主內容首部

澳洲留學清單

對於追求非凡海外升學體驗的學生而言,澳洲是首選目的地之一。這個遼闊美麗的國家氣氛悠閒,讓國際學生享受世界級的教育和一流的生活質素。

1. 確認護照有效

如果護照將於未來12個月到期,建議您在前往澳洲前先續領,否則人在海外時,將較難續領護照。雙重國籍的學生應在行程中使用澳洲護照,但離開澳洲後則可使用外國護照。

2. 申請所需簽證

所有學生簽證都屬於Subclass 500簽證,當中包括高等教育留學、職業教育和培訓(VET)和研究生簽證。如有任何簽證或移民相關的疑問,建議您先參考內政事務部網站。

要在澳洲留學,您須在收到您大學的注冊確認信(Confirmation of Enrolment/CoE)後申請澳洲學生簽證。要取得CoE,您必須獲得大學的正式取錄,以書面形式接受後,再支付規定的學費按金。獲發簽證後,您可在澳洲留學最長5年。

詳細了解澳洲留學的簽證選擇

3. 檢查醫療和旅遊保險

要在澳洲留學,您必須持有簽證;而要獲發簽證,您必須購買醫療保險。國際學生必須申請海外學生健康保險 (Overseas Student Health Cover/OSHC),保險期應涵蓋整個留學期間。部分項目不受這款醫療保健計劃保障,因此有些學生會選擇向私人保險公司購買額外保險。目前,比利時、瑞典和挪威學生如已受本國的國家醫療保健計劃保障,便可獲豁免OSHC。

OSHC不會就您出入澳洲的行程提供保障,即不會就遺失行李、航班延誤或貴重物品損失負責,因此建議您另購旅遊保險。

您可查看海外學生醫療保險(OSHC)網頁,了解醫療保險的更多詳情,或向澳洲移民及公民事務局查詢最新資料。

4. 設定好銀行服務

您會怎樣將資金轉到澳洲,並在當地取用?您會怎樣支付賬單、開始儲蓄,或應付日常開支?

您可在出發前在網上開立銀行戶口,但很多銀行都會要求您抵達後親身前往分行,才能取用存款。有些銀行會提供信用卡,但您在澳洲沒有信用紀錄,未必符合資格。

解決方法?您可能需在前往海外之前,預先設定有環球服務的海外銀行戶口,即是說在出發前準備好銀行戶口詳情、扣款卡或信用卡。

進一步了解開立滙豐海外戶口的詳情

5. 預訂行程和住宿

無論您從哪裡出發,前往澳洲都是一段很長的旅途。請記得提早預訂機票,還有研究住宿安排。各城市或郊區都有不少臨時和長期住宿選擇。

澳洲大學留學生在校園寄宿並不及美國常見。而且國際學生比較喜歡租住公寓。公寓單位通常不包傢具,而且您必須預先支付租金和公用事務賬單,亦很大機會要支付安全按金。

政府網站的澳洲留學網頁載有不少關於在澳洲尋找住宿的資訊。

6. 更新郵寄地址

住宿辦妥後,您應確保在出國時需要收到的郵件都將寄往您的澳洲新地址。

7. 制定預算,應付成本

澳洲是最受國際學生歡迎的目的地之一,費用也是數一數二最昂貴的。除了學費、簽證費、機票和住宿外,您也可能要儲錢支付其他成本,例如強制性醫療保健和選擇性(但建議購買的)旅遊保險。然後,還有新衣服、傢具、書籍和教科書等雜費也要計入支出。

想知道在澳洲留學的成本,以及家長將費用花在哪些項目?不妨參閱我們的研究:《教育的價值:成功的代價》,了解全球教育趨勢及如何逐步規劃出國留學。

8. 開始儲蓄

制定好預算後,不妨定下儲蓄目標,以便在出發時準備就緒。您應設定能夠達到的目標,以便每月逐少儲蓄或儘量減少支出,按步就班儲夠所需金額。

您也可以在抵埗前先申請獎學金或資助。澳洲政府每年向國際學生發放2億澳元的獎學金。您可以儘早申請,并嘗試多種獎學金,或許有機會爲您的儲蓄增加一筆金額。

不妨在手機計劃、旅遊、服裝和娛樂等方面善用學生折扣,也能幫助您實現儲蓄目標。

9. 開始找工作

您也許需要一些額外零用錢,何不在澳洲留學時兼職?持有有效學生簽證的全職學生,可以每兩星期工作最多40小時,在學校假期時則無工作時數上限。國際學生亦像所有其他人一樣,受勞工法例保障,並最少獲得最低工資。最低工資現時為每週740.80澳元。

