主內容首部

5大海外轉賬安全貼士和1個注意事項

想知道轉賬到海外的最佳方法?以下是海外轉賬實用貼士,助您輕鬆辦妥。

在2000年,全球的國際匯款總額估計高達1,260億美元。到2020年,總額達到6,890億美元,可見儘管受新冠疫情及全球失業率飆升影響1,其上升勢頭仍保持強勁。印度和中國內地是近十幾年來,接收最多海外匯款的地方,而美國則為全球最排名最高的資金匯出國1

無論是從哪裡轉賬到哪裡,貨幣波動和轉賬速度都是考慮因素,亦需要同時顧及費用、安全和便利度。究竟轉賬到海外的最佳方法是甚麼?

1. 選擇最適合您的服務

匯款方式有很多,包括銀行匯票、電匯、匯款單或網上匯款。如您只是偶爾轉賬,可能不會對轉賬的方式特別挑剔。在面對眾多選擇時,您應優先考慮您最大的需要。有些方法雖然較便利,但需時較長;有些方法可能涉及更高費用,但到賬時間較快。無論您的需要是甚麼,都應選用信譽良好、值得信賴的機構。

如果您需要定期將資金轉移到海外多個地點,選用一間可以滿足您所有財務需要的機構可能會更方便。滙豐的廣闊銀行網絡,讓您向全球200多個國家和地區,匯出超過40種不同的貨幣。

2. 查看匯率和費用

外幣匯率是將資金從一種貨幣兌換成另一種貨幣時的匯率。匯率會隨時間波動,亦可能會因您選用的兌換銀行或機構而有所差別。自然災害或國家元首變動等的世界大事,都有可能影響全球貨幣市場。例如,當2016年宣布英國將退出歐盟時,英鎊兌美元在一夜之間便下跌了10%2。利率和通貨膨脹亦影響匯率升跌。就算是細微的變化,也可能會帶來巨大的差別,當您需要轉移大筆資金時就要特別留意。

如果轉賬費用是您最大的考慮,不妨比較不同的服務機構,因為各機構的收費設定可能不盡相同。在計算海外轉賬的總費用時,您須查詢:

  • 資金是否以即時匯率兌換

  • 您將被收取哪些費用(包括預付費用和隱藏費用)

  • 收款人將在其銀行戶口中實際收到的金額

滙豐環球轉賬讓您以即時匯率,轉賬大部分貨幣。在合資格滙豐戶口之間轉賬,更毋須任何費用。對於設有在岸交易規定的國家和地區,因為只能在款項到達收款銀行時才能進行兌換,所以我們會為您提供參考匯率。在進行轉賬前,應全面比較不同機構,考慮匯率及轉賬涉及的所有費用,以找出收款人將收到的實際金額。

了解更多:7個省錢外匯貼士

3. 安排您的轉賬時間

妥善規劃海外轉賬,可讓您免受貨幣波動的影響。轉賬時間安排得宜,可助您保持資金價值。匯出或受款地區的銀行假期、公眾假期和宗教假期,都可能會延誤您的轉賬,或令您錯失以最有利匯率兌換的時機。周末是最不利轉賬的時間,因為各地市場都不會運作。但請注意,周末不一定指星期六、日;在埃及等穆斯林國家,工作時間為星期日至四。

匯率和貨幣波動會影響您的海外投資。如果您將貶值的本地貨幣,兌換成較強勢的外幣來還款,您的海外按揭還款額將更高昂。因此,當您打算申請海外按揭時,必須仔細考慮各個因素。

4. 再三確認所需的轉賬資料

P2P支付或電子錢包多數只需要手機號碼或電郵地址就能使用,但收款人未必能登入您所使用的服務。選用電匯?輸入錯誤的資料可令轉賬延誤,甚至存入其他人的戶口。在2021年1月,美國國家稅務局向無效或已關閉的戶口繳付了超過1,300萬筆政府刺激措施款項3

因此,您必須再三檢查轉賬資料!

