主內容首部

家庭時間的重要

面對繁忙的工作和其他生活責任時,很难享受優質的家庭時間。因此把握善用空閒時間尤其重要。如果想不到應做甚麼,不妨嘗試參考我們的清單。

增添一點文化氣息

英國華威大學一項研究發現1,與家長一同享受文化活動的小孩日後升讀高等教育的機會較高。  親子一同參與,能為子女提供安全環境,盡情探索新事物。結果亦顯示,家長參與對小孩的閱讀和數學能力有正面影響,亦有助改善學校出席率。

與家人移居海外的話,您便有很多機會一同體驗文化,親子同樂。不妨騰出時間一同參觀景點,例如到訪博物館、出席音樂會和欣賞劇場演出。

哪些是世界最佳的藝術和文化城市?您可到意大利佛羅倫斯的烏菲茲美術館盡情欣賞藝術;到巴黎羅浮宮細看蒙羅麗莎;或到京都 1,600 間神社之一參拜一下。倫敦亦有超過 1,500 間美術館;而紐約的公共圖書館卡更可讓您免費參觀 47 間博物館。

這些地方的文化生活如此精采,實在無可挑剔。

運動一番

美國的體育活動指引建議,小孩每日應至少運動1小時。家長應給學齡前兒童3小時或以上的時間2到處奔走。能以身作則更是最好不過。

與家人一起運動,既可建立關係和養成健康習慣,亦可鼓勵團隊合作。做運動有助子女發展運動協調能力,減輕壓力和消耗多餘精力,助他們心情更好,睡得更佳。

抵達新地方和開展新日常生活後,不妨以強身健體作為優先目標

與家人聚餐

美國兒科醫學院報告指,與家長一同用餐的小孩語言能力較佳,因爲他們參與的對話時間較長。與家人一同用餐次數較多的青少年亦出現較少情緒和行為問題。與家人用餐有助減少兒童肥胖問題、提升自尊心,以及養成更健康的飲食習慣。家長亦能把握用餐時間的機會,向子女示範良好的餐桌禮儀和適當的行為。

不過,即使無法每一餐都全家齊聚,也不用過份擔心。偶爾吃得稍為不夠健康也無大礙,而且出外用餐也可以,重要的是共聚一起的時間。與子女一同準備食物,雖然厨房可能會變得非常髒亂,但也充滿趣味。

用餐時,不妨關掉電視,禁止使用手機,讓大家專心享受與彼此一起的時光。

再次感受童真

不要太費心計劃一整天的活動。您也應好好享樂。自行創作遊戲,讓您能了解子女想像事物的方式,亦能鼓勵他們發揮創意。玩設有規則的運動和遊戲則有助子女發展分析思維技巧。

研究顯示3,每週只需和子女一起玩耍30分鐘,便可鞏固親子關係,減輕壓力。

準備好開立海外戶口?

在您出發並開始探索新居前,您可能需要先了解學校選擇、尋找住宿和開立海外銀行戶口。不妨預約回電,由我們解答您的問題並助您開立海外戶口。

您應在移居前開戶,以便在出發前備妥提款卡和信用卡,或將卡寄到新的固定住址。仍有疑問?

有疑問?

歡迎向我們的顧問查詢。

1. https://warwick.ac.uk/newsandevents/pressreleases/quality_time_rather/

2. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/06/well/move/kids-exercise-teenagers-children-virus.html?auth=login-email&login=email

3. https://www.thurstontalk.com/2020/02/28/the-surprising-benefits-of-play-for-parents-and-their-children/

Top of main content
mother with 2 children looking at art in gallery; image used for HSBC International Services Life Abroad article The importance of family time.

The importance of family time

It can be tough to carve out quality family time when you're caught up in work and the rest of life's responsibilities. That's why it's especially important to make the free moments count. If you're short on ideas of what to do, try a few things from our list.

Add a little culture

A study1 from the University of Warwick in the UK found that children who enjoy cultural activities with their parents are more likely to go on to higher education. Doing this together provides a safe environment for your kids to explore new ideas. Parental engagement has also been shown to benefit kids' reading and math skills and to improve school attendance.

Moving abroad with your family can offer plenty of these shared cultural experiences. Make time to explore the sights together: visit museums, attend some concerts and take in some theatre.

What are the world's best cities for arts and culture? Ogle the art in the Uffizi Museum in Florence, Italy; gaze at Mona Lisa in Le Louvre Museum in Paris; and pay your respects at one of Kyoto's 1,600 temples. London has more than 1,500 galleries and your New York public library card can get you into 47 museums for free.

What's not to love about that?

Work up a sweat

In the US, physical activity guidelines recommend that kids exercise for at least an hour a day. Preschoolers should be getting three hours or more2 of running-around time. There's nothing better than leading by example.

Exercising as a family creates bonding time and healthy habits, as well as encourages teamwork. Doing sports helps your kids develop their motor coordination and burn off stress and excess energy. They'll feel better and sleep better.

Make it a priority to keep fit and healthy when you're settling into a new country and routine.

Come together over family mealtimes

The College of Pediatricians reported that kids who eat with their parents have better language skills because they're engaging in longer conversations. And teens who had more frequent family meals had fewer emotional and behavioural problems. Eating as a family can decrease childhood obesity, improve self-esteem and lead to healthier eating habits. Mealtimes are also a great opportunity to model good table manners and appropriate behaviours.

Don't feel bad if you can't get everyone together for every meal, though. It doesn't always need to be ultra healthy, and eating out counts, too. What's important is the time spent together. It can be ultra messy, but preparing a meal with your kids is part of the fun.

Switch off the TV, ban the phones from the table, and focus on each other.

Have fun being a kid again

Don't get too caught up with planning the perfect day out. Just play. Making up your own games allows you to see how your child imagines, and encourages their creativity. And playing organised sports and games with rules can help develop a child's analytical thinking skills.

Research3 has shown that letting your child direct their playtime with you for just 30 minutes a week can both strengthen your relationship and decrease stress.

Ready to open an overseas account?

Before you move and start exploring your new home, chances are you need to look at the school options, find accommodation and set up your overseas bank account. Arrange a call back and we can answer any of your questions and help you open an overseas bank account.

Do this before you move abroad and you can have your ATM and credit cards ready pre-departure, or sent to your new permanent address. Still have questions?

Learn more about HSBC's international services

1Quality time rather than study time improves teens’ educational aspirations. https://warwick.ac.uk/newsandevents/pressreleases/quality_time_rather/

2Getting kids to move more. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/06/well/move/kids-exercise-teenagers-children-virus.html?auth=login-email&login=email

3The Surprising Benefits of Play for Parents (and Their Children). https://www.thurstontalk.com/2020/02/28/the-surprising-benefits-of-play-for-parents-and-their-children/