主内容首部

处理海外财务时要考虑的事情

即将移居海外?不只您有这个计划!联合国最近的报告指出,有多达2.72亿人生活在自己原籍国家或地区以外的地方。在全球各地移民中,有三分之一来自仅10个国家和地区,三分之二居于仅20个国家和地区。1无论您是独自或举家搬迁,获批签证、寻找住处和厘清医疗保险都是必须要考虑的事情。

而以上所有事务都与您在原居地和海外的财务安排有关。准备出国时不妨由此开始。

了解海外财务需要

许多国家越来越倾向于无现金交易。您很可能需要当地银行账户来签订电话合同,存入工资,支付水电费和房租(或抵押贷款)。开立当地账户做还可以帮助您建立信用记录。

您财务状况的复杂性将决定您的需求。问问自己:

  • 我要离开原居地多久?
  • 搬家是临时的还是永久的?
  • 我须否保留现有的银行账户?
  • 我是否会在两个或以上的国家或地区拥有资产?
  • 我将在哪里缴税?

如果您继续使用自己的国内账户提取当地货币和全球转账,手续费会很贵。出国前为海外财务做好准备,不仅能满足您日常的银行服务需要,也能助您更谨慎地理财。

计算所需资金

要做预算,您需要知道新的目的地的生活成本,比如食品、住房、押金、保险、水电费、交通和学費(如果您带同孩子)。然后根据这些信息以及您的收入和预期支出来确定每月预算。

比如,您要从悉尼搬到纽约。假设您在两个城市都是租房,并且生活方式相同。如果您在悉尼须花5,800美元的话,在纽约便须花8,400美元,原因是纽约的房租贵85%,餐馆消费亦高43%。2

申请签证时可能会要求您在银行账户上有一定数额的存款,以证明您在国外能自给自足。建议准备足够储蓄,支付到达后的最少首6个月的生活费用。

开立银行账户

到达目的地后,要适应新地方、新工作和新居已经很繁忙,最好避免陷入其他不必要的琐事。

因此,您最好能在出发前先开立当地账户。否则,您在到达后可能因没有固定住址或收入证明,而难以开户。语言不通也可能带来一些麻烦。

拥有环球银行账户,您即可在各账户之间进行免费的环球转账。您可以将原居地和海外两个账户连通,毋须取消原居地账户,用以支付海外账单。网上和手机银行使您可以轻松管理您的所有全球账户。

存款至您的新账户

在海外开立新账户后,您需要存入资金以支付移居国外的费用。汇丰环球账户服务及环球转账让您轻松在名下各账户之间转账,方便您在海外开展新生活。

使用汇丰环球账户服务及环球转账功能,您可以线上查看、连接和管理您所有合资格的汇丰账户,并在大多数地方即时转账至您名下或第三方的全球合资格汇丰账户,每天转账上限为20万美元(或等值货币),费用全免。

了解税务的影响

税务问题有时会很棘手,如果您在两地都拥有资产和收入时则更为明显。您在国外工作时所缴的税项取决于您的国籍和居住地。您应当告知现居地的税务机关您要出国,这样做可能只须缴纳较少的税,甚至免税。

部分国家已经取消了双重社会安全保险税(social security tax)。例如,根据一些双边社会保障协议(SSA),在澳大利亚、加拿大、日本、法国、丹麦等18个国家,非居民的印度人(NRI)毋须缴纳两次税。

如果您在另一个国家或地区工作不足一年,取决于不同国家的规定,您在返回原居地时可能有资格申请退税。

您的原居地是采用居民系统(例如加拿大),还是公民系统(例如美国)?除了少数例外,在后一种制度下的公民无论身在世界何处,都必须在自己的国家或地区报税。如果您在本国或地区仍有收入进账,比如通过出租或出售房产获得收入,那么您可能仍须缴纳所得税或资本利得税。

