主內容首部

畢業前應做的9件事

快將從海外的大學畢業了?是時候好好規劃離校後的下一個人生階段。您可能已在積極拓展人脈、更新履歷表和求職。如果打算畢業後留在當地發展,應同時考慮簽證的問題。

您該如何善用這段時間為未來作最充份準備?

1. 拓展人脈

《The Unnatural Networker: How anyone can succeed at networking》(非自然的人脈拓展:人人都可成功擴展人際網絡的方法)的作者Charlie Lawson說我們其實可以隨時隨地拓展人脈。您所接觸的每個人,以及他們所認識的每個人,都是您的潛在人際網絡。您需要了解您拓展人脈的目的,您究竟是想尋找良師益友,獲取更多行業資訊?還是想尋找畢業後的實習或工作機會?確定後就以具誠意的方式建立聯繫。

與一般的觀念相反,拓展人脈並不只是出席活動,亦不限於積極地交際應酬,關鍵在於能否建立正面且盡可能長久的互惠關係。要尋找有助拓展人脈的資料和值得出席的活動?不妨到您學校的就業服務處查看相關資訊。

正在考慮繼續進修?歡迎參閱我們提供的進修對事業有利的主要原因

畢業生實用小貼士(短片只有英文旁述)
滙豐支援全球學生;無論您打算在哪裡發展事業,我們也能照顧您所需。

2. 善用學校資源

您在畢業前應多加善用就業服務處提供的協助。就業顧問可助您修飾履歷表、進行模擬面試,並成為您拓展人脈的橋樑。滙豐等公司會在校內校外舉行活動,與即將畢業並有意入職的學生接觸。

哈佛大學為常春藤盟校(Ivy League)之一,其就業服務處的就業諮詢服務特別出色,會舉辦就業工作坊,講解如何在獲聘時洽談工作條件和僱傭合約,可見您離開校園後,仍須持續學習,不斷充實自己。

畢業後,別忘記您仍可透過校友活動,或參與就業展,繼續善用母校的資源。畢竟,無論您處於職業生涯的哪個階段,母校都希望您順利和成功。

3. 更新和提升履歷表(CV/résumé)

CV和résumé的本意其實指不同文件,但在印度、澳洲和南非等部分國家和地區,兩者可相互通用。而在北美,除非您申請海外或學術職位,否則僱主會要求您提交résumé。在紐西蘭、英國、愛爾蘭和歐洲大部分地方,僱主則要求您提交CV*

兩者的分別在哪裡?CV全寫是curriculum vitae,在拉丁文是「人生履歷」的意思,即您的學歷、工作經驗、所獲獎項、出版刊物、學術論文,和其他成就的時序紀錄,所載的內容比résumé全面得多,資深行政人員的CV甚至可達20頁以上。相較之下,résumé在法文是「摘要」的意思,長度不應超過兩頁,內容宜簡潔有力,並根據個別用途和目的而撰寫,須清晰說明您與申請職位相關的技能和經驗。除非有資料須更新,否則CV的內容應維持不變。

別讓招聘人員以任何原因篩走您的申請。您應依照當地CV或résumé的主流格式撰寫履歷,更絕不可有任何虛報。在許多公司的背景調查過程中,學歷往往是最先亦是最容易被審查的部分,可能是因經常出現偽造事例。

4. 求職

除了為賺錢、拓展人脈和累積工作經驗外,求職其實也可助您鍛鍊面試技巧。考試前需要先溫習,上台演出前需要先排練,而進行求職面試前也需要先準備。除了履歷表和相關證書文憑外,僱主亦會透過面試,對您的各方面進行個人能力評估,例如您的組織能力如何?您有否自信?您如何處理突發情況或障礙?您是否準備充足?

