主内容首部

遗产传承规划的13个问题

如果您不幸病重,或失去作出重要决定的能力,您是否有值得信赖的人代为处理事务?您的业务能否顺利运营下去?您的家人会得到充分保障吗?

遗产规划能助您好好安排、安心传承,值得深入了解。

1. 我需要准备什么文件?

遗产规划所需的文件可能包括您的遗嘱、授权书、财务和银行账户资料、保单,以及房地产契约。您应向遗嘱执行人提供资产和债务清单、指定受益人名单、和经常性支付项目,例如水电煤费用和各种订阅服务。

在世时,授权书能让您委托他人全权处理您的事务;离世后,遗嘱执行人将履行同样的职责,而生前的授权书效力将终止。

此外,您需要哪些文件也视乎您的个人情况及居住地。如果您的生活范围跨越不同司法管辖区,您可能需要为每地各准备一套文件,由遗嘱执行人或律师保管,或存放在保险箱里。

定期更新您的文件,以适时反映您近况的变化,例如结婚、离婚、移居,或更改受益人。

2. 我并无资产,仍需立遗嘱吗?

您所立的遗嘱具有法律约束力,清楚表明您的遗愿,以确保您的遗产能完全按照您的指示分配。如果您年轻且单身,持有少量甚至并无资产,一份简单的遗嘱便已足够。

如果您已婚,您的配偶很可能就是您财产的受益人。但何不立下一份清晰详细的遗嘱,以防万一?

如果您离世前并无立下遗嘱,而您遗产的性质也相当复杂,可能会带来严重后果。

您与伴侣已共处30年,并希望对方能继承您的一切,但原来每个国家/地区的法律均有不同,并非每个司法管辖区都会承认您们的关系。此外,如果您忘记更新遗嘱,而您跟配偶只是分居,未正式离婚,您的前任(而非孩子)可能就会继承您的遗产。

离婚也未必等同先前立的遗嘱自动失效,再婚也可能间接导致您的孩子丧失原有的继承权。

3. 我已在原居地立了遗嘱,是否足够?

在部分情况下,您的遗嘱的确可以涵盖您在居住地和海外的资产。但是,如果您的资产分布于不同的司法管辖区上,而所设的继承法也大相径庭的话,那您的遗嘱便有可能被视为无效。部分地区设有“强制继承”的法规,来指定遗产的的受益人。

我们为您提供全面的财务和投资解决方案,包括管理分布全球的资产,并规划遗产。

4. 立遗嘱时我应考虑什么?

遗嘱是遗产规划中最重要的文件;在立遗嘱的过程中,需要慎重考虑的难题不少。

您可能需要指定遗产执行人、受益人和孩子监护人。业务继承、慈善事业,甚至为您的宠物继后的照料问题,也可能需要包括在遗嘱之内。根据个人情况,您实际须考虑的事情可能比上述更多。

规划遗产时,您应向专门从事国际税务、信托和遗产规划,而且口碑良好的律师事务所寻求专业建议。您的银行或税务顾问也可为您提供支持。

5. 我的遗产规划中还应包括什么?

遗产规划因人而异,应符合您的实际情况。除了遗嘱和相关重要文件,您可能还需要:

  • 列出资产,包括房地产、基金、业务和保单等

  • 立生前遗嘱,现在就为家人作出重大决定

  • 在您的遗嘱中指定慈善机构为受益人

  • 为未成年子女或受益人制定继承计划

每当您改动遗产规划文件内容时,您都应通知执行人。如果您已立下遗嘱,不妨定期检视,以确保能涵盖所有可能出现的情况。

6. 我的银行结单和税务文件应保留多久?

保留银行结单和税务文多久,须视乎您的所在地和评税年期。

例如,对于未支付或已付的税款,美国国税局建议从报税日起计,至少保留3年的报税文件。澳大利亚则是由提交报税表日起计,至少保留相关纪录5年。在英国,建议您由递交报税表限期前起计,在当前税务年度结束后,保留至少22个月的相关纪录。

重要的文件可一并存放在防灾保险箱中,但现在其实已没有必要保留所有文件的副本了,因一般来说,您可随时在线查看您银行账户和信用卡的详细信息,以及贷款报表。汇丰环球账户服务和环球转账更可让您连通并查看各地合资格账户。

如您有任何与税务相关的疑问,请联系所在地的税务机关,以获取最新信息。

7. 我去世后,银行账户会如何处理?