请咨询双重税务系统的税务专家,以善用税收优惠和避免被罚款。

处理养老金

如果您正在原居地缴纳养老金,并打算移居国外,您可以选择最合适的处理方法。这将取决于您拥有的是私人养老金还是工作场所养老金,以及您的居住地。私人养老金与工作场所养老金类似,分别是由自己还是由雇主所安排。

以英国3为例,您可以将退休金保留在英国,如有需要,也可在海外继续供款。如果您的计划属于"合资格认可海外养老金计划"(QROPS),您也可以将养老金转移到新的国家。

您的私人养老金通常会继续存入您国内的账户。因此,连接各地的银行账户,您在账户之间转账将更为容易。您的养老金可能会被视为应税收入,并且须进行申报。

当您回国后,您在国外缴纳的养老金会怎样?部分情况下,您可能有权要求退还,特别是如果如果您只在当地短期工作。如果您认为自己合资格取得另一国家的退休金,或在移居时获得退款,请联系相关的养老金管理机构。

咨询财务专家

我们知道您的家人很关心您,处处为您着想。然而,除非他们是非常厉害的理财行家,否则他们自行提出的建议并不一定适合您。

咨询财务顾问等专业人士,他们可以帮助您在海外开立账户,整理您的养老金信息,甚至帮助您联系税务顾问。此外,他们提供意见时能够保持客观,亲友就未必做得到了。

要建立海外财务,不妨从当地银行账户着手。在出国前开立账户,以便在出发前备妥提款卡和信用卡,或将卡寄到新的固定住址。熟练掌握网上银行和手机银行的使用,以便一站式管理您所有账户。

打算开立海外账户?

移居国外有很多事情要考虑。提前建立好您的财务有助于制定预算、进行环球转账以及退税(如适用)。请在我们的简易表格上留下您的详细资料,我们将在您的指定时间和日期与您联系。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

Top of main content
mature man relaxing in comfy chair with laptop; image used for HSBC International Services Life abroad article Setting up your finances

Things to consider when setting up your finances abroad

Moving abroad? You're certainly not alone! According to a recent United Nations report, an estimated 272 million people live outside of their country or region of origin. One-third of all international migrants come from only 10 countries, and two-thirds live in just 20 countries.1 Whether you're moving solo or with the family, things to consider include securing a visa, finding accommodation and organising healthcare.

And all of these details might depend on setting up your finances, both at home and abroad, so it's a good place to start.

Determine your needs by asking yourself these questions

Many countries are leaning toward more cashless transactions. You'll most likely need a local bank account to set up a phone contract, deposit your salary, and to pay utilities and your rent (or mortgage). Doing this will also help you build credit history. 

The complexity of your finances will determine your needs. Ask yourself:

  • How long will I be away from home?
  • Is this a temporary or permanent move?
  • Do I need to keep my existing bank account open?
  • Will I have assets in two or more countries or regions?
  • Where will I be paying taxes?

If you continue to use your home account to withdraw the local currency and to make global money transfers, the transaction fees can quickly mount. Setting up your finances abroad before you move is not just about meeting your daily banking needs – it's also financially prudent.

Know how much money you'll need

To create a budget, you'll need to know what it's going to cost you to live in your new destination. Factor in the cost of living, like food, housing, security deposits, insurance, utilities, transportation and schools (if you're bringing the kids). Take that information and make a monthly budget based on your income and expected spending. 

Say you're moving from Sydney to New York. Assuming you're renting in both cities and living the same lifestyle, what costs you USD5,800 Down Under would cost USD8,400 in New York, where rents are 85% higher and restaurants are 43% more expensive.2

Your visa may require you to have a certain amount in your bank account to show you can support yourself while you're abroad. Plan to have enough savings to cover you for at least 6 months while you settle in.

Open a bank account

You don't want to arrive and be bogged down with even more details than you have to – you'll be busy enough contending with a new country, a new job and a new home.

Open a local bank account, preferably before you move. If you wait, you might find it difficult to open one without a permanent address or proof of income. Language might be another issue as well. 

