主内容首部

毕业后投入环球就业市场

我认识的大部分成功专业人士都同意,毕业后选对第一份工作非常重要;而且,对自己的了解越深,择业就越容易。尽早开始探索自我,是选对工作的秘诀。不过,说时容易做时难,寻找自我往往需要付出不少功夫,但辛苦绝对值得。以下建议能助您迈出第一步。

认识自我

作出任何左右人生的决定之前,应先深入了解自己。完成高等教育后,身份由学生变成专业人士,就是人生其中一个巨大的转变。

大学毕业后决定投身特定行业前,应先逐一想想以下每条问题,深思熟虑,更透彻地了解自己。

价值观:您生命中最重要的是什么?您热爱和讨厌什么?什么事情能令您津津乐道?别人不同意您哪些观点,会令您感到愤怒?

长短处和喜恶:强项弱点和喜恶多数都很类似,所以可以一并思考。您做什么特别拿手?哪些事情对您来说格外困难?不妨做做性格测试,找出自己的优势和不足之处。

兴趣:什么事情令您孜孜不倦?您对哪些事物有浓厚兴趣?

对未来的期望:您对事业有什么憧憬?您有没有想像过自己在5年、10年后会在什么位置?您在个人和工作层面上,有什么短期、中期、长期计划?您想有多成功?您的理想生活是怎样的?

部分学生会在毕业后和投入职场前,放一年的假,更可能会利用这段时间创业。如果您想继续进修,不妨参考读研深造的5大优势

了解各种工作

加深自我认识,能让您更容易地找到最合适自己的职位、机构和行业。然而,在做决定之前,您应先做好功课,确实了解就业市场中各式各样的工种,再找出可能适合您的工作领域。

您应仔细研究:

  • 您感兴趣的行业:您对哪些职业和职能有兴趣?我建议您发掘一下那些行业的本地专业机构,查探行情。英国特许管理会计师公会(CIMA)和英国特许营销协会(CIM)就是专业机构例子。

  • 感兴趣的企业:每家机构都有其独特理念和选贤任能的策略。您可以通过机构网站和《哈佛商业评论》、《金融时报》、《福布斯》等商业新闻媒体,了解这些机构的现任员工。您也可向专业人士或毕业不久的人查询,或参加社交活动。

  • 职能:在选定行业和机构之后,您应研究各种职能的工作,是否与您的强项和兴趣吻合。

您需要移居海外的资讯和支持吗?不妨参考我们为您而设的移居待办清单,助您在到达后的首3个月安顿下来,为海外新生活做好准备。

工作配对

在自我评估和搜集就业市场的相关资料后,您可以更容易地找到适合自己的行业、机构和职位。决定好之后,您可以问自己这些问题:这个职位有哪些吸引您的特点?想像一下如果您真的在那里工作,感觉会如何?您和其他员工的价值观相似吗?您重视该行业的理念吗?您可以在无须改变自我的情况下,融入该行业吗?

对部分人来说,这个思考过程非常简单,然而,有些人需要更多时间去考虑也不足为奇。在逐步分析这些问题的同时,您对自己的了解也会加深。有需要的话,不妨再三思量。

长远建议

我们在每个人生阶段都应该设立目标。随着时间的推进,您可能会有所改变,因而设立新的人生目标,这是正常不过的事。通过自我反省去寻找下一个目标是必经过程,更有助您成長。

然而,我们不是要达致完美。正如西班牙艺术家萨尔瓦多.达利说:“不要害怕完美,因为您永远不会达到完美境界。”这句说话不单适用于择业,也可应用于生活中的其他方面。世界瞬息万变,您应持续探索自我,做最明智的决定。

我希望这些信息能助您开展事业成功之路。不过,要谨记生活状况、营商环境和您的事业发展都会不时变化。无论您选择了哪个人生路向,也会获得宝贵经验。

准备好开立海外账户?

汇丰在超过30个国家和地区提供环球银行服务,无论您计划继续进修、应征工作还是创业,我们都可以满足您的财务需要。

 

在选择您的所在地,以及您有意开立海外账户的目的地后,我们会向您提供详细步骤。

 

作者:国际华人精英辅导(Global Elite Coaching for Chinese)创始人及梦达琳国际咨询(Mandarin Consulting)首席执行官李群

梦达琳国际咨询是知名全球精英训练机构,团队由资深西方专业人士组成,曾为多个行业进行顾问工作,为世界各地的华人及亚裔学生提供全面高效的事业咨询服务。

注:汇丰银行不是梦达琳国际咨询计划的产品和服务供应商,并且对参与此推广优惠的卖方所提供的商品和服务的质量不承担任何责任。

免责声明

汇丰控股有限公司基于其认为可靠的公开资料编写本文,但并未独立核实此等资讯。汇丰控股有限公司和汇丰集团(统称“汇丰”)对您因使用或依赖本文而可能招致或遭受的任何损失、损害、责任或其他任何形式的后果概不负责。本文内容如有更改,恕不另行通知。汇丰不对本文的准确性、及时性或完整性作任何陈述或保证。

 

本文并非投资建议或推荐,也无意出售投资或服务或招揽购买或认购。本文不应用作任何有关税收、遗产、信托或遗产规划决定的基础。您不应使用或依赖本文来作出任何投资决定;汇丰不对此类使用或依赖负责。本文所展示的任何市场资讯均为过去资讯,不应被视为未来市场表现的指标。每当进行任何形式的优质住宅或商业物业购买、出售或出租前,您都应考虑寻求专业意见。如果您对本文的内容有任何疑问,请向您所在地区的专业顾问查询。

Top of main content

Preparing for the global job market

Most of the successful professionals that I know would agree that correctly choosing the first job after graduation is very important. They'd also agree that knowing yourself better can help with this, and that self-discovery is a journey on which you start the earlier the better! However, this is easier said than done. Self-discovery often involves a lot of effort to get right, but it's well worth it. Here is some advice on how you can get started.

