主內容首部

移居外地和轉校:考慮因素

移居往往代表著須重新適應不同的文化和語言。您或者經常出外公幹,對外地並不陌生,但對於您的子女來說卻可能是一大挑戰。

因此,當您舉家移居時,須先關注家人,特別是子女如何適應新環境。每個小朋友的適應能力不一,每所當地學校的環境也各異,而子女的升學前景只是教育子女的其中一環。

我們建議您先考慮升學費用,其次是學校種類,再逐一審視其餘因素,衡量輕重,訂立優先次序。

學費

您須考慮學費是否在負擔範圍之內。全球私立國際教育費用最高的地方,依次為京都、大阪、神戶,每年高達48,575美元,北京和上海兩地緊隨其後1。本土學校雖然較為實惠,但不少國家例如新加坡都會優先取錄本地人或永久居民。

本土學校亦常向外來學生收取特別費用。例如非加拿大居民入讀,便須每年繳交約8,000至14,000加拿大元。澳洲的學費則根據簽證和年級而定,約為每年5,200至6,200澳元2

轉賬到海外支付學費

您的子女是否正於海外留學,讓您須考慮如何支付他們的學費和生活費?當中涉及的匯率和轉賬費用、時間及限額,其實取決於您所選用的轉賬方式。

如果您是滙豐尚玉或滙豐卓越理財客戶,可獲豁免轉賬費用。只須選用滙豐環球賬戶服務和環球轉賬功能,便能接通您於世界各地的戶口,作即時轉賬,上限高達每天20萬美元。您更可以預先設置常規轉賬到朋友和家人的合資格戶口,確保子女的學費不會逾期未繳。

您只須在持有合資格滙豐戶口的國家或地區登記網上理財,即可使用環球賬戶服務和環球轉賬功能。

課程

您偏好蒙特梭利教育法還是在家教學?您想子女修讀國際文憑組織(IB)課程還是考取高級程度證書(A Levels)?學校的課程應該符合子女的教育需要和您的未來規劃。如配合得宜,就算將來回國升學亦較為順利。

如果您須要遙距學習,便可考慮較具彈性的課程。

居住地區

很多國家依據居住地區分配學位,例如在澳洲,大部分大城市以此為分派公共學校學位的準則。您必須出示住址證明,學校才辦理您的入學申請。因此,住所越近學校,子女獲取錄的機會越高。美國和英國則允許學生轉校,讓學童可入讀自選的學校。

私立國際學校則不同,取錄與否與住址遠近無關。您須自行考慮子女上下課時的交通情況、可選乘的交通工具,例如該區有否校巴服務,以及所需的交通成本和時間。

語言教育

研究顯示,從出生至10歲是學習語言的最佳時間。如果您子女的母語並非英語,趁其年幼時移居澳洲,便可讓他們獲得更好的英語教育。您亦毋須擔心子女本身的英語能力,因當地由幼稚園到小學六年級的取錄條件皆不包括英語水平。

英國的國際學校可能對英語水平有特定要求,但當地所有學校皆不能因小朋友的國籍或移民身份而拒絕取錄,但您仍須確保子女的簽證,符合在英國入學的資格。

如想子女好好學習英語,英國、愛爾蘭、加拿大、美國及澳洲都是理想之選。

女校、男校還是男女同校

研究顯示,在新加坡,單一性別學校的學生,其學業成績較男女校的學生為佳。有人認為是因前者的學生較易專心,但亦說法認為只因兩者採用不同的教學方法。

偏好女校的家長們表示,校內的性別定型情況較少,女生可獲得教師更多關注。此外,據聞男女同校亦可讓學生為校外的實際生活,作更好的準備。

學校假期和校曆

如移居新加坡,請注意當地學校於6月和12月放長假,但國際學校卻未必一樣,例如在很多國家,當地的澳洲國際學校都於聖誕期間放暑假,方便居於當地的澳洲籍人士返回原居地過節。如您的子女就讀於不同學校,請準備好應付不同的校曆和假期。

學術水平和興趣

身為父母,當然比其他人更了解子女所需。我們相信您在獲取充足資訊後,能於移居時順利地為子女選取適合的學校。您需要考慮的事項包括校園和體育設施、語言學習上的支援、發揮藝術才華的機會和課外活動的安排。

加拿大、英國和美國的教育制度一直享譽國際。雖然移居海外難免遇上各種挑戰,但您的子女卻可獲得世界一流的教育,從而改變一生。

進一步了解滙豐環球銀行服務

我們可助您及早為子女規劃未來。我們的合作夥伴提供專業教育服務,從入學申請到評核,全面兼顧,讓您的子女在申請一流寄宿學校和海外大學時更具優勢。

有疑問?

歡迎向我們的顧問查詢。

1. 全新研究顯示2019年世界各地的國際教育費用 https://www.international-schools-database.com/articles/the-cost-of-international-education-around-the-world-in-2019

2. Study Australia公立學校費用安排撮要

Top of main content
group of young schoolgirls in uniform on sidewalk; image used for HSBC International Services article Moving countries, moving schools.