計劃在畢業後逗留的學生須在學生簽證到期前申請工作簽證。

10. 進行身體檢查

您在入境澳洲前可能需要注射疫苗,特別是如果您將在公共醫療機構學習或工作。在新南威爾士的進行臨床工作的本科生和研究生,必須提交完整的疫苗接種紀錄。美國疾病管制與預防中心和世界衛生組織建議前往澳洲的旅客注射甲型和乙型肝炎、狂犬病、麻疹、流行性腮腺炎和德國麻疹、水痘和其他疫苗。

您可按此查看現時給入境澳洲旅客的建議。

如需處方藥物,您應檢查能否帶入境內。如需更多資料,請查看政府網站

11. 解鎖電話

將手機解鎖後,轉用其他流動網絡供應商時,您便可在手機使用任何SIM卡。抵達澳洲而又不想另買電話的話,這樣就方便得多。如果計劃購買新電話,現在大多數所售手機都沒有鎖定,因此可自選網絡供應商。

12. 再三檢查所有文件

在出國前數天,請確保您已準備好一切相關的所需文件,包括護照、簽證、駕駛執照、防疫注射紀錄、機票、教育紀錄和任何稅務資料。

您在抵達澳洲後須出示OSHC醫療保險的付款證明和確認函,因此記得在抵步時準備好。

13. 確認您並無攜帶禁止物品入境(請再三確認)

眾所周知,澳洲向來嚴格禁止攜帶限制物品入境。該國在地理上與世隔絕,因此旅客絕不應該有意或無意地將害蟲或疾病帶到當地。傳聞指,政府的「潛在有害」物品清單上,有超過2萬個項目。這對您來說代表甚麼?這代表您應申報所有物品,否則可能須支付巨額罰款。最常見的禁制物品包括新鮮水果、自製食品、生堅果和蛋奶製品。

準備好開立海外戶口?

您可在全球超過30個國家和地區開立滙豐環球銀行戶口,澳洲亦不例外。只需按下「預約回電」提交表格,我們的客戶服務人員就會回電給您。

如有關於申請上的疑問,我們的即時咨詢服務和國際銀行業務部團隊亦可提供協助。

有疑問?

歡迎向我們的顧問查詢。

Top of main content
surfer carrying a surfboard on beach at sunset; image used for HSBC international services study abroad article Australia checklist.

Australia checklist

Australia is among the top destinations for those looking for an exceptional study abroad experience. This big, beautiful country with a laid-back vibe offers international students a world-class education and a great quality of life.

1. Confirm your passport is valid

If your passport is due to expire within the next 12 months, you may want to renew it before you move to Australia. You might find it to be more difficult to renew your passport once you're overseas. Dual citizens should travel on their Australian passports, but they can use their foreign passport once out of the country.

2. Apply for the necessary visas

All student visas fall under the visa Subclass 500. These include visas for higher education studies; vocational education and training (VET); and post-grad research. The Department of Home Affairs website is a good place to start for any visa or immigration-related questions.

To study in Australia, you need to make an application for an Australian student visa after you've received a Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE) from your chosen university. In order to get a CoE, you must have been given a formal offer by the university; accepted it in writing; and paid the required deposit toward your tuition fees. Once the visa has been granted it will allow you to study in Australia for up to 5 years.

Explore your visa options for studying in Australia.

3. Check your health and travel insurance

To study in Australia, you'll need a visa. And to get a visa, you'll need health insurance. International students must apply for Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) and maintain their coverage for the duration of their stay. There are some exclusions to this healthcare plan, so some students opt for extra coverage through a private insurer. Currently, Belgian, Swedish and Norwegian students are exempt from the OSHC if they're covered under their own national healthcare plan.

OSHC will not cover you when you're travelling in and out of Australia. It won't cover you for lost baggage, delayed flights or lost valuables either, so it's also wise to have travel insurance.

Check out Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for more details on health insurance, or the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship for up-to-date information.