Know yourself

Self-discovery is particularly important when you make some major life changes. Finishing your higher education and transitioning from a student to a professional is definitely one of those major changes.

As you consider your post-university career path, take some time to reflect and work through the following questions. Allow yourself to take one question at a time and delve deep into your thought process so you get a clearer idea of what's under the surface for you.

Your values - What's important to you in life? What areas are you passionate about, both positively and negatively? These are the things that you could talk about all day or perhaps fire you up when someone challenges your views.

Your strength and weaknesses/your likes and dislikes - These two are often quite similar so it's useful to think about them together. What are you good at and maybe not so good at? What comes naturally and what do you find more challenging? A good way to determine this may be to take a personality test!

Your interests and passions - What will keep you fascinated for a long time? What can you do for an extended period without feeling bored or tired? What makes you want to learn more?

Your vision for your future - Where have you always dreamed of your career going? What do you wish to be doing 5 or 10 years from now? What are your short-, medium- and long-term aspirations for work and for your personal life? How successful do you want to be? What type of lifestyle do you want to have?

Some students take a gap year while others might start their own business. Perhaps you'd like to further your studies, and here are some reasons why that might be a good idea.

Know job opportunities out there

Having a clearer idea of yourself should make it easier to identify which roles, companies and industries may suit you best. But before you start making decisions, it's important to do some research. You want to make sure you fully understand what's available out there in the job market before you assess whether you would fit in a particular area or field.

Spend some time on researching:

  • industries of interest to you; professions that catch your eye and roles available in those professions. I'd encourage you to look at professional bodies within your area of interest for industry and career insights. For example, in the UK this might be the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) or the Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM).
  • companies in the industry you're interested in. Each company has its own values and is looking for their type of people. You may explore the types of people employed in those organisations. You can do this by looking through company websites and business news sources (such as the Harvard Business Review, Financial Times or Forbes). Try talking to professionals and recent graduates, or attend networking events.
  • business functions – once you've chosen the industries and companies, you need to research business roles. You need to know exactly how different business functions work, and how that fits into your own strengths and interests.
     

Are you researching a move or relocating and need some guidance? The HSBC country checklists are designed to help you navigate your first 3 months and beyond so you can start your life abroad successfully.

Find your match

Now, put together your self-reflection and the information you gathered about the job market to help you choose some industries, companies and positions that feel like a good fit. Once you've made your decision, test it with some exploratory questions. What is it about each that appeals to you? How do you feel when you imagine yourself working there? Do the employees share similar values to you? Do the industries share the same motivations and passions as you? Can you see yourself fitting in to that industry without compromising who you are?

For some, this could be a straightforward exercise. For others, it might take more exploration. I'd encourage you to be comfortable with that. With each step forward you will garner more information, and so this self-reflection will continually evolve for you. You may find yourself going over these steps more than once. And that's OK.

It's not just these factors that you need to consider. There are other factors that may also be important for you to make choices. Moving abroad for work? Make sure your new destination is a good fit too: some countries are more business-friendly than others.

Lasting advice

It's important to have goals at every stage of life. Keep in mind that your goals will change with time because you change, and that's perfectly acceptable. Searching for the next goal is good as well as necessary. Reflection should always be part of that search.

It's not about finding something perfect. As Salvador Dali said: "Have no fear of perfection – you'll never reach it." I find this quote applies not only to career choices, but to many other things in life. And because we live in an ever-changing world, the right approach is to keep yourself on a never-ending journey of self-discovery so you can make the best and most well-informed decisions.

I hope this helps you on the journey of starting a successful career and inspires you to set yourself on the right path. However, remember that life evolves, businesses evolve, and your career will evolve, too. You'll gain valuable experience whichever path you choose.

Ready to open an overseas account?

Whatever your path - whether that's furthering your studies, joining a company or starting a business - HSBC can help you get your international banking sorted in more than 30 countries and regions around the world.


Written by Carrie Waley, founder of Global Elite Coaching for Chinese and CEO of Mandarin Consulting. Mandarin Consulting is a global elite coaching industry leader. Our team of dedicated and experienced Western professionals with multi-industry experience offer the most comprehensive and effective expert career coaching to Chinese and Asian students and graduates in the world.

Note: HSBC is not a supplier of the products and services for the Mandarin Consulting Programme and accepts no liability for the quality of goods and services provided by the Vendor involved in this promotion.

Disclaimer

HSBC Holdings plc has prepared this article based on publicly available information at the time of preparation from sources it believes to be reliable but it has not independently verified such information. HSBC Holdings plc and the HSBC Group (together, "HSBC") are not responsible for any loss, damage, liabilities or other consequences of any kind that you may incur or suffer as a result of, arising from or relating to your use of or reliance on this article. The contents of this article are subject to change without notice. HSBC gives no guarantee, representation or warranty as to the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of this article.

 

This article is not investment advice or a recommendation nor is it intended to sell investments or services or solicit purchases or subscriptions. This article should not be used as the basis for any decision on taxation, estate, trusts or legacy planning. You should not use or rely on this article in making any investment decision. HSBC is not responsible for such use or reliance by you. Any market information shown refers to the past and should not be seen as an indication of future market performance. You should always consider seeking professional advice when thinking about undertaking any form of prime residential or commercial property purchase, sale or rental. You should consult your professional advisor in your jurisdiction if you have any questions regarding the contents of this article.