主内容首部

如何在虚拟面试中脱颖而出

网络摄像头的发明由咖啡开始

1991年,剑桥大学的研究人员厌倦了特地走到咖啡壶前,却发现咖啡已经喝光的情况。于是,他们对着咖啡壶安装了一个数码相机,并将图像发送到他们的电脑上。几年后,剑桥大学的研究人员将其改良1,将摄像头拍摄的图片上传到互联网,第一个外置网络摄像头就此诞生。

这项监测咖啡壶的技术已经彻底改变了我们开展业务的方式。视频会议公司Zoom透露,每天有超过3亿人在他们的平台上开会。即使是招聘流程也变得更精简,尤其是对于招聘海外员工的公司更加明显。最近的一项就业服务调查2发现,近90%的雇主正在转用虚拟面试。

当接到面试通知后,您应如何确保尽量善用这段面试时间,来展示您的技能并获得聘用?

面试前,不妨参考一下这份清单,届时定能做出最佳表现。如果您还在上大学,您或许会对我们所列的毕业前应该做的9件事感兴趣。

解决技术问题

网上面试科技公司的首席执行官Kevin Parker表示,求职者常犯的最大的一个错误是没有做好充分的准备。科技可能已经改变了招聘形式,但传统的准备方式永远不会过时。

网络连接

如果网速太慢导致您的视频延迟或卡顿,换一个网络更稳定的地方(但最好不是在面试中途!)。如果您遇到了延迟,等对方讲完后稍等片刻,这样您就不会无意中打断他们。点头表示您在聆听,也对面试很有帮助。

您可以用网线直接连接网络。在您的视频软件上禁用某些选项也可以提高网速。

也许最重要的是,准备好面试官的电话号码,以防您需要采用传统的方式线下联系。这样,即使不幸遇到系统完全崩溃的情况,您也可以从容地启动备用方案。

相信您已准备了备用方案,对吧?

视频软件

Zoom、Skype、WebEx。这些软件程序和应用程序都略有不同。提前安装面试官指定的软件,并试用各项功能。到时就不会让自己看起来毫无准备或者缺乏基本的技术技能了。慌张很可能也会让您出局。

您可邀请朋友与您一起测试软件,并在另一台设备上装好相同软件,作为备用。当您准备拨号时,记得将铃声静音,阻止电脑弹出窗口,关闭所有不必要的网页浏览器标签。

还记得音频反馈的原因吗?不记得了?那是因为您对这项技术不熟悉。(提示:对于Zoom,可能是因为您同时打开了您的电脑和电话音频。)

笔记本电脑或屏幕设置

您的脸和肩膀应该在镜框里。电脑要做到这一点,您的屏幕应该离你75-90厘米左右——对大多数人来说,这比您手臂的长度要长。所以,如果您在面试时需要使用笔记本电脑,请准备一个无线键盘。

您的眼睛应该和摄像头在同一水平线上。如果您用笔记本电脑,可以在桌子上用书本堆、盒子或者其他东西将之垫高,与您的视线齐平。如果您使用两个显示器,要确保您看着正确的那个。对话时,如果对方觉得您看起来像是在凝视别处,会显得您很不专心。

请尝试将对方的影像尽量移近镜头,以便进行眼神接触。如果您觉得看着摄像头而不是他们的脸太困难(这样确实会感觉有点奇怪,所以需要练习),那就用手机。当您看着屏幕时,看起来就像看着对方的眼睛一样。如果面试官使用电脑的话,水平放置手机看起来会更好。用三脚架则可以保持完美的距离和稳定性。

耳机和声音

您的游戏耳机可能很舒适,但面试时不要使用。这种配饰几乎和头一样大,自然容易令对方分心。您可以随身携带一个备用耳机,万一耳机失灵,也无需四处慌张寻找。如果您没有耳机,可以使用电脑的内置扬声器和麦克风,但可能会有声反馈啸叫的风险。如果音频有问题,在笔记本电脑USB接口上插一个麦克风配件可以很好地解决这个问题。

不说话的时候把麦克风调成静音。更好的做法是,每当加入一个电话会议时,都调整您的设置,让它默认静音。除非您喜欢听起来像在井底打电话,否则最好避免空房间或天花板高的房间。如果没有东西可以吸收声音,您的声音会在坚硬的表面上产生回音。在房间里放一些柔软的家具,甚至是毛巾都会有帮助(只要把这些东西放在镜头之外就行了)。