如果不小心將錢匯給了錯誤的收款人,應立即聯絡您的銀行或轉賬機構。滙豐客戶有長達36個月的時間提出索回申請,但越早提出申請,您獲得退款的機會就越大。

本地和海外轉賬字眼因國家和地區而異。了解轉賬術語可減少轉賬時出錯的機會,避免招來重大損失。

5. 提防轉賬詐騙

選擇服務時,除了考慮您的需要外,亦要確保該機構值得信賴。如果服務內容太美好,其實很有可能是陷阱。

以下情況可能是轉賬詐騙的跡象:

  • 被要求透過不尋常的方式匯款

  • 催促您匯出款項

  • 要求您提供密碼或個人資料

  • 傳送QR code,要求您批准收款請求

  • 為轉移大量資金提供佣金

如果您選用的並非銀行,應仔細檢查該轉賬機構是否獲監管機構,例如英國金融行為監管局、美國消費者金融保護局,或加拿大金融消費者管理局的認可。

滙豐為您提供最新的詐騙提示,和網上安全指南。

6. 切勿郵寄現金

最重要的是:與銀行轉賬不同,郵寄現金一旦丟失,將無法追蹤。雖然在美國,郵寄款項並非違法,但絕不建議。大多數速遞服務亦不會送遞現金。如果您想在送生日卡時加點心意,不妨選用支票或匯款單,以便追蹤款項。

需要轉賬到海外?

滙豐環球賬戶服務及環球轉賬讓您連結各地所有合資格滙豐戶口,以進行快速、安全且免費的國際轉賬,金額每天最高可達20萬美元(或等值貨幣)。

進一步了解我們的環球銀行服務

免責聲明

滙豐控股有限公司基於其認為可靠的公開資料編寫本文,但並未獨立核實此等資訊。滙豐控股有限公司和滙豐集團(統稱「滙豐」)對您因使用或依賴本文而可能招致或遭受的任何損失、損害、責任或其他任何形式的後果概不負責。本文內容如有更改,恕不另行通知。滙豐不對本文的準確性、及時性或完整性作任何陳述或保證。

 

本文並非投資建議或推薦,也無意出售投資或服務或招攬購買或認購。本文不應用作任何有關稅收、遺產、信託或遺產規劃決定的基礎。您不應使用或依賴本文來作出任何投資決定;滙豐不對此類使用或依賴負責。本文所展示的任何市場資訊均為過去資訊,不應被視為未來市場表現的指標。每當進行任何形式的優質住宅或商業物業購買、出售或出租前,您都應考慮尋求專業意見。如果您對本文的內容有任何疑問,請向您所在地區的專業顧問查詢。

1 2020年聯合國世界移民報告:移民和匯款數據

2 IG Online:英國脫歐以來英鎊的價值

3 irs.gov新聞室(2021年1月):經濟影響支付最新消息

Top of main content

5 tips for safely sending money abroad (and one thing to avoid)

How do you make the most out of your money when sending it abroad? Here's a checklist for a worry-free overseas money transfer experience every time.

In 2000, we sent an estimated USD126 billion in international remittances. By 2020, this figure reached USD689 billion, staying strong despite the coronavirus pandemic and a spike in global unemployment. 1 India and mainland China have had the largest intake of foreign remittance for more than 10 years now, and people are sending more money from the US than any other country in the world.1

No matter where you're sending your money to or from, we often share the same concerns about currency fluctuations and the transfer speed. There's also the cost, security and convenience to think about. So how do you make sure you get the most out of your money when sending it abroad?

1. Choose the option that's best for you

Bank draft, wire transfer, money order or online remittance – for the occasional transfer, you might not be fussy with how you send your money. There are many options but you should prioritise what's important to you. Some methods are easier but take longer. Some are more expensive but get there quicker. Always ensure you use a reputable, trusted provider.

If you know you're going to be transferring funds to multiple locations overseas on a regular basis, it may be more convenient to use just one service that can cover all of your financial requests, such as your bank. HSBC's extensive correspondent banking network, for example, enables you to send more than 40 different currencies to over 200 countries and territories worldwide.

2. Check the exchange rate and fees

The foreign exchange rate is the rate applied when you convert money from one currency to another. Exchange rates move up and down over time and can vary depending on which bank, or company, you use to make the exchange. Global events, such as natural disasters or changes in leadership, can affect worldwide currency markets. For example, when it was announced in 2016 that the UK would be exiting the European Union, the pound sterling dropped 10% against the US dollar overnight.2 Interest rates and inflation can also influence exchange rates. Even small variations can quickly make a big difference, especially when transferring large sums.

