主内容首部

学成归来的自处之道

精彩留学生活过后,归家不久就开始闷闷不乐?其实这情况绝不罕有,因为您要面对的难题可能不少:求职上的种种挑战、偿还学生贷款的压力,以及负担不起自住空间,又不惯跟家人朝夕相对的困局。到底学成归来的留学生,应该如何自处?

毕业后搬回家是新常态

在过去的20年,比方说在英国,跟家人同住的青年人就爬升了46%1。水涨船高的楼价房租,还有偿还学生贷款的沉重压力,都逼使这一代大学生,毕业后从校园搬回家。这个情况已相当常见,所以普罗大众也开始不太抗拒:过半数美国千禧世代受访者,都表示毕业后准备搬回家;而82%的受访家长也欢迎子女回家同住2

离家时可能才十来岁,经历过4年或更长的留学生涯,现在您已是个独当一面的成年人。虽然这些年来,您在外面独自生活寻找自我,成长了很多,但您的父母就不一定跟得上这些改变。住在一起,父母可能继续要当一家之主的角色,生活中大小事都加入意见;但您却希望有多一点个人空间。

这些矛盾难免出现,但不应成为同住的绊脚石。加强沟通可以增进了解;一起定下对彼此的要求,还有定义个人空间,更是和睦相处的秘诀。不妨向父母展示一下,您在外面学到的生活技能,能够下厨做饭、清洁家居等也可加强您的成熟形象。

和您的大学朋友保持联系

近来有研究指出,接近所有受访的留学生,都觉得海外留学体验对自己有帮助,甚至可以终生受用。毕业过后,您可能还时常想念大学时的好友。还好现在视频通话、电子邮件等都相当方便,跟身在各地的朋友隔空聚旧,可说是没有难度。回家后要重新习惯生活,特别是您可能面对“逆向文化冲击”,让过程更吃力;跟大学好友保持联系,可让您感到有他们同行,适应起来也轻松点。

主动交新朋友

跟大学好友保持联络的同时,也不妨建立新的圈子。结交新朋友方法很多,可联系您大学的校友会,或是曾加入过的学生组织本地分部。如果想多融入本地社区,参加志愿者工作也是个不错的选择。开始交到新朋友,您就会渐渐适应本地生活,多一份归属感。

重新探索熟悉的地方

您在海外留学都好几年了,自己原来住的地方,也可能有不少变化。所以这片像是熟悉的土地,值得您花点时间,再一次好好探索。有空不妨去看一下,新开业的酒吧和餐厅;穿过大街小巷,随时会找到新的角度,欣赏这住了多年的地方。一个人逛够了,还可通过Meetup或其他平台,寻找或自建兴趣群组,认识志趣相投的新朋友。

多给新生活一点规律

让自己忙一点,分散注意力,可助您消除郁闷。有时间的话,您可跟亲友聚旧、更新自己的履历表,还有培养全新的生活习惯。如果您在大学时生活已经很有规律,现在也可以重拾那个节奏。适当的规律可让新生活感觉充实些,让您更易适应。

好好享受现在的时光

首先,不要着急。毕竟一个人生活、交租缴费等的一切,都会在不久的将来开始,一直伴随着您。趁现在就好好享受一下,和家人同住的时光,同时把握机会储点钱。您要知道,父母可能是您刚进社会时,经济上最好的后盾;到您准备好搬出去独立生活,他们也可以分享相关经验,给您实用的建议。

妥善管理个人财务

无论您对未来的路有多少想法,定下一些计划总能助您整理思绪。完善的财务计划至关重要,因为除了要为将来开始储蓄,留学时可能欠下的债务也必须适时清还。汇丰卓越理财客户可联络客户经理,进一步了解在毕业后如何有效地管理财务。

探索毕业生资源

对自己好一点

人生路上有着大大小小的转变,有些会为您添压力,就像搬家、财务困难和开始新工作等。试想想,如果这一切都同时发生,您要承受的压力就不简单了。毕业后搬回家住,绝对是个大转变,所以要先照顾好自己,用多些时间去适应也无妨。

那么同期毕业的同学发展如何?其实不用太在意,因为每个人的路都不同,互相比较没有太大意义。有时间读读启发思维的好书,好像由George Saunders撰写的《恭喜毕业》(Congratulations, By the Way)和Meg Jay的《20世代,你的人生是不是卡住了……》(The Defining Decade),两本著作都是不错的选择。

了解更多我们的环球银行服务

留学几年回来,无论是一一约见老朋友,或是定好清还学生贷款的计划,一切都要慢慢来。我们会确定您不管身在何方,都能够轻松、简单地管理资金、转账、兑换货币和安排付款。

查看为学生、家长和毕业生而设的资源库

Office for National Statistics:2019年英国的家庭和住户

2 The Harris Poll:出外后又再搬回家的世代

Top of main content
Couple of young women greeting each other in a cafe; image used for HSBC international services Study abroad article coping with post-study blues.

