主內容首部

留學生鍾情紐約的原因

為甚麼留學生都如此鍾情於紐約?全因他們與每年6,200萬名的到訪遊客1一樣,深受當地的文化、娛樂、美食等吸引。

鍾情紐約的8大理由

1. 方便學生

在2019/2020學年,在美國的留學生人數已連續5年超過100萬。紐約大學的留學生人數更屬全美之冠,而哥倫比亞大學則名列第四2

STEM是最熱門的修讀範疇,超過21%的海外學生修讀工程學3。想成為名人的學妹學弟嗎?普林斯頓大學雖位於新澤西州,但距離紐約市僅兩小時車程,校友包括亞馬遜的Jeff Bezos、前第一夫人米歇爾,還有《大亨小傳》的作者F. Scott Fitzgerald等。

2. 美食之都

紐約有超過75間米芝蓮星級餐廳,但著名的不止高級佳餚;一些日常的地道美食亦非常受歡迎,甚至被冠以「紐約」二字,自成一大美食類別。

紐約芝士蛋糕、紐約煙燻牛肉三文治、紐約貝果、紐約薄餅和曼克頓周打蜆湯等隨處可見,而且既美味又便宜,符合學生的消費水平。

3. 生活便利

如果您的學業繁重,沒空在商店營業時間內購物,不用擔心,因為您隨時都可買到寵物狗鞋仔、耳塞和窩夫機,貨品更可在一小時內送到府上。餐廳、便利店和咖啡店,總有一間在左近,非常方便;而且很多食肆和服裝店都提供學生折扣,只須出示大學學生證便可享有。

4. 博物館和文化

超過100間博物館林立於紐約,當中很多以自由捐款代替定額的入場費。此外,只須持有紐約公共圖書館卡,便可免費參觀數十間博物館和文化機構,當然還可借閱美國最大型的公共圖書館系統中超過5,500萬本藏書。省下來的錢,可以買非常多的貝果和芝士蛋糕!

5. 公園處處

中央公園雖是世界最大的城市公園之一,但論面積,在紐約也僅居第五;紐約最大的公園是位於布朗克斯(Bronx)的佩勒姆灣公園(Pelham Bay Park),佔地廣達2,765英畝。

紐約的布鲁克林(Brooklyn)、曼克頓(Manhattan)、布朗克斯(Bronx)、皇后區(Queens)和史丹頓島(Staten Island)五大行政區共有多達1,700個公園。相比洛杉磯只有6.7%的綠色空間,紐約的綠色空間多達約27%,讓居民能時刻置身於大自然氣息之中。

這些公園不只是野餐熱點,在夏天還會舉行電影放映會、節慶活動和露天音樂會;在冬天則會變成溜冰場、雪橇場和冰上保齡球場。

6. 優質學校遍布各區

紐約提供四年學位課程的大學比其他美國州份多。當中尤以位於曼克頓中心地帶的紐約大學,堪稱城中典範。這所大學就如紐約一樣,世界聞名,兼容多元文化,並提供大量的交流機會。

以學生人數而論,紐約大學確實是市內最大規模的大學,但如果您想要較「傳統」的學院體驗,例如聯誼會堂或車尾派對等,這所大學就未必能滿足您的期望。

如果您選擇紐約作為留學目的地,不妨參考我們包括美國在內的一系列留學清單,助您作好萬全準備。如有意前往加拿大英國澳洲留學,我們亦備有這些國家的留學清單。

7. 踏足金融中心

紐約雲集幾乎所有大型金融機構,舉世聞名的華爾街亦位於市內,薪酬水平更比其他州份高。所以,如果您有意成為交易員、投資銀行家,或渴望能賺取更多金錢,紐約是您一展抱負的好地方。

大企業每年都會到訪頂尖大學數次,招聘有潛質的學生當實習生。您將來或會轉往其他地方發展事業,但如果能在紐約累積工作經驗,定能讓您的履歷生色不少。

8. 交通便捷

如果您是駕車人士,可能會使用應用程式尋找停車場,甚至預留泊車位,但住在紐約的其中一大優點,就是您根本毋須駕車。

紐約的鐵路和巴士系統既便宜又環保,方便您到處觀光之餘,更是每天廿四小時運作。如果您是消費能力有限的學生,便十分適合。

單車、電車、三輪車甚至是步行皆是不錯的選擇。趕時間的話,您亦可以像當地人一樣選乘黃色的士;如您已登車,司機不得拒載。

準備好開立海外戶口?