沒必要只著眼於全職工作,您可善用這段時間,同時申請實習、義工和學徒工作。如果想在求職時脫穎而出,所提交的履歷表應按不同工作的需要而個別撰寫。

如您獲聘,恭喜您!但即使沒有成功,亦不應氣餒,因為這是必經過程。最重要的是,如果您能得心應手地撰寫履歷表,以及與準僱主會面或進行視像會議,當理想工作出現時,您自然能把握機會,表現出色突圍而出。

5. 建立推薦人名單

推薦人的可信度可影響求職的成敗,理應謹慎選擇。有調查顯示,70%的僱主會因為應徵者的推薦人,而改變是否聘用的決定;有近半受訪者表示,有些推薦人其實帶來反效果,讓他們對求職者的印象轉差1

推薦人不一定是前僱主,如果您認為您的導師或同事對您印象甚佳,亦可請他們當推薦人。如他們被問及關於您能力上的問題時,他們須能舉出實際事例,以展示您的優點

在將他人列為推薦人前,應先徵求對方同意,並確保他們有您最新的履歷表副本。可靠的推薦人應相當熟悉您,不會在招聘人員提到您的名字時反問「那是誰?」

大學教授經常受學生所託撰寫推薦信和擔當推薦人。如果您非留待最後一刻,而是預先提出請求,那獲得他們同意的機會應更高。同樣地,如果教授對您不太熟悉,那最好另覓更了解您的人選。

6. 考慮申請畢業後工作簽證

畢業後,您打算回流還是留在當地工作?在學生簽證到期前,您應檢查簽證限制,以預留充足時間提交申請。

如果您是英國全日制學生而且持有學生簽證(前稱Tier 4簽證),每星期最多可工作20小時。不過,只有6%的學生知道,英國已於2020年夏季宣佈恢復發出畢業後工作(PSW)簽證2,學生畢業後可留在當地最多兩年。在加拿大,畢業生可申請畢業後工作簽證,留在當地工作長達3年。

在美國,學生可申請畢業後選擇性實習培訓(Optional Practical Training),在其學科相關的領域從事長達12個月的臨時工作。

與任何移民或簽證事宜一樣,我們建議學生預早計劃,亦不要忘記大學的就業服務處應是您查詢資訊的第一站。

7. 創業

如果無法覓得理想的工作,何不開創自己的事業?比爾蓋茨曾於哈佛大學修讀法律,兩年後,在他的好友兼微軟聯席創辦人Paul Allen遊說下,他離開校園,創立了現在市值達數十億美元的企業。我們當然不是建議您輟學,只是指出成功之路從來不止一條。

其他知名的企業例如Facebook、Google和《時代》雜誌等,也是由大學生所創辦。雖然當老闆是很多人的夢想,但從零開始發展及管理業務,可能會遇上很多困難。所以在求學時,您應多留意僱傭和創業相關的法律。

就算是小企業,在創業之前也需要整理好財務。將您的銀行戶口與會計軟件、商業保險和薪酬管理系統整合,並從一開始就記錄現金流。如業務將在海外開展,那您的需求或有不同,在著手準備之前與您的銀行聯絡。進一步了解如何開立海外戶口

8. 建立作品集

口講無憑,確實展示出自己的作品和成就才最重要。整合您最優秀的文章、藝術品或設計,有助給人留下良好的第一印象。建議您把作品集放到網上,方便準僱主瀏覽,或轉寄給能為您提供適合職位的人。您可以在作品集加入推薦、網誌、相片、社交媒體連結或影片,只要內容相關,便能更充分展示您的能力,助您脫穎而出。

作品集須持續更新,所以簡便的製作格式,能助您處理時更方便。將作品集放在網上,雖然可給您更多發揮創意的空間,但記得要保持專業,例如檢查錯別字,以及確保不會出現網頁錯誤。

9. 創造美好回憶

創造美好回憶是必須的。升讀大學,尤其是到海外留學,應盡情享受和體驗。全情投入校園團隊精神,為您大學的體育隊伍打氣,亦可選擇加入社交俱樂部、來一趟公路之旅,以及在當地四處探索,發掘精彩之處。盡情享受吧!才不負這段您人生中的美好時光。

準備好開立海外戶口?