If the cost of the transfer is your biggest priority, consider comparing several providers: costs may differ because providers each set their own fees. When calculating the total cost of your overseas money transfer, ask:

  • if you're getting the real-time exchange rate
  • which fees you'll be charged (both upfront and the ones you can't see)
  • how much the recipient will receive in their bank account
     

HSBC Global Transfers allows you to make transfers for most currencies at real-time exchange rates. Not only that, there are no fees for transferring money between eligible HSBC accounts. For countries and regions with onshore trading regulations, we give an indicative rate as the exchange can only take place when the transfer reaches the receiving bank. Check the amount being received by the payee, including the rate and fees, to ensure a full comparison is gained before making a decision to send your funds with the provider.

Learn more: 7 essential FX tips to save you money

3. Time your transfers

Protect yourself from currency volatility by planning your international money transfers. If you time it right, your money will go further. Bank, public and religious holidays can delay your transfers, which might mean you lose out on that favourable exchange rate. This goes for both the sending and receiving country. The worst time to exchange is on the weekends because markets around the world are closed. But remember: weekends don't always fall on a Saturday and Sunday! Some Muslim countries, like the UAE, Egypt and Bahrain, operate on a Sunday to Thursday work week.

Exchange rate and currency fluctuations can affect your overseas investments. Your international mortgage could become a lot dearer if you are converting your devalued home currency into a stronger foreign currency to cover the payments. These are just a few of things to consider when you are financing an overseas property.

4. Confirm you have all the information needed (twice)

Peer-to-peer payments or digital wallets may only require a phone number or email but compatibility issues can lead to problems. The recipient may not be able to access the service you're using. Making a wire transfer? Inputting the wrong information can lead to delays. Even worse, your money may end up in someone else's account: in January 2021, the US Internal Revenue Service sent over 13 million government stimulus payments to invalid or closed accounts. 3

Double check those details!

If you accidentally send money to the wrong recipient, contact your bank or the service provider immediately. If you are an HSBC customer, you may have up to 36 months to make a claim, but the sooner you do it the better chance you'll have of getting your money back.

Domestic and international transfer terms vary by country and region. Knowing your jargon will make sending money easier. It may also help you avoid making simple but costly mistakes.

5. Beware of transfer scams

Along with finding a service that meets all your needs, make sure the provider is trustworthy, too. If something seems too good to be true, it probably is.

It might be a sign of a transfer scam if you are:

  • asked to wire your money through unusual means 
  • rushed into parting with your money
  • asked for your passwords or personal information
  • sent a QR code asking you to approve a "collect" request
  • offered a commission to move large amounts of money
     

If you're not using your bank, take the time to check that the transfer company is authorised by a regulatory agency, such as the Financial Conduct Authority (UK); the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (US); or the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.

With HSBC, you can stay up-to-date on the latest scam warnings and online security usage guidelines.

6. Don't send cash in the mail

Saving the best – or the worst, really – for last. Unlike a bank transfer, there's no way of tracing this money once it goes missing. It's not illegal in the US to send your money through the post but you're advised not to. Most couriers won't deliver the cash for you either. If you do feel like slipping something into a birthday card, write a cheque or make it a money order instead. At least that way it can be traced.

Do you need to send money overseas?

HSBC Global View and Global Transfers is a unique service that allows you to link your eligible worldwide HSBC accounts to make quick, secure and no-fee global money transfers of up to USD200,000 (or the currency equivalent) per day.

To see if you're eligible for HSBC Global Transfers, arrange a call back for more information or for help in opening an overseas account.

Arrange a call back

 

1 Migration and Remittances Data, UN World Migration Report 2020
2 Value of the pound since Brexit, IG online
3 Update on Economic Impact Payments, irs.gov Newsroom. January 2021

Disclaimer

HSBC Holdings plc has prepared this article based on publicly available information at the time of preparation from sources it believes to be reliable but it has not independently verified such information. HSBC Holdings plc and the HSBC Group (together, "HSBC") are not responsible for any loss, damage, liabilities or other consequences of any kind that you may incur or suffer as a result of, arising from or relating to your use of or reliance on this article. The contents of this article are subject to change without notice. HSBC gives no guarantee, representation or warranty as to the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of this article.

 

This article is not investment advice or a recommendation nor is it intended to sell investments or services or solicit purchases or subscriptions. This article should not be used as the basis for any decision on taxation, estate, trusts or legacy planning. You should not use or rely on this article in making any investment decision. HSBC is not responsible for such use or reliance by you. Any market information shown refers to the past and should not be1 seen as an indication of future market performance. You should always consider seeking professional advice when thinking about undertaking any form of prime residential or commercial property purchase, sale or rental. You should consult your professional advisor in your jurisdiction if you have any questions regarding the contents of this article.