主內容首部

8種籌集留學費用的方法

如把學費、書簿費和生活費一併計算在內,每名學生平均需要99,000美元才能完成大學學位課程。約73%家長有意負擔此費用,但只有23%家長有確實的教育或投資計劃1

及早開始進行長期儲蓄,是籌集教育費用的理想方法,但未必適合所有人。

借貸並非唯一選擇

借貸只是其一個選擇,絕非籌集海外留學費用的唯一辦法。我們明白您盡心為子女著想,當然不希望他們在畢業前已債務纏身。

因此,不妨參考我們的建議,詳細了解其他籌集費用的方法,或會更適合您或您子女的需要,例如:

1. 及早開始儲蓄

如果可以的話,您應及早計劃和儲蓄,因當中涉及很多考慮因素,例如,您將承擔子女多少的教育費用?您是否同時為退休儲蓄?您亦可能有其他財務目標和責任,例如償還按揭,甚至是自己的學生貸款。

不妨向財務顧問查詢,了解您須儲蓄的金額,以及最有效達成目標的方法。如果能幫助子女避免背負龐大債務,固然理想,但不應因此而耗盡您的退休積蓄。

2. 升讀免費大學

如能精明地選擇大學,其實從一開始便能節省一大筆費用。有些人只著眼於常春藤盟校(Ivy League),但其實有些大學只收取海外學生低廉學費,甚至完全免費。

如升讀這些大學,您可能仍須支付名義上的行政費,亦須應付生活上的各種開支,但總括而言,您可節省至少4年的學費。

德國、法國和北歐國家等地向學生提供免費高等教育。學士學位通常使用當地語言教授,但很多研究院級的學位課程都會使用英語。

此外,很多學生表示,他們選擇大學時其中一個考慮因素,是有沒有機會申請畢業後工作簽證。加拿大、英國、美國、澳洲和紐西蘭都是提供此類簽證的英語國家,不過這些地方未必設有免費大學。

3. 獎學金可能是最佳方法

最知名的獎學金計劃,大概是富布萊特留學生計劃(Fulbright Foreign Student Program)。此計劃為本科生而設,獎金按成績發放,競爭非常激烈。不過,就算在學術或運動方面的表現並非最優秀,也不用擔心,因為還有很多其他的獎學金計劃。

獎學金可能會根據成績去頒發,或按學生的需要發放,亦可視乎學生的國籍、主修科,甚至性別而定。不妨在Google搜尋一下「奇怪的獎學金」,您會發現學生可憑素食習慣和水底工作經驗等,獲取獎學金,以應付學習費用。

申請獎學金需要填寫繁瑣的表格和遞交多項證明文件,不少人會因為覺得麻煩而卻步,但再麻煩也是值得的,因為您可以申請的獎學金數量並無上限,絕對是應付學費的理想方法。

4. 資助和助學金毋須償還

資助和助學金的名額通常有限,先到先得,因此學生應及早申請。獎學金是由社會機構或個別人士頒發,重視學術成績,而資助和助學金則是根據學生的財務需要而發放的援助。不妨向學校的學生資助辦事處查詢,了解自己是否符合申請資格。

5. 兼職工作賺取收入和經驗

視乎學校、地區和學生資格,美國、英國、加拿大、澳洲和法國等許多國家都允許全職學生在校園內兼職,有時也允許在校外工作。學生很可能需要當地銀行戶口出糧,您可以在出發到海外留學前完成開戶

在留學時累積工作經驗,能讓您在畢業後更容易找到工作。自2020年起,英國恢復為國際留學生辦理畢業後工作簽證,畢業生可在英國逗留並工作最多兩年。

6. 免息貸款通常可在5年內分期償還

要申請免息學生貸款,通常毋須達到太高的信貸資格,但申請人數眾多,或會僧多粥少,亦須按學生的實際需要審批。

如果您覺得免息貸款的審批條件簡單得讓人難以置信,請謹記仔細查閱有關條款和細則,有些貸款公司或會要求學生在畢業前便開始還款。

7. 學生貸款可在畢業後償還

學生貸款或教育貸款的利率通常比私人貸款低,貸款公司也多數會在學生畢業後才要求還款。

雖然家長可以簽名保證,但學生仍是這類貸款的主要借款人,如果可以的話,預早逐少還款可讓您節省不少利息開支。

如您仍未找到最適合您的籌集留學費用方法,不妨參考我們為您準備的網上評估,了解重要理財概念,助您作出更明智的決定。

8. 申請私人貸款須符合特定資格

私人貸款設有申請資格,例如收入證明和償還貸款能力。利率高低視乎還款期長短,而貸款額則視乎您的信貸評分。滙豐現有客戶如獲批滙豐貸款,只須簽署本票作實,貸款即可到手。

善用我們專業的環球銀行服務

為子女做好教育規劃,可保障他們免免受債務纏繞。不妨向財務顧問查詢,找出籌集子女海外留學費用的選項,您亦可使用貸款計算機,評估最適合您的貸款額,並制定還款計劃。

我們憑藉豐富的環球銀行服務經驗,為有跨地區財務需要的環球客戶提供全面支援。

準備好開立海外戶口?

如果您在原居地已持有滙豐銀行戶口,不妨考慮在子女計劃升學的地方另開戶口。我們提供多重貨幣的海外戶口服務,由專屬的滙豐卓越理財支援團隊提供協助。

請填寫我們的簡易表格或聯絡客戶經理,我們將盡快與您聯絡,解答您的問題並助您開立海外戶口。

Top of main content
high school graduation wearing red hats; image used for HSBC International Services Study abroad article funding studies abroad.