4. Set up your banking

How will you move and then access your money in Australia? How will you pay bills, start saving or have a means of day-to-day expenditure?

You could open up a bank account online before you go, but many banks will still require you to go into the branch in person once you arrive before you can access your money. Others may offer credit cards, but without Australian credit history you might not be eligible.

A solution? You may need to set up an overseas bank account with global benefits in advance of your travels. This means you will have your bank account details, debit or credit card prior to your departure.

Learn more about opening an overseas account with HSBC

5. Book travel and accommodation

Australia is, really far away, no matter where you're starting from. Be prepared to book your flights well in advance, in addition to researching your accommodation. There are many temporary and long-term accommodation options within the cities or the suburbs.

Unlike in the US, it's not as common in Australia for students to live on campus while going to university. International students may also prefer a rental apartment instead. These units will usually come unfurnished, and you'll have to pay rent in advance, utilities, and most likely a "bond" (security deposit).

The Study in Australia page on the government website can give you more information on finding accommodation in Australia.

6. Update your mailing address

Once you have sorted out your accommodation, make sure any mail that you need to have sent to you whilst you're away is forwarded to your new address in Australia.

7. Create a budget to cover costs

Australia is one of the most popular destinations for international students, and one of the priciest. Aside from tuition, visa fees, flights and accommodation, there may be other costs you'll have to save for, like the compulsory healthcare and optional (but recommended) travel insurance. Then there's everything in between, from new clothes and furnishings to reading materials and textbooks.

Want to know what it costs to study in Australia, and what parents are spending their money on? Our Value of Education: the price of success study looks at global trends and practical steps for planning an international education.

8. Begin saving

Once you have your budget, set yourself a savings goal so you'll be ready when the time comes to move. Make sure your goal is achievable so you're able to stay on track by either saving a little each month or cutting back on things when you can.

Perhaps you might want to apply for scholarships or grants before you arrive? The Australian government gives out AUS200 million a year in scholarships to international students. Apply early and often and hopefully you can add this to your savings if you're eligible.

Take advantage of student discounts, like those for mobile phone plans, travel, clothing and entertainment.

9. Start your job search

You may need some extra spending money, so how about working while you're studying in Australia? Full-time students with a valid student visa can work up to 40 hours every 2 weeks, or as many hours as they like during school breaks. International students are protected by labour laws like everyone else, and can expect to make at least minimum wage. This is currently set at AUD740.80 per week.

Students who plan to stay on after graduation will need to apply for a work visa before their student visa expires.

If you're applying for job before you arrive and make it through the first round, check out our tips on how to ace your virtual interview.

10. Do a health check

You may need vaccinations before you enter Australia, especially if you will be undertaking studies or work within a public health facility. Undergraduate and post-grad students working in a clinical setting in New South Wales are required to submit their entire immunisation records. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the World Health Organization recommend that travellers to Australia get hepatitis A and B, rabies, measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) and chickenpox vaccinations, to name just a few.

To check the current recommendations for travelers entering the country, please see here.

If you have a prescription, you need to check that it's allowed into the country. For more information, see the government website.

11. Unlock your phone

If your phone is unlocked from your current network provider, you'll be able to use it with any SIM card. This makes it a lot easier when you arrive in Australia and you don't want to buy another phone. If you're planning to buy a new phone, most are now sold unlocked so you can shop around for your phone provider.

12. Triple check all documentation

In the final couple of days, make sure you have all the relevant documentation ready. This will include your passport, visa, driving license, vaccination records, travel tickets, education record and any tax information. 

You'll need to show your proof of payment and confirmation of your OSHC health insurance when you arrive in Australia, so keep it handy for it when you arrive.

13. Confirm you're not bringing in restricted items (and then confirm again)

Australia is notoriously strict about what you cannot bring into the country. Being so geographically isolated, it's imperative that travellers do not, even inadvertently, bring in pests or disease. Rumour has it that there are over 20,000 items on the government's "potentially hazardous" list. What does this mean for you? Declare everything or risk heavy fines. The most common no-nos are fresh fruit, homemade food, raw nuts, eggs and dairy products.

Ready to open an overseas account?

You can open an HSBC international bank account in more than 30 countries and territories, including Australia. Use the 'Arrange a call back' button to submit a form, and one of our customer service members will call you back.

Our live chat service and International Banking Centre teams can also assist you if you have any questions about your application.