主内容首部

到达目的地必做清单

刚到达目的地的海外留学生,须面对全新的环境,可能会感到不知所措。您只须参考我们的必做清单,便能在理财和校园生活等方面,逐步适应当地新生活。

1. 您准备好理财了吗?

您通常需要持有当地银行账户,才可交水电媒费用和电话费,而雇主也会要求通过银行账户支薪,所以您应优先安排好理财工具。如果您在出发前已申请开立海外账户,到达后可能须亲临当地分行,完成整个申办手续。

如果您开立的是汇丰海外账户,您的提款卡、提存资金的所有权限,以及多货币借记卡或信用卡,都会在您到达之前办妥。

事先掌握好理财,能助您减轻压力。如果您需要更多资讯,不妨参考我们的海外留学生5大理财建议,在留学时做好理财预算。

2. 汇款到您新开立的当地账户

汇款属于海外财务事项之一,理应在到达前办妥。您也许会担心汇款到海外,可能涉及隐藏费用或出现延误,其实不同的汇款机构或银行,所收取的费用和提供的服务也有分别,不妨作多比较。在许多情况下,您其实无需另觅汇款公司进行海外汇款,不少银行都提供同等服务,速度甚至更快,而且费用全免。

您可以通过汇丰环球转账功能,从您的账户往来转账到第三方的合资格汇丰账户,费用全免。只要汇率符合目标,您大可随时转账,无需在到达当地后才进行。

如想了解更多,请浏览环球转账页面。

如何设定环球转账功能进行海外汇款(短片只有英文版本)

3. 向领事馆或大使馆登记

此服务虽属自愿性质,但我们建议您在出发前先登记。如遇紧急情况例如自然灾害,当地的大使馆便能凭您所登记的资料与您联系,并向您发放重要的出行信息和建议。大使馆更可为您重新签发旅游证件,以及助您联系当地服务机构,包括医院诊所和法律援助。如您不幸成为罪案中的受害者,也能获得合适的支持。

4. 向警方登记

有些国家要求留学生向警方登记。以英国为例,学生必须在到达后7天内登记,否则可能面临巨额罚款甚至监禁。您的入境签证、生物特征居留证(BRP)或内政部申请批准函,会列明您是否需要在限期内向警方登记。目前有这个规定的国家和地区包括中国內地、香港、澳门、以色列、哥伦比亚和阿根廷。

此列表或会不时更改。请务必查看目的地家或地区的政府网站,以获取最新资讯。大学学生服务处可以帮助您向警方预约。有些学校甚至会在开学首周邀请警察进驻校园,以便学生登记。

5. 购买当地电话卡或手机

如果您的手机未绑定,大可以自由地选用任何电讯商,不妨多比较再决定。在加拿大,法例规定电讯商须解除您的手机绑定,并且不能出售已绑定的新手机。您甚至可以要求电讯商为您免费解除绑定加拿大手机,或者查询如何解除绑定。如果您在离开原居地之前未解除手机绑定,就可能会造成不便。

除非您打算使用储值手机服务,否则多数电讯商都要求您先提供当地的银行账户,才能办理合同。您不妨先到学校的学生服务处查看有否学生优惠,许多大学例如剑桥大学、伦敦国王学院和伦敦经济学院等,都参与了手机服务折扣计划。

6. 寻找合适医生

在英国,持有学生签证并修读超过6个月课程的海外学生享有国民保健服务(NHS)。您的大学可为您提供医生名单,我们建议您一到达目的地,便尽快前往您所选的医疗诊所登记。部分治疗未必在NHS保障之内,所以您应购买一份能涵盖NHS以外部分的旅游和健康保险。

在加拿大,为海外学生提供医疗保健的省份包括艾伯塔省(Alberta)、不列颠哥伦比亚省(British Columbia)、曼尼托巴省(Manitoba)和萨斯喀彻温省(Saskatchewan)。您无须在加拿大或美国向所选医生登记,但您须确认所选医生在您私人医疗保险的承保范围之内。

7. 购买交通卡

使用乘车证或智能交通卡出行会便宜很多,学生也通常享有优惠。在伦敦,您需要牡蛎卡(Oyster card)乘搭公共交通工具,包括地铁、公交车、水上公交船和大部分铁路服务。

加拿大多伦多有Metropass;澳大利亚悉尼有澳寶卡(Opal card);新加坡有易通卡(ez-link)。美国洛杉矶地区的運輸連接通(Transit Access Pass)现可在iPhone和Apple Watch上使用。纽约将在2023年之前淘汰旧有的MetroCard,并引入OMNY(One Metro New York卡)。

8. 为学生迎新周做好准备

迎新周的活动能让您向所属的学院展现自我,也是您熟悉校园环境和交朋结友的好机会。活动的内容通常丰富有趣,您还可以看看有什么学会或活动想参加,甚至可以考虑加入姊妹会或兄弟会。

学期的第一周或会让人手足无措,但请记住,其他学生都与您面对相同处境。根据汇丰对近900名海外学生的调查显示,92%的学生在出国留学期间曾经想家1。保持忙碌能有助排解情绪。您可浏览学校网站,或向学生服务中心查询有关迎新周的详情,以及其他海外学生所需信息。

打算开立海外账户?