处理方法视乎账户持有人、账户是否由信托机构持有,以及当地法规等因素。

如果您是账户唯一持有人,银行收到账户的变动通知后,该账户可能会被暂时冻结。任何未偿还的债务通常会在处理遗产时从账户中扣除。如果您已指定遗产或遗嘱执行人,执行人将有权处理与您账户相关的事务。

如果您不清楚银行的账户相关政策,请联系您的银行。

8. 联名账户会被冻结吗?

不会。在大多数情况下,账户会自动转移给仍在世的联名持有人(通常是配偶)。

但也会有例外情况,如果其中一名账户持有人被认为身体或精神上无行为能力,银行可能会冻结该账户以保护当中的资产。而如果联名持有人已互相授权,仍在世的持有人便可保持对账户的控制权。

如果账户有变动,您须通知银行,以了解后续的处理步骤。如果您已指定受益人,该账户将从联名账户转为个人账户。

9. 我未偿还的信用卡款项会如何处理?

在大多数情况下,偿还信用卡款项是借款人的责任,适用的国家和地区繁多,包括英国、加拿大、澳大利亚、新西兰、新加坡、香港特别行政区、印度、马来西亚、南非、阿联酋、百慕大和美国(加利福尼亚州和阿拉斯加州等社区财产州份除外,因当地配偶可共享资产和债务)。

另外,除非您与亲人共同持有账户,或联名签署信用卡申请,否则他们无须偿还您的债务。

当您去世时,收债人不会要求以您的房屋或汽车来偿还您的信用卡款项,款项通常会从您的遗产中扣除。您还可选择以保险赔款等其他资金来源,来支付您的信用卡债务。

不妨向您的银行查询,找出偿还信用卡债务的最佳方法,并了解家人是否在您去世后须代您偿还债务。现在也许就是清还债务的最佳时机,以免日后需要家人代劳。

10. 如果我的信用卡被注销,我的配偶还能使用其附属信用卡吗?

当信用卡发卡机构接获通知,已去世持卡人的所有信用卡通常会立即被取消,包括任何附属卡。

如果您在该被取消的信用卡上,有任何经常支付指示,也不会被执行,因而产生的的未偿还债务将从遗产中扣除。

如果想确保配偶在您的信用卡被取消后仍持有信用卡,配偶应申请自己的信用卡,成为信用卡账户的主要持有人。

11. 我已购买保险,家人还需要做什么?

您应把所有重要文件一并存放。如果保险公司未获悉受保人已经去世、联系不到受益人,或受益人不知道自己的受益人身份,相关的赔偿便会无人领取。

Claimfound.com报告表示,仅是美国政府财政部就持有700亿美元无人认领的资金和财产1

许多人购买保险是为了保护家人免受债权人的讨债滋扰。

通常人寿保险权益与遗产会完全分开处理,并直接交予受益人,因此,虽然债权人可追讨您的资产,却无法追索人寿保险权益。

如有疑问,您应向持牌的保险或财富管理顾问查询。

12. 我应该如何处理我的数字资产和虚拟知识产权?

问得好。许多人会忽略无形资产。数字资产除了指属于您的照片、音乐、电子邮箱、社交媒体帐号和财务账户外,还包括网站域名、数字货币和收藏品,以至游戏。

部分社交媒体网站提供遗产管理功能。如果您没有此选项,但想将数字资产留给指定的在世者,您应确保您的执行人在不违反用户协议法的情况下,可登录、存取或指定代表管理您的帐号。您也可选择设立家人均可登录的家庭共享帐号。

13. 汇丰环球银行服务可如何协助我?

