主内容首部

世界各地医保体系

搬家已经很不容易了。搬到国外则更非易事。有些事情您可以提前安排,比如找一套公寓或者在搬家之前开立海外银行账户。在兴奋之余,千万别遗漏了其他重要事情,特别是医疗保险!

根据您在国外的具体情况,也许您在国内的保险计划可能已经足够覆盖。如果您打算在那里长期居住,确保您和您的家人在您的新家有充分的保险。在某些情况下,公共系统会为您提供充分的保险。在其他情况下,您需要从一开始就为自己购买私人保险。

以下是对加拿大、澳大利亚、新加坡、英国和美国医保体系的比较。

澳大利亚:公共和私营部门相结合的医保

所有的从业者都要向Medicare支付一定比例的工资,所支付的费用取决于年龄和收入。1这使澳大利亚人可以在公共系统中获得医生、专家、医院福利和门诊治疗,而不必支付自费或免赔金额。

政府还鼓励澳大利亚人用私人医保单来补充他们的医疗保险。这样就可覆盖Medicare保单不包含的大额医疗账单、重大医疗急诊和治疗中的自付费用。

如果您搬到澳大利亚,除了医保体系之外,可能也有其他跟国内不同之处

加拿大:政府出资的全民医保体系

加拿大的全民医保体系Medicare是由政府出资的医疗系统。在一项全国性的民意调查中,94%的加拿大人认为它是国家的骄傲和社会的支柱。2无论其收入、社会经济地位或购买保险与否,所有公民都能获得高质量的医疗保险服务。

这项单一付款人计划于20世纪60年代被采纳,并于1984年在全联邦实施。这是一个基于需求而非财富的系统,由单一中央机构决定价格并处理医疗服务账单。

但另一方面,非必要手术和治疗的待诊时间往往很长,药品也可能非常昂贵:加拿大是唯一提供全民医保但不“药物保险”的国家。虽然加拿大人可以轻松地去看医生,但他们按医嘱配药可能比较困难。

新加坡:全民医疗保险

新加坡是医疗保险水准最高的国家之一。与英国的全国医疗服务体系(NHS)一样,新加坡由公共出资的全国医保计划(NHP)旨在“普遍”惠及每个人。由于符合条件的从业者的工资强制性地向中央公积金(CPF)缴款,这些居民可以获得负担得起的医疗服务。

然而,这只适用于新加坡公民和永久居民。如果您是一位外籍人士,由于您不必向CPF缴款,所以不能享受NHP。外籍人士必须用现金支付医疗服务费用。

您的工作可能有医疗保险和福利,但这在很大程度上取决于您的雇主和移民身份。如果您负担得起私人保险,通常便能借此享用顶级的医院和医疗保健服务。

英国:国家出资的医保体系

自1948年以来,英国国民医疗服务体系(NHS)为在英国的所有人提供了全民医保。病人可以在任何公共医疗保健机构获得医生、护士、助产士和牙医的服务。

[NHS]将为您提供所有的医疗、牙科和护理服务。每个人,无论贫富、男女或孩子,都可以享受其中的服务······你们作为纳税人都为这个系统支付了费用,它将减轻你们生病时对医疗费用的担忧。

                                                              《新国家医疗服务体系》,卫生部,1948年3

英国公民和外籍人士可以购买私人保险,作为独立保险或作为NHS服务的补充。和新加坡一样,支付私人保险可以让您获得更优质的服务,并帮助您跳过公共系统的排队时间。

即使是国际学生,在申请签证时支付医保附加费后,也会被纳入英国的公共医保体系。

美国:没有全民医保

政府为穷人、退伍军人、老年人和残疾人等提供医疗保险计划。许多雇主(或第三方保险公司)为外籍人士提供保险。美国也推出了《平价医疗法案》(ACA,简称“奥巴马医改”),旨在为每一个没有医保的美国人提供医疗保障。那些选择不参加任何医疗保险计划的人可能会面临基于其收入的年度罚款。

我们如何为您提供帮助?

医保因您居住的地方而异,所以在您出国之前确保您有医疗保险很重要。汇丰可为您的移居之旅提供量身定制的服务,包括为您的家人寻找住处、挑选最佳保险、提供专业的环球银行服务等,一应俱全。

祝您顺利移居,身体健康。

有疑问?