在海外留學時,如開立當地銀行戶口,能助您更輕鬆地理財。不妨留下詳細資料,讓我們知道您所需,助您開立海外戶口

1 滙豐銀行和萊坊:紐約城市概覽和住宅買家指南

2 移民政策研究所(2021年):美國國際學生

3 Study International︰美國國際學生人數的變化

Top of main content
group of international students laying on the grass in Central Park; image used for HSBC International Services Study Abroad article, Why students love NYC

Why overseas students love NYC

Why do students love studying in New York so much? For the same reasons 62 million tourists1 also flock to the city each year: the culture, the entertainment, the eateries, and everything in between.

8 reasons to love NYC

1. Student friendly

The 2018/2019 school year saw over 1 million foreign students studying in the United States for the 4th consecutive year. New York University hosted the most international students of any university in the US, with Columbia University a close fourth.2

STEM is the most popular field of study, with over 21% of international students studying engineering3. Fancy following in the footsteps of someone famous? Princeton University's alumni includes Jeff Bezos of Amazon; First Lady Michelle Obama; and Great Gatsby novelist F. Scott Fitzgerald. Okay, Princeton is technically in New Jersey, but it's just a 2-hour commute from the Big Apple.

2. Good grub

New York now has more than 75 Michelin-starred restaurants, but it offers far more than just fine dining. In fact the everyday meal options are so popular that a whole genre is named after the city.

You're never far from New York cheesecake, New York pastrami sandwiches, New York bagels, New York pizza and Manhattan clam chowder. In addition to being delicious, they're all friendly to a student budget.

3. Convenience

You can buy dog booties, ear plugs and a waffle maker any time of day, and have them delivered to you within the hour, if that's your thing. Walk out your front door and you'll find a deli, bodega (local corner store) and coffee shop, usually within a block or two.

This is super convenient if you're a busy student with no time to buy your waffle iron during regular daylight hours. Plus, many restaurants and clothing stores offer student discounts if you flash your university-issued ID.

4. Museums and culture

There are over 100 museums in New York, and many entrance fees are by donation. With a New York Public Library card, you can get into dozens of museums and cultural institutions for free – not to mention access to over 55 million items at the largest public library system in the US. Think of all the bagels and cheesecake you can splurge on with the money you save.

5. The parks

Central Park is one of the biggest urban parks in the world, but it's only the fifth-largest in New York (that honour goes to Pelham Bay Park in the Bronx, at 2,765 acres).

There are 1,700 other parks spread out over the 5 boroughs of Brooklyn, Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens, and Staten Island. Compared to Los Angeles, with a mere 6.7% of green space, New York residents are practically wallowing in nature with an estimated 27% of the city dedicated to green space.

These parks provide more than just a place to picnic. Expect film screenings, festivals and outdoor concerts in the summer and ice skating rinks, sledding and ice bowling in the winter.

6. Good schools in every borough

There are more four-year degree programme universities in New York than any other US state. You can't get any more urban than NYU, right in the heart of Manhattan. Just like the city it calls home, it's world-class and multicultural, with loads of networking opportunities.

While this is the city's largest university by student population, if you're looking for "traditional" college experiences, like frat houses or tailgating parties, this is not the school for you.

If you've chosen New York as your educational destination, get yourself organised with our series of checklists, starting with the United States. Looking into an international education in Canada, the United Kingdom or Australia? We have checklists for them, too.

7. Get a foot in the (financial) door

Everybody knows Wall Street. If you're an aspiring trader, investment banker, or you just love money, New York is where it's at. Almost every large financial institution has a presence in New York and incomes tend to be higher here than other states.

Big companies visit the top university campuses a few times a year, offering internships to promising recruits. You may move on to other markets, but working in New York will always be a great entry on your CV.

8. Getting around

If you drive, there are apps that help you locate parking lots and even book a spot for you in advance. But one of the best things about the city is that you don't actually need a car.

This is a great, especially if you're a student on a budget. New York's rail and bus system is cheap, environmentally friendly, and a great way to see sights, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Getting around by bike, tram, pedicab or walking are also good options, or you could hail a yellow cab if you're feeling flush. Be like a local and just hop in. The cabby can't say no to you if you're already in the car.

Ready to open an overseas account?

When studying abroad, it's easier to manage your finances if you have a bank account already set up in your host country. Leave your details to let us know what you're looking for. We'll aim to call you on your preferred date and time.