汇丰为您和家人提供全方位的财富管理服务,助您妥善规划全球财富和资产,并为您家人的未来提供充分保障,让您安心无忧。

进一步了解我们的环球银行服务

免责声明

汇丰控股有限公司基于其认为可靠的公开资料编写本文,但并未独立核实此等资讯。汇丰控股有限公司和汇丰集团(统称“汇丰”)对您因使用或依赖本文而可能招致或遭受的任何损失、损害、责任或其他任何形式的后果概不负责。本文内容如有更改,恕不另行通知。汇丰不对本文的准确性、及时性或完整性作任何陈述或保证。

 

本文并非投资建议或推荐,也无意出售投资或服务或招揽购买或认购。本文不应用作任何有关税收、遗产、信托或遗产规划决定的基础。您不应使用或依赖本文来作出任何投资决定;汇丰不对此类使用或依赖负责。本文所展示的任何市场资讯均为过去资讯,不应被视为未来市场表现的指标。每当进行任何形式的优质住宅或商业物业购买、出售或出租前,您都应考虑寻求专业意见。如果您对本文的内容有任何疑问,请向您所在地区的专业顾问查询。

1 何谓无人认领的资金和财产?

Top of main content
family walking on grass and holding hands; Image used for  HSBC International Services article 13 important questions to ask when creating your estate plan

13 important questions to ask when creating your estate plan

If you got sick, or were unable to make important decisions, is there someone you trust to handle your affairs? Would your business continue to run smoothly and your family be provided for?

Estate planning is about finding the best answers to these difficult questions. Let's take a deeper dive into it.

1. What documents do I need to prepare?

Documents needed for estate planning might include your will; the power of attorney document; financial and bank account information; insurance policies; and real estate deeds. Your executor should also be given a list of your assets and any debt; designated beneficiaries; and recurring payments (like utilities and subscriptions).

A power of attorney will handle your affairs while you are alive; an executor will perform this same duty when you are deceased (and the power of attorney document will terminate).

What you'll need will depend on your personal circumstances and where you reside. If you live in multiple jurisdictions, you may need one set of documents for each. These should be kept together for safekeeping, either with the executor, a lawyer, or in a safety deposit box.

Update your documents regularly to reflect any changes, such as getting married or divorced, moving to another country, or if you've nominated different beneficiaries.

2. I don't really own anything. Do I still need a will?

Your last will and testament is a legally binding document that clearly states your final wishes, ensuring your estate is distributed exactly as instructed. If you're young and single and have few or no assets, a simple will might suffice.

If you're married, your spouse will most likely be the beneficiary of your estate. But why take a chance?

Depending on how complicated your estate is, there could be serious consequences if you happen to pass away intestate (without a will).

Let's say you've been in relationship for 30 years and just assume that your partner will inherit everything. The laws are different for every country and not every jurisdiction will recognise your union. Separated, but not divorced? In many countries, your ex (and not your children) could inherit your estate if you forgot to update your will.

Even divorce may not automatically nullify a previous will, and remarriages can indirectly nullify children out of their intended inheritance.

groomsman helping groom with bowtie

3. I already have a will back in my home country. Is that enough?

In some cases, your will can cover both your home estate and your overseas assets. However, if those assets are in a jurisdiction with very different inheritance laws, your will may be considered invalid. In some countries, there are 'forced heirship' laws which may determine the beneficiaries of an estate.

If you feel you need some extra guidance, we offer full wealth and investment solutions, including legacy planning and estate administration for your assets worldwide.

4. What should my will include?

Your will is the most important document to be included in your estate planning. The process of creating a will can raise a lot of difficult questions for many of us.

You may be asked to appoint executors of your estate, beneficiaries, and guardians for your children. Business succession, philanthropy, and even provisions for your pets may also be covered. This list is not exhaustive - there may be other things to consider depending on your situation.

When estate planning, please take appropriate professional advice from a reputable law firm that specialises in international tax, trust and estate planning. Your bank or tax advisor can also support you.

Learn more: What to include in your will as an expat

5. What else should I include in my estate planning?

Estate planning is highly personal and will depend on your circumstances. Along with your will and important documents, you might also want to:

  • list your assets, such as real estate, funds, business and insurance policies
  • create a living will, which allows you make the difficult decisions now so your family doesn't have to
  • name a charity as beneficiary in your will
  • establish an inheritance plan for your children or your beneficiaries, if they are minors

Just keep your executor in the loop whenever you add or remove something from your estate planning documents. If you do have a will, it's worth reviewing it regularly to make sure all eventualities are covered whenever your circumstances change.

6. How long should I keep my bank statements and tax filings?

The recommended length of time you should keep these documents will depend on the country, as well as the period of limitation for tax assessments.