An international bank account will allow you to make free global transfers between your accounts. There's no need to close your home account, especially if you'll still be paying bills from it and you can link the two accounts together. Online and mobile banking now make it easy for you to manage all your global accounts.

If you're a student, you might want to check out our top tips to settle in to your new life abroad.

Put some money in your new account

Once you've set up your new bank account overseas, you'll need to transfer some money into it to cover the expenses of moving abroad. HSBC Global View and Global Transfers (GVGT) makes it easy to transfer money between your accounts so you'll have money there when you arrive.

With GVGT you can view, link and manage all of your eligible HSBC accounts online, and you can transfer up to USD200,000 (or the currency equivalent) per day in most markets to your eligible or third-party HSBC accounts worldwide. Best of all, the transfers are almost instant and there are zero transfer fees.

Understand the tax implications

Taxes can be tricky, especially if you own assets and earn an income in two places. What you pay in taxes when you're working abroad will depend on your nationality and where you reside. Notify the tax authorities where you're living now to let them know you'll be moving. You may be liable for fewer taxes or even be exempt.

Some countries have eliminated dual social security taxation. Under these bilateral social security agreements (SSA), for example, non-resident Indians (NRIs) are exempt from paying twice in 18 countries, including Australia, Canada, Japan, France and Denmark. 

If you're working in another country or region for only part of a year, you may also be eligible for a tax refund when you return home, depending on the country. 

Are you moving from a country with a residential system, like Canada, or a citizen-based system, like the US? With a few exceptions, citizens under the latter system must file taxes in their home country or region, no matter where they are in the world. If you're still earning money in your home country or region, such as through rental income or from the sale of property, you may still be liable for income or capital gains tax. 

Talk to a tax professional who understands duel tax systems so you can take advantage of tax breaks and avoid penalties.

Sort out your pension

There may be a few options for you if you're currently contributing to a pension scheme in your home country or region and move abroad. This will depend on whether you have a private or workplace pension, and where you're residing. Private pensions are similar to workplace pensions but they'll be set up by you rather than your employer.

In the UK3 for example, you might be able to leave your pension where it is, and even continue paying into your scheme while you're overseas if you wish. Or you could transfer it to your new country, if your plan is part of a Qualifying Recognised Overseas Pension Scheme (QROPS). 

Your private pension will probably still be deposited into your local account back home. Link your global bank accounts to make fund transfers between your accounts easier. Just remember that your pension could be considered taxable income, and that you'll have to declare it. 

What happens to the pension fund you paid into in your new country when you return home? In some cases, you might be entitled to a refund, especially if your assignment is only short term. Contact the relevant pension authority if you think you're eligible for a pension from another country or a refund when you move.

Set your financial boundaries with friends and family

We know your family loves you and means well. However, unless they're super financially savvy, this doesn't necessarily mean their (unsolicited) advice is always right for you.

This is where talking to someone like a financial adviser can be helpful. They can help you open an account overseas and sort your pension details, and possibly put you in touch with a tax consultant. And they can be objective – something not all family members can do.

Setting up your finances overseas starts with a local bank account. Do this before you move abroad and you can have your ATM and credit cards ready pre-departure, or sent to your new permanent address. Get familiar with online and mobile banking and you can manage all your accounts in one place.

Ready to set up your overseas account?

There's a lot to think about when moving abroad. Setting up your finances ahead of time will help with budgeting, global money transfers, and deposits, like tax refunds (if any!). Leave your details on our quick form and we'll get in touch on your preferred time and date.

Still have a question? Chat with one of our advisers now.

1 United Nations International Migration 2019 Report
https://www.un.org/en/development/desa/population/migration/publications/migrationreport/docs/InternationalMigration2019_Report.pdf

2 Cost of Living Comparison Between Sydney and New York
https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/

3 The Pensions Advisory Service: Moving Abroad
https://www.pensionsadvisoryservice.org.uk/about-pensions/when-things-change/moving-abroad