Coping with the post-study blues

Once the excitement of being back home wears off, it's quite common to feel a bit blue after coming back from studying abroad. You might also be facing student loans on top of the challenges of finding a job, and moving out could be an unattainable goal for the moment. What can returning students do to cope with this new reality?

Manage expectations

In the last 20 years, the number of young adults living with their parents in the UK has risen 46%.1  Rising rents, housing prices and student loan debt have all contributed to a "boomerang generation" of graduates moving back home after university. It's a good thing there's less stigma now around this: when asked, more than half of the Millennials in the US said they planned to do just this after college, and 82% of parents said they'd be happy to welcome them back.2

If this is you, you were probably a teenager the last time you lived at home. You might have been gone for 4 years (or more) for school and are now coming back as a full-fledged adult. But while you've been out living your life and finding your identity, your parents might not have been completely privy to this process. They may expect you to still follow their rules while you live under their roof, while you'd like for them to respect your space.

Don't let conflict overshadow your return home; instead, talk about the situation and set some boundaries and expectations. Show your parents the life skills you've learnt. They'll be more inclined to treat you like an adult if you can cook and clean up after yourself.

Keep in touch with your university friends

In a recent study, almost all of those polled who studied abroad said it was a positive and life-changing experience. If you've moved back home, you're probably missing your friends from school. Stay in touch with them with regular video calls and emails - technology truly does make the world that much smaller these days. Maintaining connections can help you readjust to life at home and remind you that you're not alone, especially if you're experiencing reverse culture shock (or "re-entry shock").

Start a new network

Even as you put effort into staying in touch with your university friends, why not start a new network? There are many ways to meet new people. If you know of any alumni networks or local chapters of any student organisations you were part of, pay them a visit. Get involved in your community through volunteer work. You'll meet people while getting settled in again and before you know it, home will start feeling like, well, home again.

Explore the place you call home again

You've spent years living abroad. Chances are things have changed during that time, so make an effort to rediscover your home and all it has to offer, once again. Walk around town and check out the new bars and restaurants that cropped up in your absence. You might even be surprised to see that the skyline of your city has changed while you were away. Join a Meetup group or create your own, and connect with like-minded people who share your interests.

Establish a routine

Just like when you moved away from home, keeping busy will take your mind off the post-study blues. Reconnect with friends and family, update your CV and establish a new routine. If you had a set routine at school, create a new one now and it will give you a sense of purpose while you try to readjust.

Remind yourself to enjoy this time

You'll be out on your own soon enough, paying rent and all the bills that come with independence (trust us - you've got the rest of your life to do this). Enjoy this time living at home and save some money while you're at it. Remember, your parents can be your best financial support when you're just starting out. They can also be your best advisers in terms of helping you prepare for independence.

Address your financial situation

You don't need to know exactly what you're going to do for the rest of your life, but having a plan will help you get your thoughts in order. This includes a financial plan for saving and paying back any debt you might have incurred while studying abroad. If you're an HSBC Jade client or Premier customer, you can book an appointment with your relationship manager to discuss how best to manage your money now that you're no longer a student.

Request a call back to talk about your banking options.

Seek help and be kind to yourself

Certain life events can cause stress, some more than others. A few of these top stressors include moving, financial troubles and starting a new job. Think about it - you may be experiencing these all at once! Moving back home after graduating is a major life transition, so be kind to yourself and give yourself time to get used to your new normal.

As for what your graduating classmates are doing? It doesn't matter. Your experience will be different, so it doesn't help to compare. Pick up inspiring books instead, like Congratulations, By the Way, by George Saunders or The Defining Decade, by Meg Jay.

Are you still in university and planning life after school? Here are 9 things every college student should do before graduating to help make your transition back home easier.

Learn more about our international services

Whether it's dealing with student loans or reconnecting with friends - it can take time to adjust after your study abroad. No matter where you are, we'll make sure transferring and managing your money, trading currencies and making payments are all easy and straightforward.

Resources for students, parents and graduates.