For example, for taxes owed or paid, the United States Internal Revenue Service recommends you keep your returns for at least 3 years from the date you filed your taxes. Australians are told to hold on to their records for at least 5 years from the date they lodged their tax return. In the UK, you're advised to keep your records for at least 22 months after the end of the current tax year, for returns filed before or on the deadline.

Precious documents can be kept in a disaster-proof safe or box, but there's no need these days to keep physical copies of all your paperwork. You can usually access your bank account, credit card details and loans statements online at any time. The HSBC Global Views and Global Transfers service even allows you to link your eligible bank accounts around the world and view them in one place.

For any tax-related questions, contact the appropriate tax authorities in your country for up-to-date information.

grandparents, couple and granddaughter at dining table

7. What will happen to my bank account when I'm gone?

This will depend on whose name is on the account, whether it's being held in a trust and on the local laws.

If you're the sole account owner, the account may be temporarily frozen once the bank has been notified of account changes. Any unpaid debt will usually be paid from the account when the estate is sorted. If you've named an executor of your estate or will, then this person will have the right to deal with your accounts.

Contact your bank to discuss your account if you're unsure of its policies around this.

8. Will a joint account be frozen?

A bank will not usually freeze a joint account. Most accounts are automatically passed to the surviving joint account holder (usually a spouse).

However, if one of the account holders is considered physically or mentally incapacitated, your bank may put a freeze on the account to protect the assets. Giving each other power of attorney means the remaining account holder maintains control of the account.

If there have been changes to the account, notify your bank to get a walk-through of the steps on how to proceed. The account will be changed from a joint account to a sole-named account holder if you've named a beneficiary.

9. What will happen to my outstanding credit card debt?

In most cases, credit card debt is the responsibility of the borrower. This applies to many countries and regions, such as the UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong SAR, India, Malaysia, South Africa, the UAE, Bermuda, and the US (except in community property states, such as California and Alaska, where spouses can share both assets and debt).

Your relatives won't have to pay for your debt personally unless you share an account or have co-signed a credit card application with them.

When you pass away, debt collectors will not come after your home or car to cover your credit card bill; this debt will usually be paid from your estate. You can also choose to cover your credit card debt from other sources, such as an insurance policy.

To figure out the best strategy to pay off your credit card debt, or if you're unsure if your family will be liable for your debt, contact your bank. Now is the best time to clear that debt so it's one less thing your family has to deal with.

10. Can my spouse still use their supplementary credit card if mine has been cancelled?

Once the credit card issuer has been notified, all credit cards held by the deceased will usually be cancelled immediately, including any supplementary cards or those belonging to an authorised user.

If you have any regular credit card payments on the cancelled cards, this also means that they won't go through. Any outstanding debt will come out of the estate.

If you want to make sure your spouse has a credit card after yours has been cancelled, then they should apply for their own card and be the primary credit card account holder.

retired couple standing by vintage car

11. I have insurance. What will my family need to do?

Hopefully, you've kept all your important documents together. If the insurance company doesn't know the insured has passed away, can't find the beneficiary, or if the beneficiary doesn't even know they've been named on the plan, benefits can remain unclaimed indefinitely.

Claimfound.com reports there is currently USD70 billion in unclaimed money and property held by government treasuries in the United States alone!1

Many people buy insurance policies to protect their family from creditors who might come looking to collect debt money.

While creditors can go after your assets, they usually can't go after your life insurance benefits. These are considered to be completely separate from the estate and will go directly to the beneficiaries.

When in doubt, talk to a licensed insurance or wealth management advisor.

12. What should I do about my digital assets and virtual intellectual property?

Good question. Many people forget about their 'intangible' assets. Your digital inventory comprises your photos and music, email addresses, social media accounts and financial accounts. It also includes domain names, digital currencies and collections, and even games.

Some social media sites, such as Facebook, offer legacy management features. If you don't have this option but want to leave your digital assets to someone, make sure your executor can access them (as long as this doesn't breach user agreement laws) or nominate someone to manage accounts on your behalf. Another option might be to set up family sharing accounts that everyone can easily access.

13. How can HSBC's international services help me?

Getting your affairs in order goes a long way towards managing your global wealth and assets. It's also one of the best things you can do to protect your family's future, giving you peace of mind. At HSBC, we offer a full range of wealth management services for you and your family.

Learn more about our international services