home mortgage loans; and remittances, so you can easily manage your finances wherever you are. You can place your foreign currency exchange instruction with our 24-Hour Foreign Exchange Service through online or mobile banking. 

You can also: 

  • Keep track of the global currency markets with FX insights
  • View real-time exchange rates and set your own FX rate to convert funds automatically
  • Set up a Limit Order or an alert and we'll track exchange rates for you
  • Send money internationally on the go with the Expat FX app
  • Receive preferential FX rates and no conversion fees

Ready to open an overseas account?

If you're doing global banking and want to avoid exchange rate fees and transfer charges, leave your details on our quick form. We'll get in touch on your preferred time and date to answer your questions and to help you open an overseas account.

Still have a question about foreign exchange and global banking? Chat with one of our advisers.

*FX services vary by country/territory

1 Exclusively for HSBC Premier and HSBC Jade customers