主内容首部

海外留学需要多少费用?

教育开支可以相当高昂,如果您有意出国留学,所需的费用更难以估计。

为此我们准备了以下建议,帮助您为海外升学做好财务规划。

海外升学有多昂贵

有报告引述美国的人口普查(U.S. Census)、劳工部(Bureau of Labor)和国家教育统计中心(National Center for Education Statistics)的数据指出,从1980年至今,大学教育的费用上升了169%1

因此,您应该尽早估算留学开支。知道要为孩子预留多少教育资金之后,您就能制定合适的财务计划,应付持续上升的开支。

您的预算应包括︰

  • 学费和书本费

  • 申请费

  • 护照及签证费用

  • 医疗保健

  • 交通和保险

  • 住宿费

  • 当地的生活费用

多数大学会在网上列明学费金额,但是交换生或国际学生的学费可能会有所差异。此外,您也可利用生活开支计算机等工具,估算其他留学开支和住宿费,以及进一步了解各类学生资助。

如何规划留学生活预算

规划预算时,您可以选择寻求专业意见。升学顾问会为您评估财务状况,同时一并考虑通胀、利息和其他意料之外的因素,让您掌握孩子的留学之旅实际上需要多少储备,再与您一起制定长期储蓄计划,或选择合适的贷款计划及还款安排。

具有国际经验的教育顾问不但能帮您计算海外留学所需的费用。他们还可以帮助学生准备入学和考试,以及安排职业指导及校友交流机会。如果您需要前往外地,还可以帮您申请相关签证。

通过汇丰卓越理财,我们的全球教育顾问可为您提供专业咨询服务,让您更深入了解加拿大、美国、英国和澳大利亚等热门留学地点。

了解更多:如何选择适合的大学

定下您的理财目标

为留学之旅计划预算时,您可以设想自己的目标。想像自己在1年、5年或15年后想过怎样的生活。确立未来的方向之后,您就更容易计划如何达成目标。

接下来,您应该定立实现目标的时间表,并把提示放在当眼处提醒自己。有清晰的目标后,您可以设立常行指示,在每个月初存入指定金额,让您的储蓄持续增长。

及早规划,减轻负担,节省更多

只要稍作研究,再定下相应目标,您会更清楚留学所需的预算。尽早为子女的教育作财务规划,也有助管理持续上升的教育成本,减轻家庭财务压力。

研究显示,我们的身心与财务健康有密切联系。妥善理财或有助全面改善您的身心健康,反之亦然。

了解更多:身心越健康、财务越稳健:汇丰银行研究

如何准备海外留学的资金

储蓄

想为孩子预留教育储备,最简单的方法是把资金存入储蓄账户。您既可累积利息,也能随时灵活提取资金。而且您越早开始储蓄,便越早获得利息回报。

储蓄的特点:

  • 低风险,低回报

  • 易于管理,无需专家协助

  • 可随时提取使用

  • 资金门槛较低

投资

如果您在数年后才需要动用留学资金,也可以按照个人偏好和风险承受能力进行投资,以获取更高的潜在回报*。您的投资年期越长,增长潜力也越大,并更容易克服市场下行时的价格波动。

投资的特点:

  • 高风险,高回报

  • 自行管理投资并不容易

  • 需要资金时未必可以立即提取

  • 适合长远的理财目标

保险

您可以根据需要选择不同类型的教育保险产品。例如某些长期保险计划会在您的子女达到一定年龄时到期,或者允许您提前提取现金,用以支付学费及其他教育开支。请注意,如果您在保单到期前提取资金,可能须支付额外费用。

市面上的储蓄和投资产品各有不同。产品过去的表现不能预示未来的表现,您也可能蒙受损失。作出任何投资决定前,您应该比较不同产品以获取最佳回报,或咨询您的理财顾问。

了解筹集留学费用的其他方法

国际学生报读学校时,通常可以申请学生资助。有些留学热点可为国际学生提供资助,例如奖学金、助学金和其他补助金。您可以向专业教育顾问了解相关选项。

除了贷款和学生资助,您也能通过以下方法节省开支:

  • 选择到生活成本较低的国家或地区留学

  • 先入读社区学院(稍后在大学完成学位)