Speak to us about opening an account where your child is planning to study.

8 ways to fund an overseas education

Taking into consideration tuition, textbooks and living expenses, it costs students an average of USD99,000 to fund their university degree. Around 73% of parents say they plan to contribute but only 23% have an education or investment plan in place.1

Starting early and doing long-term saving is an ideal way to fund an education but this option might not be practical for everyone.

Loans aren't the only option

Taking out a loan is another option, but it's not the only way to finance an international education. We want the best for our kids, and that includes preventing them from being saddled with debt before they even finish school.

With some strategy and research of what's available you can find a lot of other great options, such as:

  • Education or investment funds
  • Fee-free universities
  • Scholarships
  • Grants and bursaries
  • University jobs
  • Interest-free loans
  • Student loans
  • Personal loans

1. Regardless of how much you save, save early for bigger benefits

If you can, start planning and saving early. There are a lot of factors to consider here. How much of your child's education will you be funding? Are you also saving for retirement? You may have other financial goals and responsibilities, such as a mortgage or even your own student loan debt.

It can help to talk to an advisor to understand how much you'll need to save and what's the best way to reach your goals. Remember, it's nice if you can help your child avoid a crushing student loan debt, but not if it comes at the expense of liquidating your retirement savings.

2. Fee-free universities really do exist

Choose wisely and save yourself a lot of money right from the start. Some people may only have the Ivy League in their sights, but don't overlook universities that offer low-cost or even free tuition for international students.

There may be nominal admin fees to pay and of course there's still living expenses to consider, but think of the money you'll save over the next 4 or more years.

Germany, France and the Nordic countries are just a few that offer free higher-education to students. Undergraduate degrees are usually in the native language but there are many post-graduate level degrees offered in English.

Something to consider: many students say they choose their university because they have a chance to apply for a post-study work visa after graduation. Canada, the UK, the US, Australia and New Zealand are a few of the English-speaking countries that offer these visas (but not sure you'll find a free university there!).

3. Scholarships can be the best way for international students to fund their studies abroad

Possibly the most well-known scholarship is the highly competitive and merit-based Fulbright Foreign Student Program for graduate-level studies. But did you know you don't always need to be the most academic in your class, nor the most athletic, to win a scholarship?

A scholarship's criteria can be merit-or needs-based. It can also be dependent on your nationality, your major or even your gender. Don't believe it? Google ''weird scholarships'' to see how you could turn your passion for a plant-based diet or working underwater into funding for school.

Scholarships do require a lot of paperwork, and this can be a hassle that discourages many people. But it's worth the trouble. There's no limit to how many scholarships you can apply for and it can be a great way to pay for schooling.

4. Grants and bursaries, like scholarships, are considered ''gift aid'' and don't need to be paid back

These are often on a first-come, first-serve basis, so students need to apply very early. Unlike scholarships, which are often merit-based and come from different sources such as community organisations or individuals, grants and bursaries are usually needs-based financial aid. Talk to the school's financial aid department to find out if you're eligible.

5. University jobs provide extra money and work (and life) experience

Many countries, such as the US, the UK, Canada, Australia and France, allow full-time students to legally work part time on campus and sometimes even off campus. This varies by school, country and student eligibility. Students will probably need a local bank account for salary deposit - something that can be organised before they move abroad for their studies.

Getting some work experience while still in school might make it easier to land a job after graduation. Want more good news? The UK is reinstating its post-study work visa for international students, which will allow students to stay on in the UK for up to two years to pursue employment.

6. Interest-free loans are usually paid back in instalments of around 5 years

Interest-free loans don't usually require students to pay interest or to meet the usual credit requirements needed to qualify. Applications can be competitive, however, and based on need.

If a zero-interest loan seems too good to be true, take a closer look at the fine print. Some lenders may require you to start paying this loan back before the student even graduates.

7. Student loans are easier to find than interest-free loans

Student (or education) loans typically have lower interest rates than personal loans, but at least the lender usually waits until after you graduate before you have to start paying it back.

While parents can co-sign, the student is the main borrower of these loans. If you can, though, it's good to start paying the loan back in small increments. That way, there will be less interest to pay at the end of the loan.

Still unsure about the best way to pay for an education? We've put together a program to help you understand key financial concepts so you can make better decisions related to your student finances.

8. Personal loans have certain eligibility requirements, such as proof of income and your ability to pay the loan back

Interest rates can vary depending on the length of the loan, and the loan amount might depend on your credit profile. Existing HSBC customers may receive their funds instantly if they're approved for an HSBC loan, and they've signed a promissory note.

Benefit from our international banking expertise

Education planning is the best way to provide a debt-free future for your children. Talk to a financial adviser to research your options for financing your child's study abroad. It can help to to use a loan calculator to assess what sort of loan amount you're comfortable with and to come up with a repayment plan.

Our global experience means that we're able to support international customers who have financial interests in different countries.

Ready to open an overseas bank account?

If you have an HSBC bank account in your home country, consider opening up an account where your child is planning to study. We offer international multi-currency account opening services and access to the dedicated Premier support team.

Fill in our quick form or contact your Relationship Manager and we'll get in touch to answer your questions and help you begin your application.