主內容首部

適應子女前往海外留學後的新生活

升讀大學對家長和子女來說,都是人生中的巨大挑戰,而每個家庭感受到的衝擊程度各有不同。預早計劃,有助為人父母的您迎接這新階段。

1. 保持聯絡

與大部分學生一樣,您的子女大概對科技很熟悉,懂得各種保持聯繫的方法,但大學生活不只多姿多采,也可能相當忙碌,所以即使他們有一段時間沒有跟您聯絡,也毋須過份擔心,這`可能代表他們正盡情體驗留學生活!不妨前往探訪他們,或為他們預訂下次假期回家的機票,把握時間共聚天倫。

2. 培養新興趣

您也許已有一段很長的時間專注於照顧子女,經常接載他們參加活動、為他們檢查功課,還到學校觀看他們演出。現在,是時候開始多為自己著想,尋找新目標。除了繼續關心子女新生活之外,也可全情投入於新興趣和學習新技能,讓生活更充實,有助減低失落感。

3. 與家人朋友重新聯繫

家裡少了一個人,確實會令人不太習慣。不妨善用這段時間,與親朋好友重新聯繫,傾訴一下您的感受,您也能騰出更多時間與伴侶相處。您或會因家裡清靜了不少而感到高興,也可能非常掛念子女,總之千萬別忽視自己的情緒和感受。

4. 裝修家居

您也許很想立即將子女的睡房改為書房,但千萬別太著急。太快改動空間,容易令子女在這段情緒已不太平穩的階段倍感迷失。當時機適合時,不妨與子女討論,讓他們也參與過程,並明白這裡永遠都是他們的家。畢竟世事難料,他們有可能比預期更快回來與您同住

準備好開立海外戶口?

我們可為您建議申請海外戶口的最佳方法。在選擇您的所在地,以及您有意開立海外戶口的目的地後,我們會向您提供詳細步驟。

Top of main content
mum and daughter on beach hugging; image used for HSBC International Services study abroad article Support for parents.

Support for parents

The transition to university can be a challenge for kids and parents alike. Some find it harder than others when their child heads off to university. Planning ahead can help you cope with this new stage of parenthood. 

Adjusting to your child's new life abroad

1. Stay in touch

Like most students, your child is probably pretty tech savvy and will know all the ways to keep in touch. University is not only a fun time, it can also be pretty busy. Try not to worry too much if you don't hear from them for a while. This probably means they're having a good time! Make plans to visit them or book their trip home for the next holiday so you can look forward to seeing them again soon.

2. Find new interests

You've probably been focused on your kids for a long time. Hours spent driving to activities, checking homework and watching school plays. This is a good time to start thinking about yourself and finding a new purpose. Stay engaged in your child's new life but keep busy with some new interests or skills and you'll find it easier to keep your feelings of loss at bay.

3. Rediscover relationships

Yes, the house will feel strange with one less person in it. Use this time to reconnect with friends and loved ones to talk about how you feel. You'll also have more time to focus on your partner. Don't discount your feelings – you might be happy to have the house to yourselves, or you may be missing them terribly.

4. Decorate the house

While it can be tempting to turn your child's bedroom into a study right away, hold off on this one for a bit. Changing the space too soon could make them feel displaced during an already-emotional time. When you feel it's right, discuss it together so your child feels a part of the process and understands that this will always be their home. Who knows - they might be living with you again sooner than you expected!

Ready to open an overseas account?

Ready to set up a bank account in your child's new host country and surprise them with their own ATM card, credit card and worldwide Premier benefits before they even leave home? Use the 'Arrange a call back' button to submit a form, and one of our customer service members will call you back.

Learn more about the overseas account opening process, documents you may need and any fees.