  • 选择免收学费的大学

  • 休学一年投入工作

  • 参加受薪的职业培训计划,在学习以外赚取收入

有些签证允许您在留学期间工作。如果您计划毕业后留在当地发展,毕业后工作签证可能是您的理想选择。

了解更多:申请奖学金的提示

预先开通海外银行服务

如果您不想担心海外交易或提款费用,而且留学期间需要使用多种货币,可考虑出发前预先开通海外银行服务。此外,很多学校也会要求您在当地开立银行账户以支付学费。

我们能帮您在全球30多个国家及地区开立海外账户,而且一般可为您提供当地货币的提款卡,以及多币种借记卡或信用卡。我们的环球账户服务可绑定所有合资格的汇丰账户,让您随时随地掌握环球账户的理财状况。您也可使用环球转账服务,在已绑定的环球账户之间轻松转账。

打算开立海外账户?

我们可为您建议申请海外账户的最佳方法。只需要选择您的所在地,以及您有意在什么地区开立海外账户,我们就能为您提供详细步骤。

免责声明

汇丰控股有限公司基于其认为可靠的公开资料编写本文,但并未独立核实此等资讯。汇丰控股有限公司和汇丰集团(统称“汇丰”)对您因使用或依赖本文而可能招致或遭受的任何损失、损害、责任或其他任何形式的后果概不负责。本文内容如有更改,恕不另行通知。汇丰不对本文的准确性、及时性或完整性作任何陈述或保证。

 

本文并非投资建议或推荐,也无意出售投资或服务或招揽购买或认购。本文不应用作任何有关税收、遗产、信托或遗产规划决定的基础。您不应使用或依赖本文来作出任何投资决定;汇丰不对此类使用或依赖负责。本文所展示的任何市场资讯均为过去资讯,不应被视为未来市场表现的指标。每当进行任何形式的优质住宅或商业物业购买、出售或出租前,您都应考虑寻求专业意见。如果您对本文的内容有任何疑问,请向您所在地区的专业顾问查询。

1 美国乔治城大学教育及劳动力研究中心分析美国国家教育统计中心的教育统计文摘数据所发表的报告:为年轻一代改革,时不再来
* 投资涉及风险。过去的表现不能预示未来的表现。投资者须参阅有关基金的发售文件,以了解有关基金的详情及所涉及的风险。

Top of main content

How much does it cost to study abroad?

Not only can an education be expensive, but it's also difficult to estimate its cost accurately, especially if you're planning to study overseas.

We can help you to budget for a study abroad and manage the cost up front.

Is studying abroad expensive

The cost of university, according to a report analysing data from the U.S. Census, Bureau of Labor Statistics and National Center for Education Statistics, has increased 169% since 1980.1

You can see why it's important to do a cost estimate early on to see just how much you'll need to save for your child's education. You can then create a financial plan that will support them while adjusting for rising costs.

Some expenses to consider include:

  • tuition fees and study materials

  • application fees

  • passport and visa-related costs

  • healthcare

  • travel and insurance

  • accommodation

  • cost of living per country

Most universities post their tuition fees online. These can be different if you're a foreign exchange or international student. Then there are other available resources, such as cost of living calculators, that will help you to estimate other student fees, accommodation, and options for financial aid.

Try the HSBC Expat education costs calculator.

How to budget for a study abroad

When setting a budget, some people prefer to seek professional advice.  An adviser should be able to show you a realistic trajectory for your savings over the period of time before your child's education begins, taking into account factors like inflation, interest and the unexpected. They can then work out a long-term savings plan with you, including loan options and repayment plans.

An education consultant with international experience should be able to help you calculate the cost of a study abroad. They can also help with admissions and exam preparations, career guidance and networking opportunities with alumni, as well as visa applications if you're going overseas.

Through HSBC Premier, you can get access to our global education consultants, who offer study abroad guidance in some of the most popular destinations for international students, including Canada, the US, the UK and Australia.

Learn more: How to choose the right university

Set financial goals

Having goals is a good way to focus on the things that are important to you when you're setting a budget for a study abroad. Ask yourself what you imagine your life to look like in 1, 5 or even 15 years. Knowing where you want to be will help you plan on how to get there.