Moving country, moving schools: Things to consider

It can be hard to move to a new country, especially if you're contending with a different culture and language. You may be a seasoned expat but this may be the first international move for your kids.

When you move, one of your top priorities will be how your family adjusts to their new environment, especially if you have children. Every child is different, as are the schools in your new home, and academics are just one part of a child's education.

The first factor to consider is cost, then think about the kind of schools you want for your children, and then work through the rest of this list to consider your priorities.

School fees

There's no point in applying for a school if you can't pay the tuition. Some of the priciest private international schools in the world can be found in Asia. The 3 most expensive places for an international education? Kyoto-Osaka-Kobe, at USD48,575 per year, followed by Beijing and Shanghai.1 Local schools are more affordable, but sometimes only local or permanent residents are given priority, such as in Singapore.

In other parts of the world, local schools will usually charge a fee for international students to attend. Non-residents in Canada will pay about CAD8,000-14,000 per year. School fees in Australia will depend on visas and grade levels, but parents can expect to pay AUD5,200-6,200 per year.2

Taking out a loan to finance an international education is one option, but it's not the only way to go.

With some strategy and research, you can find a lot of other great ways to pay for those school fees.

Transferring money overseas for school fees and tuition?

Is your child studying abroad and you’re having to consider their tuition and living costs from afar? Exchange rates, remittance fees, and transfer times and limits will vary, depending on how you send the money.

If you're an HSBC Jade or Premier customer, you can send money transfer-fee free, using our Global View and Global Transfers service. Just link your worldwide accounts and instantly transfer up to USD200,000 per day between those accounts in many markets. You can also set up recurring transfers to the eligible accounts of friends and family, meaning you never have to worry about missing a tuition payment again.

To use Global View and Global Transfers, just register for online banking in the countries and regions where you hold eligible HSBC accounts and set it up online.

Curriculum

Are you a fan of Montessori or do you prefer to home school? Or would you rather your child study in an International Baccalaureate Programme (IB) or take their A Levels? The curriculum offered by your school of choice should fit your child's educational needs and your future plans. Being able to transfer easily may minimise the disruption caused when you move back home.

A flexible curriculum, if you need the option for remote learning as well, could also be a consideration.

Location

In many countries, local schools offer placements based on the area you reside. Most big cities in Australia use this system when assigning students to public schools and you'll need to show proof of address before they'll even consider your application. So the closer you live to a particular school, the better your chances are of getting a place there. The US and UK allow students to transfer schools, which gives kids access to schools of their choice.

International private schools are different because successful placements aren't dependent on the proximity to your home. You'll need to consider your child's commute and transport options, and whether there's a school bus for your neighbourhood. Commuting costs and timings should also be considered when you pick a school.

Languages offered

Research suggests that the best time to learn a language is from birth to age 10. If English isn't your child's first language, then moving to Australia while your kids are young would be a great opportunity for them to learn. There's no English fluency pre-requisite at Australian primary schools from kindergarten to year 6.

There may be a certain level of English proficiency required at UK international schools but no school can refuse to admit a child because of their nationality or immigration status. However, you'll still need to make sure your child has the right visa to study in the UK.

The best countries to learn English are the UK, Ireland, Canada, the US and Australia.

All girls, all boys, or co-ed

Studies show that students attending single-sex schools in Singapore do better in academics than their co-ed counterparts. Some people believe it's because their children can flourish without distractions – ask the parents of any teenager! – and some hypothesise that the method of instruction changes to suit the students.

Parents who are fans of all-girls' schools say there's less gender stereotyping and the girls get more of their teachers' attention. Co-ed schools, on the other hand, are said to prepare students better for real life beyond school.

School holidays and term dates

If you're relocating to Singapore, it's good to know that local schools have long breaks in June and December, but international schools are on a different schedule. In most countries, Australian international schools enjoy their summer break over Christmas, when many expats might go back home for the holidays. If you have children in different schools, prepare to juggle multiple school calendars and holidays.

Academic ability and interests

You know your child better than anyone. With the right information, hopefully you can narrow down your options to help you choose the right school when moving abroad. Things to consider include school grounds and sports facilities, language learning support, performing arts opportunities, and extracurricular activities.

Canada, the UK and the US are consistently ranked as countries with the best education systems in the world. While your move abroad might be challenging, your kids can look forward to getting a world-class education and life-changing experience.

Learn more about our international services

We can help you plan ahead for your children's future. Our partners provide comprehensive and professional education services, from school applications to assessments. Give your child a competitive advantage when applying for top boarding schools and overseas universities.

HSBC overseas education support and international services

1New research reveals the cost of international education around the world in 2019.https://www.international-schools-database.com/articles/the-cost-of-international-education-around-the-world-in-2019

2Summary of the fee arrangements for public schools, Study Australia.