选择合适的面试场所

不想您的面试视频在网上疯传的话,那么就不要让猫咪和您的孩子在房间里进进出出。让家人知道您不想被打扰,必要时锁上门。

确保房间光线充足

您知道阴沉的日子会让人心情低落,阳光灿烂的日子会让人心情舒畅吗?这背后是有科学依据的,也可以为您的面试定下基调,所以最好选择一个有充足自然光的房间。如果不能,可将暖光灯打在自己的脸上,但不要直射眼睛。如果您是卷发(或头发稀疏),逆光会有损您的形象;直接从上方照射下的光线会投下有些恐怖的阴影。面试官应该能够看到您的肢体语言,看清楚您的面部表情。

布置您的背景

问问您自己,您是否愿意邀请别人在线上参观您的家。您希望面试官关注您,而不是研究地板上那堆脏衣服。即使出现在视频中的书,也逃不过书名被审视的命运,所以要考虑这些书是否会反映出您是怎样一个人。将自己置于中性背景前90厘米(3英尺)处,尽量避免干扰,不要使用Zoom背景。Zoom背景虽然有趣,但也很怪异,所以还是留给与朋友聊天时用吧。

注意仪表

这更多是关于第一印象,而不是只为了自我满足。认真对待您的面试,穿着专业但简单。您的着装将取决于所处的行业、职位甚至文化。

避免穿复杂的图案,因为小条纹或小波点会产生发光颜色的视觉错觉,这也称莫列波紋效应。白色可能会和您的背景融为一体,或者引起眩光,而黑色会让您看起来阴郁。蓝色通常是比较稳妥的选择。考虑摄像头的角度,相应地调整您的领口,不要佩戴任何反光或发出声音的首饰。

如果您要竞选美国总统,您会怎么做?即使是名人也不是绝对正确的。据说,有史以来第一次总统竞选电视辩论让理查德·尼克松输给了当时的参议员约翰·F·肯尼迪3。在炽热的灯光下,“狡猾的狄克”的廉价化妆品开始随着汗水融化,露出了黑色的胡茬和不讨人喜欢的灰白脸色。他还习惯在回答记者问题的时候,把眼睛从摄像头移开。因此观众看到的是一个躲躲闪闪、汗流浃背的政客的形象。

不要让这样的事发生在您身上。

反复练习

下载完软件就开始练习吧,布置好您的空间,测试设备,确保画面中的一切(也就是您本人)看起来都没问题。一些专业的面试辅导人员会建议您为模拟面试录音,然后回放,这样您就可以听到自己的语气和措辞。多练习几次,感觉就没有那么尴尬。

忘了面试时间是美国东部或是太平洋标准时间?如果您要面试海外工作,时区可能会是个很棘手的问题。包括属地和两个无人居住的地区在内,仅美国就有11个时区。即便是无心之过,在错误的时间拨号加入,您也会被认为迟到或缺席。请记得再三检查时间,确保一切无误。

最后的细节准备

您不希望在最后一刻慌慌张张地戴上耳机拨号加入。在面试开始前一两分钟加入面试(别忘了把麦克风的声音关掉)。如果即兴发挥不是您的风格,为自己列一些备忘单,并把它们放在您的电脑周围容易看到的地方。把它们贴得高一些,与您的摄像头保持一致,这样在面试时您就不会向下看了。

放松,做真实的自己

您已经完成了最困难的部分了。放松,做真实的自己。除您之外,可能还有数十位有着类似资历的候选人,都在争夺同一份工作。所以在面试中,您可以通过讲述自己与众不同的故事来展现自己的个性。当然要保持专业,不要越界,不过,通过让自己放松下来,将有助您跟面试官建立好关系。

面试后,向面试官表达感谢,并重申您的与职位相关的资历。招聘流程可能在变化,但礼仪永远不会过时。

那么,那架咖啡壶摄像头后来怎么了?

到1996年,咖啡壶图片的点击量超过了100万,比剑桥大学国王学院教堂的点击量还高,而那台咖啡机被认为是“东英格兰的头号旅游景点”。两年后,访客对咖啡壶的点击量超过了200万。

29年后,剑桥大学的咖啡壶摄像头于2001年关停。那台咖啡机以3,350英镑(约合5,400美元)的价格拍卖,然后学生们用这笔钱买了一台浓缩咖啡机。

准备好开立海外账户?