我們可為您建議申請海外戶口的最佳方法。在選擇您的所在地,以及您有意開立海外戶口的目的地後,我們會向您提供詳細步驟。

本文不分CV和résumé,並相互通用。

1 選擇最佳工作推薦人的5個貼士

2 英國:僅6%准留學生知悉PSW延長

Top of main content
4 graduates sitting down in job interview waiting room; image used for HSBC international services Study abroad 9 things before graduating article.

9 things to do before graduation

Finishing your degree? It's time to start planning the next stage of life beyond school. You're probably doing a lot of networking, updating your CV and job hunting. If you're staying on in your host country after you graduate, there's also visa applications to consider.

How else can you make the most of your time?

1. Network network network

Charlie Lawson, author of The Unnatural Networker: How anyone can succeed at networking, reminds us that networking can happen anytime, anywhere. Everyone you meet (and the people they know) represents potential relationships you might want to nurture. Understand why you're networking and pursue connections in a sincere manner. Are you looking for a mentor, hoping to garner more industry information, or are you in the market for an internship or a job when you graduate?

Contrary to popular belief, networking is not just about attending events, and nor is it about working the room. It's about establishing positive, and hopefully, long-term relationships that are mutually beneficial. And where's the best place to start sourcing for networking information and good events to show up to? Your school's career services office.

Thinking of furthering your studies? Here's the top reasons why this could be a good career move for you.

2. Tap into your school's resources

On that note, you should know everyone at the career services office on a first-name basis by the time you don your cap and gown. A career counsellor can really help you polish your CV, run through mock interviews and be a link for networking opportunities. Some companies, such as HSBC, host events on and off campus to meet with interested upcoming grads.

Harvard University's Office of Career Services takes career counselling to a whole new level - the Ivy League institution even holds workshops on negotiating job offers and employment contracts. The learning never seems to stop, even as you're out the door.

After graduation, don't forget you can still tap into your alma mater's resources through alumni events and even job fairs. After all, they want you to succeed, no matter what stage you're at in your career.

3. Update and polish your CV/résumé

These are actually different documents but the terms are used interchangeably in a few countries, such as in India, Australia, and South Africa. In North America, employers will ask for your résumé, unless you're applying for an overseas or academic job. In New Zealand, the UK and Ireland, as well as most of Europe, you'll be asked for your CV.*

What are the differences? A CV, or curriculum vitae, is Latin for 'the course of one's life'. It's a chronological account of your educational and employment history, awards, publications, academic papers and other accomplishments. A CV is a lot more comprehensive than a résumé and could top 20 pages for experienced execs. In contrast, résumé means 'summary' in French and should be just that: no more than 2 pages long. This document should be customised and concise, and it should describe your skills and experience related to the job you're applying for. Your CV, on the other hand, will remain static, except for when it's updated.

Don't give the hiring folks any reason to toss your application aside. Follow the preferred local format for CVs or résumés, and, of course, never, ever lie. Education credentials are the first and easiest thing for companies to check during the background check process.

*In this article, CV and résumé are used interchangeably throughout.

4. Apply for jobs

Aside from earning money, networking and gaining work experience, applying for jobs is the best way to hone your interviewing skills. You wouldn't go to an exam unprepared, or act on stage without rehearsing your lines, right? Preparing for a job interview is no different. As well as your CV and qualifications, an employer will use an interview to assess you as a person. How organised are you? Are you confident? How do you handle unexpected situations or obstacles? Did you prepare well?

Don't limit yourself to applying for full-time jobs. Use this time to apply for internships, volunteer positions and apprenticeships. It's good practice for customising your résumé to suit different purposes, which is what you'll need to do for every job application if you want to stand out.

After all this, congrats if you land a job! But if your application isn't successful, don't lose heart, because it's all a part of the process. The idea is to feel so comfortable crafting résumés and meeting with prospective employers - whether in person or virtually - that you'll ace your dream job interview when the time comes.

