主内容首部

性格和择业

想投身能一展抱负的职业,除了兴趣之外,也须考虑是否适合自己的性格,因为您的兴趣和长处未必一样。

古希腊哲学家兼医师希波克拉底(Hippocrates)认为我们的性格分为4种:脾气暴躁、喜怒无常、充满自信和谨言慎行。

几个世纪后,瑞士精神科医生卡尔.荣格(Carl Jung)提出,我们的性格分为情感、直觉、思考和感觉型;而佛洛伊德(Sigmund Freud)则指出塑造性格的,是想基本所需所愿能获得满足的欲望。

这些资讯和择业有什么关系呢?

性格测试助您择业

性格测试能助您了解自己的优点和缺点,以及找出主导的性格特征。根据结果而立即决定职业路向似乎太早,但先掌握基本概念,有助您选择主修专业,其后再继续发展事业。

MBTI性格测试

MBTI性格测试按照卡尔.荣格的理论设计,将性格分为16个类型,助您了解哪种工作环境最适合您的性格类型,并找出您建立人际关系的方式,让您在择业时缩小范围。无论您是学生,还是正在考虑转行的人士,均可参考MBTI测试结果。做MBTI测试所需的费用约50美元,但网上也有类似的免费测试。

https://www.16personalities.com/

大五人格测试

大五人格理论指出,我们在职场中展现的特点,其实是建基于五大性格范畴。这些因素决定您如何对事情做出反应,测试结果以分数表示。与大部分性格测试一样,结果取决于受试者对大五人格标签的解读。测试共有120条题目,过程需时约10至15分钟。

https://bigfive-test.com/

霍兰德职业兴趣测试(RIASEC)

霍兰德职业兴趣测试根据您是否喜欢48项不同的工作,找出最合适您的职业,并将您分类为:现实型、研究型、艺术型、社会型、企业型或传统型。

这个测试同样设有免费线上版本,但如想查看完整报告的话,便须付约20美元。

https://www.truity.com/test/holland-code-career-test

Caliper Profile测试

有近60年历史的Caliper,以180道关乎认知和行为的自我评估多项选择题,在约2小时的测试时间内,从您的答案中找出规律。测试过程颇为有趣,测试结果也可能准确得匪夷所思,但测试的准确度并不稳定,题目有时也不容易回答。

https://calipercorp.com/caliper-profile/

性格测试的结果

这些测试的结果不会百分百准确,因为每套理论的特点不一,而不同人对相同的理论也可以有各种各样的解读。

这些测试是评估自己长处和短处的众多工具之一,您可能会有意想不到的发现,也许能助您选择合适的主修学科,最终投身能让您大展抱负的职业。测试过程有趣,更能让您发掘到自己未知的一面,一试无妨。

需要更贴心的个人服务?

通过线上测试来决定人生路向,未必最适合您。向专业教育顾问咨询,可能对您更有帮助。

进一步了解我们的海外升学、生活和工作环球银行服务

Top of main content
Young woman winking and pointing; image used for HSBC international services Study abroad article Personalities and career choice.

Your personality and career choice

The key to a fulfilling career is not always just passion. It also requires understanding your personality traits. You know what you like to do, but what would you be good at? These are not always one and the same.

The ancient Greek philosopher and physician Hippocrates suggested our personality depends on one of four temperaments: hot tempered, moody, confident or slow to act.

Centuries later, Swiss psychiatrist Carl Jung suggested that our temperaments fall under the categories of sensation, intuition, thinking and feeling. Sigmund Freud proposed our desire to satisfy our most basic needs and wants drives our personality.

How does this all relate to choosing and building a career?

Four personality test to help you determine career paths

Personality tests can help you uncover your strengths and weaknesses, and which of your characteristics are the most dominant. Deciding on careers may seem a bit far away, but having a sound idea can help you choose a major, and subsequently your path down the line.

For more conventional methods for determining your career path, see 9 things every college student should do before graduation.

The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator® (MBTI) assessment

With MBTI, you can narrow down your career path based on the 16 possibly personality types that follow Carl Jung's theory. The test can help you to understand what workplace environment is best for your personality type and determine how you relate to people. MBTI is good for all career stages, no matter if you're going through university or making late-in-life career changes. While actual MBTI test costs about USD50, there a few free ones online based on the same theory.

https://www.16personalities.com/

The Big 5 Personality Test

Big 5 theory states our personalities are based on five elements that remain relatively stable throughout our careers. These elements determine how you respond to stimuli and results are on a scale. As with most personality tests, the results depend on the respondent's interpretation of the Big 5 labels. This test takes about 10-15 minutes to complete 120 questions.

https://bigfive-test.com/

Holland Code (RIASEC) Career test

This personality test determine your best career paths on 48 tasks that you either like or dislike. At the end, your profile will fall within one of the six personalities: realistic (doers), investigative (thinkers), artistic (creators), social (helpers), enterprising (persuaders) and conventional (organisers).

Like the MBTI test, the RIASEC can be taken online for free but the full report will cost you about USD20.

https://www.truity.com/test/holland-code-career-test

The Caliper Profile

The Caliper has been around for almost 60 years. Based on 180 ''self-assessment'' multiple choice questions, the test takes about 2 hours to complete. The test focuses on cognitive and behavioural questions that aim to find patterns in your answers.These tests can be fun and sometimes eerily spot on, but results can change and some users have said the questions are often difficult to answer.

https://calipercorp.com/caliper-profile/

The verdict on personality tests

These tests are never going to be fully accurate. Every theory is different and every respondent could interpret it a different way.

Consider the tests to be one of many tools that will help you gauge your strengths and weaknesses. What you discover might surprise you. Maybe it will put you on the right study path and eventually a fulfilling and enjoyable career. No matter what, you'll learn something new about yourself, or at least be entertained for an hour or so.

Looking for something a little more personal?

Maybe taking online tests to determine what you'll do for the rest of your life isn't your style. You might find talking to a professional education consultant more helpful. 

Learn more about our international services for studying, living and working abroad.