如果您已在线上面试中突围而出,是时候考虑一下移居事项了。请在我们的简易表格上留下您的详细资料,我们将与您联系,回答您的问题,并帮助您开立海外帐户。

如果您要移居国外,还要考虑旅行、住宿和保险。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

1. Fade to Black: Coffee-Pot Cam To Go Offline, Peter S. Goodman, Washington Post online.

2. Virtual Job Interview Technology CEO Reveals Common Candidate Video Interviewing Pitfalls, Joseph Liu, Forbes.

3. The Kennedy-Nixon Debates, History.com.

Top of main content
 little boy on dad's lap as he's on his laptop working; image used for HSBC International Services Life abroad article How to ace a virtual job interview.

How to ace your virtual job interview

Coffee created the first webcam, in a way

In 1991, researchers at Cambridge University got tired of taking unnecessary trips to the coffee machine, only to find that the pot was empty. So they rigged up a digital camera, pointed it at the pot, and had the images sent to their computers. A few years later, Cambridge researchers upped their game1 by uploading the camera's images on to the internet, and the first external webcam was born.

This coffee pot-watching technology has revolutionised the way we do business. Videoconferencing company Zoom revealed that more than 300 million people meet on their platform daily. Even the hiring process is becoming more streamlined, especially for companies hiring from overseas. A recent career-services survey2 found that almost 90% of employers are shifting to virtual job interviews.

When you get that callback, how do you know if you're making the most of your time online to showcase your skills and get hired?

Go through this checklist before you log on and ace your virtual interview. If you're still in university, you might want to read our checklist of 9 things you should do before graduating.

Sort out the tech stuff

One of the biggest mistakes job candidates make, says virtual job interview technology CEO Kevin Parker, is failing to prepare adequately. Technology may have changed the hiring game, but old-school preparation will never go out of style.

Internet connection

If a slow connection is causing your video to lag or freeze, move to an area with a more stable connection (preferably not mid-interview!). If you're experiencing delays, wait a moment when the other person finishes talking so you don't accidentally interrupt them. It can be helpful to nod to show you're paying attention.

You could always connect directly to the internet with a cable. Disabling certain options on your video software can also help with bandwidth.

Perhaps most importantly, have the interviewer's phone number ready in case you need to go old school and take it offline. That way, if you're unlucky enough that your system crashes altogether, you can deal with it in stride and go with your backup.

You do have a backup, don't you?

Video software

Zoom, Skype, WebEx. These software programs and apps are all slightly different. Install your interviewer's choice ahead of time and play around with the features. You don't want to appear unprepared or lacking in basic tech skills. Getting flustered will most likely throw you off your game, too.

Schedule a test run with a friend and have the software ready to go on an alternate device as a backup. When you're ready to dial in, turn your ringer off, block computer pop-ups and close all unnecessary web browser tabs.

Remember the reasons for audio feedback? No? That's because you didn't familiarise yourself with the technology. (Hint: for Zoom it might be because you have your computer and telephone audio on at the same time.)

Laptop or screen set up

Your face and shoulders should be in the frame. To do this with a computer, your screen should be about 75-90 cm away - longer than the length of your arm for most people. Take this into consideration and get yourself a wireless keyboard if you'll need to access your laptop during the interview.

Your eyes should be level with the camera. If you're using your laptop, get it off your desk and up to eye level with a stack of books, boxes or whatever you can find. If you're using two monitors, just make sure you're looking at the right one. It can be disconcerting having a conversation with someone who's seemingly staring off into space.

Try and make eye contact by moving the other person's image as close to your camera as possible. If you find it too difficult to look at the camera instead of their face (this can feel weird so it does take practice), use your phone. You'll appear to be looking them in the eye when you're actually looking at your screen. Positioning your phone horizontally will look better if the interviewer will be using a computer. Keep the perfect distance and stay steady with a tripod.

Headset and sound

They might be super comfortable but don't wear your gaming headphones. Most of us find accessories the same size as a person's head to be distracting, naturally. Keep a spare headset handy so you're not fumbling around in case they conk out. If you don't have headphones, you can use your computer's built-in speakers and mic but you run the risk of audio feedback. If audio's a problem, an accessory microphone plugged into the USB port of your laptop will do the trick nicely.