欢迎咨询我们的顾问。

1https://startstoday.hsbc.com.au/wellbeing/health-is-wealth-when-it-comes-to-your-future

2Canada’s health-care system is a point of national pride. https://www.washingtonpost.com

3What is the NHS?

Top of main content
Girl distracts sister while doctor performs checkup; image used for HSBC International Services life abroad article Healthcare systems around the world.

Healthcare systems around the world

Moving house is already difficult. Moving abroad ramps things up tenfold. Some things you can organise ahead of time, like searching for an apartment or opening an overseas bank account before you move. In all the excitement, you may have overlooked a few other important things. Hopefully your medical insurance wasn't one of them!

Depending on the details of your stay abroad, you may still be covered by your country's plan. If you're going to be settling in for longer, make sure you and your family have adequate coverage in your new home. In some cases, the public system will take you a long way. In others, you'll need your own private coverage right from the start.

Here's a comparison of health systems in Canada, Australia, Singapore, the UK and the US so you can see just how differently things work around the world.

Australia: hybrid of public and private sector healthcare

All workers pay a percentage of their wages to Medicare, and these contributions depend on age and earnings.1 This gives Australians access to doctors, specialists, hospital benefits and outpatient treatments in the public system, without having to pay co-payments or deductibles.

The government also encourages Australians to supplement their healthcare with private health insurance policies. This then covers co-payments for large medical bills, major medical emergencies and treatments that aren't covered under the Medicare policy.

If you're moving to Australia, the healthcare system might not be the only thing that's different.

Canada: universal, publicly funded health system

In a national poll, 94% of Canadians considered Medicare – their universal, publicly funded healthcare system – a source of national pride and a pillar of society.2 Regardless of their income, socioeconomic status or insurance (or lack of), all citizens have access to quality healthcare.

This single-payer plan was adopted in the 1960s and implemented at the federal level in 1984. It's a system based on needs, and not wealth, and one central body decides the prices and deals with the billing of services.

On the flip side, there are often long waiting lists for non-essential surgeries and treatments. Medication can also be very expensive: Canada is the only country with universal healthcare but no ''pharmacare''. While Canadians can go to the doctor, they may have trouble filling that prescription.

Singapore: universal health insurance for all

Singapore is ranked among the top countries for providing excellent healthcare standards. Like the UK's National Health Service (NHS), Singapore's publicly funded National Healthcare Plan (NHP) aims to be "universally" available to everyone. Thanks to mandatory contributions from eligible employees' salaries into the Central Provident Fund (CPF), those same residents have access to affordable healthcare services.

However, this is only available for Singapore citizens and permanent residents. If you're an expat, since you don't have to contribute to the CPF, you can't access the NHP. Expats must pay for their healthcare services in cash.

You may have health insurance and benefits with your job, but this largely depends on your employer and immigration status. If you can afford it, private insurance will often give you access to top-notch hospitals and medical care.

United Kingdom: state-funded healthcare system

The National Health Service system (NHS) has provided universal coverage for everyone in the UK for over 70 years. Patients have access to doctors, nurses, midwives and dentists at any public healthcare facility.

''[The NHS] will provide you with all medical, dental, and nursing care. Everyone – rich or poor, man, woman or child – can use it or any part of it ...You are all paying for it, mainly as taxpayers, and it will relieve your money worries in time of illness.''

New National Health Service, Ministry of Health, 19483

UK citizens and expats may buy private insurance, either as a stand-alone or as a supplement to the NHS services. Like in Singapore, paying for private insurance can give you access to better services and help you skip the queues of the public system.

Even international students can access the public healthcare system in the UK after paying a healthcare surcharge as part of their visa application.

United States: no universal healthcare

The government provides health insurance plans to individuals such as the underprivileged, veterans, the elderly and the disabled. Many employers (or third-party insurers) cover expats. The Affordable Care Act (ACA) (commonly known as ''Obamacare'') was created to provide healthcare to every uninsured American. Those who choose to not have any medical insurance plan risk facing an annual fine based on their income.

How we can help you

Healthcare can vary greatly depending on where you live so it's important to make sure you're covered before you move. At HSBC, we offer tailored services to help you with your relocation journey, from finding a home and the best coverage for your family to seamless global banking.

Good luck, and stay well.

Learn more about our international services

1Health is wealth when it comes to your future

2Canada’s health-care system is a point of national pride. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2018/02/23/canadas-health-care-system-is-a-point-of-national-pride-but-a-study-shows-it-might-be-stalled/

3What is the NHS?