Next, set a date to achieve your goals and post these reminders where you can see them. With your goals clearly identified, pay into your savings first every month with a standing instruction and watch your savings grow.

Plan early to save big and reduce stress

Doing some research and setting goals will give you a clearer idea of how much you'll need to budget for. Early financial planning can help parents manage the rising cost of education and limit the strain on family finances.

Studies show that there's a strong connection between one's physical and mental health, and financial wellness. Boosting one factor may lead to far-reaching improvements across the others.

Learn more: For better wealth, boost your health: HSBC study

How to pay for study abroad fees

Saving

The simplest way to save for your child's education is to place your funds in a savings account to accrue interest, with a flexible withdrawal period. The earlier you start to save, the earlier you'll receive interest returns.

You can expect savings to be:

  • low risk, but with lower returns

  • easy to manage without help

  • liquid

  • inexpensive

Investing

If there are still some years to go before your child starts school, consider investing for higher potential returns, in accordance with your preferences and risk appetite.* The longer you can leave your money invested, the more time it has to grow and ride out any bad periods along the way.

You might find investing to be:

  • higher risk, but with higher returns

  • difficult to do without help

  • harder to access, if you need the cash

  • good for saving long term

Insurance

There are a range of education insurance products that might suit your needs. You could choose a long-term universal life insurance plan that will mature when your child reaches a certain age, or allows you to withdraw cash early to cover things like school fees or tuition. Keep in mind that you may be charged if you withdraw money before the policy matures.

Not all savings and investment products are created equal. Past performance is no guide to future performance of the funds and you can lose money. As with any investments, shop around for the best interest return you can get for your money, or discuss this with a financial adviser.

Explore other ways to fund a study abroad

International students can typically apply for financial aid during the admissions process. Some of the main study abroad destinations offer helpful financial incentives, such as scholarships, grants and bursaries, for international students. A professional education consultant can help you navigate these options.

Other than loans and financial aid, to save money you can:

  • choose a country/region with the lowest cost of living

  • start at a community college (and finish your degree at university)

  • look into tuition-free universities

  • take a gap year and work

  • do an apprenticeship and get paid while you study

If your visa allows it, you may be able to work while you're studying. Planning longer term? Some countries also offer good post-study visas for graduates.

Learn more: Tips on applying for scholarships

Organise your overseas banking needs

If you don't want to worry about overseas transaction or withdrawal fees and will be banking in multiple currencies while studying abroad, consider getting your banking organised before you go. Not only that, many schools will require you to have a local bank account set up for tuition payments.

We can help you open an overseas account in more than 30 countries and regions around the world. In many cases, you'll have your ATM card, access to the local currency and a multi-currency debit or credit card ready to use. The HSBC Global View service lets you link your eligible HSBC accounts online so you can keep an eye on your finances back home and abroad. With Global Transfers, you can easily transfer money between your globally linked accounts.

Ready to open an overseas account?

We can tell you the best way for you to apply for an overseas account. Simply select your current location and where you would like to open an account. We'll then walk you through the steps.

Disclaimer

HSBC Holdings plc has prepared this article based on publicly available information at the time of preparation from sources it believes to be reliable but it has not independently verified such information. HSBC Holdings plc and the HSBC Group (together, "HSBC") are not responsible for any loss, damage, liabilities or other consequences of any kind that you may incur or suffer as a result of, arising from or relating to your use of or reliance on this article. The contents of this article are subject to change without notice. HSBC gives no guarantee, representation or warranty as to the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of this article.

 

This article is not investment advice or a recommendation nor is it intended to sell investments or services or solicit purchases or subscriptions. This article should not be used as the basis for any decision on taxation, estate, trusts or legacy planning. You should not use or rely on this article in making any investment decision. HSBC is not responsible for such use or reliance by you. Any market information shown refers to the past and should not be seen as an indication of future market performance. You should always consider seeking professional advice when thinking about undertaking any form of prime residential or commercial property purchase, sale or rental. You should consult your professional advisor in your jurisdiction if you have any questions regarding the contents of this article.

1 If Not Now, When? Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce analysis of data from the US Department of Education, Digest of Education Statistics.

* Investment involves risks. Past performance is no guide to future performance. Investors must refer to the respective fund's offering documents for further details of the fund and the risks involved.