我们可为您建议申请海外账户的最佳方法。在选择您的所在地,以及您有意开立海外账户的目的地后,我们会向您提供详细步骤。

1 海外留学︰顺利实现

Top of main content

Arriving at your destination: Your must-do list

As an international student arriving at your destination, you're bound to feel pretty overwhelmed. From figuring out your finances to meeting the faculty, follow these top tips to settle in to your new life abroad.

Is your banking in order?

Many utility and phone companies, as well as employers, will require you to have a local bank account, so make this your first stop. If you set up an overseas bank account before leaving home, you may still have to complete the application process by going into a branch in person.

If you opened an HSBC international bank account, everything will be ready for you even before you arrive. You'll have your ATM card, full access to funds, and a multi-currency debit or credit card ready to use. 

Being on top of your finances from the outset will help reduce any added stress you may have. Need more information? Check out our 5 money saving tips to stretch your budget while you're studying abroad.

Put some money in your new local account

Yes, technically this item should be crossed off your "before arriving" to-do list when you're setting up your finances abroad! Perhaps you've been wary of sending money overseas because of hidden transaction fees or inconvenient delays. Prices, as well as service, can vary so shop around. In many cases, you'll find you don't need to go through a separate money transfer company anymore to send money abroad. Some banks offer you the same service, sometimes faster and for free.

You can securely send money through HSBC's Global Transfers, for example, between your accounts and eligible third-party HSBC accounts, and there are zero transfer fees. If the exchange rate is good, you can choose when to send money – there's no need to wait until you're in the country to do that.

Find out more about HSBC Global Transfers.

How to set up Global Transfers to send money overseas

HSBC Global View and Global Transfers instructional video

Register with your consulate or embassy

This service is usually voluntary but it's recommended that you register before going abroad. Registering your details enables officials to contact you in case of emergency, such as a natural disaster, and provide you with important travel advisory information. Your embassy can also help to re-issue travel documents, put you in touch with local services, like medical or legal assistance, and provide support if you've been a victim of a crime.

Register with the police

Some countries require students to register with the police. In the UK, for example, students must register within 7 days of arrival or risk getting a hefty fine or even imprisonment. Your entry visa, biometric residence permit or Home Office application approval letter should state whether this applies to you. A few of the countries that require registration in the UK currently include mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau, Israel, Colombia and Argentina.

This list could change. Always check on your host country's government website for up-to-date information. Your university's student services offices can help you book an appointment with the police. Some schools will even have the police stationed on campus for the first week to help students register.

Buy a local SIM card or mobile phone

You can use any provider if your mobile phone is unlocked, so shop around. In Canada, providers are obligated by law to unlock your phone, and no new phones can be sold locked anymore. You can even have your (Canadian) phone unlocked for free or at least be given instructions on how to do so. If you forgot to unlock your phone before leaving home, you might be out of luck.

Unless you're planning to use a pay-as-you-go phone, most phone providers will require you to have a local bank account before they'll approve your contract. Your school's student services office might be the first place to look for student deals. There are a lot of universities, including the University of Cambridge, King's College London and the London School of Economics, that participate in mobile phone discount plans.

Find yourself a doctor

In the UK, international students who are on a Student visa and studying for more than 6 months are entitled to access to the National Health Service (NHS). Your university can give you a list of doctors to choose from, and you're advised to register with one as soon as you arrive. Some treatments are restricted on the NHS; good travel and health insurance should cover any shortfalls where the NHS doesn't cover you.

In Canada, provinces that offer international students healthcare include Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. You don't need to register for a doctor in Canada or the US, but you do need to confirm that your private health insurance will cover the doctor you choose.

Buy a transport card

It can be much cheaper getting around with a local travel pass or transport smartcard. Students usually get concessionary rates, too. In London, you'll want an Oyster card to travel on public transport such as the tube (the underground), buses, the river bus service, and most National Rail services.

In Canada, Toronto has the Metropass; Sydney, Australia has the Opal card; Singapore has ez-link; the regional Transit Access Pass (TAP) card is now available in Los Angeles on iPhones and Apple Watches; and New York is finally phasing out its old MetroCard entirely by 2023 and bringing in the OMNY – the One Metro New York card.

Prepare for student orientation week

These events are a great way to introduce yourself to the faculty, familiarise yourself with the campus and meet new people. They're informative and usually loads of fun. Here you'll see what clubs are on campus and which activities you might want to get involved in. You may even consider joining a sorority or fraternity house.

The first week might seem intimidating but remember: you and the other students are all in the same boat! In an HSBC survey of almost 900 international students, 92% said they've felt homesick at some point while studying abroad1. Keeping busy will help with that. Check on your school's website or ask student services for details on ''Fresher's Week'' and what to expect as an international student.

Ready to open an overseas account?

If you're looking to open an overseas account, then you can arrange a call back. One of our team will contact you at a convenient time to walk you through account opening process.

If you have any further questions, you can connect instantly to our customer service team through the 'Let's chat' button below.