Mute your mic when you're not speaking. Better yet, adjust your settings so that it defaults to mute whenever you join a call. Unless you like sounding like you're calling from the bottom of a well, it's best to avoid empty rooms or those with high ceilings. Your voice will echo off hard surfaces if there's nothing to absorb the sound. Placing soft furnishing in the room or even towels will help with this (just keep those piles out of sight).

Create your space

Cats and your kids wandering in and out of the room are a fantastic idea ... if you'd like your interview to go viral. Let the others in the house know you're not to be disturbed and lock the door if you have to.

Find a well-lit room

You know how you feel down on a dark day and chipper on a sunny one? There's science behind that and it can set the tone of your interview, too. Choose a room with plenty of natural light. If that's not possible, use warm lights pointed toward your face but not in your eyes. Backlighting can be particularly unflattering if you have frizzy (or thinning) hair; light shining directly down on you will cast sinister-looking shadows. The interviewer should be able to read your body language and see your facial expressions clearly.

"Curate" your background

Ask yourself if you're happy to virtually invite people into your home. You want the interviewer to be paying attention to you and not studying the dirty pile of clothes on the floor. Even your book titles aren't safe from judgement if they're on display, so think about what they say about you. Position yourself about 90 cm (3 feet) in front of a neutral background with minimal distractions and stay away from Zoom backgrounds for now. They're fun and quirky – and that's why you should save them for your chats with friends.

Pay attention to your appearance

This is more about first impressions than vanity. Take your job interview seriously and dress professionally but simply. Your attire will depend on the industry, the position and possibly culture.

Avoid busy patterns that can easily create a "moiré effect". This is where small stripes or dots give the optical illusion of shimmering colours. White might blend into your background or cause glare and black can look gloomy, but blues are always a safe bet. Consider the angle of your camera and adjust your neckline, accordingly, and avoid any jewellery that reflects or makes noise.

What if you were running for President of the United States of America? Even the famous aren't infallible. It's said that the first-ever televised presidential debate cost Richard Nixon the presidency3 to then-Senator John F. Kennedy. Under the hot lights, "Tricky Dick's" cheap makeup began melting off with his sweat, revealing dark stubble and an unflattering grey pallor. He also had a habit of taking his eye off the camera to answer reporters' questions. Viewers were left with an image of a shifty, perspiring politician.

Don't let this happen to you.

Do a practice run

Once you've downloaded the tech, go ahead and set up your space and test your equipment, making sure everything looks right on camera (by "everything" we mean you). Some professional interview coaches recommend recording a mock interview and playing it back so you can listen to your tone of voice and choice of words. This gets less cringey the more you do it.

Sorry, was that EST or PST? Time zones can be tricky if you're interviewing for a job overseas. Including dependencies and two uninhabited territories, there are 11 time zones in the US alone. Dial in at the wrong time and you'll be considered to be late or a no-show, even if it is an honest mistake. Double-check and get it right.

Last-minute details prep

You don't want to be scrambling for your headset and dialing in at the last minute. Join the call a minute or two before the interview starts (and don't forget to mute your mic). If winging it is not your style, write yourself "cheat sheets" and place them around your computer where you can easily see them. You'll want to post them higher up, in line with your camera, so you're not looking down during the interview.

Relax and be authentic

You've made it through to the hardest part, really. Relax and be authentic. There might be 10 other candidates with similar qualifications, all vying for the same job. This is the time to let your personality shine through by telling your own unique story. Stay professional and don't cross any lines, of course, but by letting your guard down you'll have a chance to connect with your interviewer.

Afterwards, send the interviewer a thank you and reiterate your qualifications as they relate to the job. The hiring process may be changing but manners will always be in style.

So, whatever happened to the coffee-cam?

By 1996, there were over 1 million hits on the coffee pot image – more than King's College Chapel – and the brew machine was considered to be "the number one tourist attraction in East Anglia". Two years later, visitor hits on the pot surpassed 2 million.

After 29 years, Cambridge University's coffee pot camera was switched off in 2001. The coffee machine was auctioned off for GBP3,350 (around USD5,400) and the students used the profits to buy an espresso machine instead.

Ready to open an overseas account?

Now that you've hopefully aced your virtual interview, it's time to think about your relocation. Leave your details on our quick form and we'll get in touch to answer your questions and to help you open an overseas account.

If you're moving abroad, there's travel, accommodation and insurance to think about, too.

Learn more about our international services