5. Collect references

A reliable reference can make or break a career opportunity, so choose carefully. In a survey, 70% of employers said they'd changed their mind about hiring a candidate because of their references. Almost half said it unfortunately left them with a less favourable opinion of the job seeker1.

A reference doesn't always have to be your former boss. Ask a mentor or a colleague if you think you've made a positive impression with them. When asked "competency-based questions", they should be able to cite specific examples that demonstrate your strengths.

Ask permission before using someone as a reference, and make sure they have a copy of your current résumé. A reliable reference should not be asking "Who?" when your name is mentioned. Ouch.

University professors are asked to write recommendation letters and be named as references all the time. They'll be more agreeable if you don't wait until the last minute to ask for yours. Again, if your professor couldn't pick you out of a crowd, it's probably a good idea to find someone who knows you better.

6. Consider a post-study work visa

Are you heading back home after graduation or staying put to look for work? Check your visa restrictions before your study visa expires and give yourself ample time to prepare for applications and submissions.

If you're studying full time in the UK, then you might know that you can work for up to 20 hours on a Tier 4 visa. Only 6% of students are aware that, as of summer 2020, they'll be able to stay on for 2 years after graduating when the post-study work (PSW) visa is reinstated2. In Canada, graduates can apply for a PSW visa that allows them to work for up to 3 years.

In the US, students can apply for the post-graduate Optional Practical Training programme. This allows them to work for 12 months in temporary employment in a field related to their studies.

Like any immigration or visa issue, students are advised to plan ahead. Again, don't forget to make your university's career services office the first stop for information.

7. Start your own business

If you can't find your dream job, why not create it by starting up your own business? Bill Gates enrolled at Harvard University to study law. Two years later, he was persuaded by friend and Microsoft co-founder Paul Allen to leave university to start up what is now a billion-dollar business. We're not telling you to drop out of school, but success doesn't always follow a straight line.

Other famous companies started up by college students include Facebook, Google and Time Magazine. While being your own boss sounds like everyone's dream, however, it can be very difficult to be in charge of the business from the ground up. As always, you need to consider the employment laws around working while studying, which will also apply to entrepreneurs.

In the UK, you don't need to open a different bank account when you start up a business. Planning on doing business in more than 1 currency? With an HSBC international account, you can manage up to 11 different currencies and move money instantly between your accounts in more than 15 countries and territories with HSBC Global Transfers. This service is free of charge for HSBC Jade clients and HSBC Premier customers.

8. Build your portfolio

It's one thing to say you've done a lot of work. It's another to show it. Make a positive first impression through a portfolio of your best writing pieces, artwork or designs. Even better: make this portfolio available online, so prospective employers can take a look easily and can even forward it through to someone who might have just the right job for you. You can add testimonials, a blog, photos, your social media links, or videos to your portfolio, as long as they're relevant. Let these speak volumes of your abilities and help you stand out among the crowd.

Maintaining your portfolio in an accessible format will ensure you keep it up to date. It should be a work in progress. Despite having more room for creativity, don't forget to keep it professional by checking for spelling mistakes and making sure there are no 404 page errors!

3 friends dancing on a dorm room bed; image used for HSBC International Services Study abroad article 9 things before graduation

9. Make memories

You didn't think we'd leave this one off the list, did you? Going to university, especially abroad, is also about having fun and making the most of the experience. Get swept up in school spirit and support your university's sports team. Join a social club, go on a road trip, and explore your host country.

Enjoy! These are some of the best years of your life.

Ready to open an overseas account?

Opening an international account before you go abroad will be the easiest way to manage your money. You'll have your account details and ATM card ready by the time your departure rolls around.

Leave your details on our quick form and we'll get in touch to answer your questions and to help you open an overseas account.

Have a few more questions about our international bank accounts and would like to chat now? Connect instantly through the 'Let's chat' button for more information.