主內容首部

私立學校如何助學生為高等教育作好準備?

30年前,接受大學教育並不常見,但現在已經相當普遍。但有證據顯示,許多大學並沒有跟上世界的演進。

為了推動第四次工業革命,僱主需要的人才,須具備一流科技知識,並可靈活地處理嶄新問題,隨機應變。Wiley Education Services的研究顯示,估計2020年全球高技術人才的短缺達到3,500-4,000萬人1,幾乎等於倫敦人口的5倍。

改革高等教育填補技能缺口

英國大學及院校招生事務處(UCAS)的調查顯示,STEM(科學、技術、工程和數學)學位越來越受到重視2。英國文化協會指出,在過去幾年,人文學科如英語、歷史和現代語言等的入讀人數,正相應下降3。以往一直被視為次於大學學位的職業課程,獲英國等國家的政府投入資金4改進。

但高等教育是技能缺口(skills gap)的真正原因嗎?還是缺口早於中學銜接到大學時已經出現?

英國University of Exeter的研究5顯示,某些教育安排,未能為年輕人接受高等教育作好準備。例如中學的考試壓力雖然巨大,但學生通常在兩年的課程中,只須面對一兩次考試,可是在升讀大學之後,他們須面對更頻繁的考核,而在以實驗為主的學科和部分其他科目中,他們更須與同學合作做小組作業。如果學生在大學時期耗費全部時間在這些學術新技能上,就會沒空發展未來需要的事業新技能。

那學校究竟實行了甚麼措施,讓學生可順利適應高等教育呢?

學會學習

與其他大部分學校相比,私立學校在課程編排方面擁有更大的自由度,能為學生提供額外的培育。在倫敦西南部薩里郡的凱特漢姆中學(Caterham School),所有六年級學生須參加入學準備課程,率先體驗大學的教育模式,包括研討會和遙距學習;該校鼓勵學生獨立學習,並進行考試範疇以外的學科研究。

這種教育方式並不是由六年級才開始。凱特漢姆中學在所有級別推行「學會學習」計劃,教導學生後設認知、自我組織和筆記技巧等知識和技能,讓他們在學習時更為自主獨立。

英格蘭南部西薩塞克斯的漢德克洛斯派克預備學校(Handcross Park),為3至8年級的學生編排特別課堂,教導他們團隊建設和高水平的解難技巧。

這可讓小朋友學會聆聽別人意見,並了解如何透過合作實現目標。

校長Richard Brown說這些課堂最重要的部分,並非由教師作主導的學術講解,而是學生對學問的反思和討論。

子女正計劃前往英國升學?不妨查閱這張留學清單

職業培訓

私立學校一直帶頭為學生提供職業訓練課程。位於英格蘭西南部格洛斯特郡的溫斯特頓伯特學校(Westonbirt School)是英國眾多採用商業和技術教育委員會(BTEC)評級,為學生提供不同升讀高等教育途徑的學校之一。校長Natasha Dangerfield最初不得不說服家長,這種職業評核與傳統高中課程(A-levels)具有同樣價值。

她說︰「要讓父母同意十分困難。但許多學校在這方面非常成功。學生以一種截然不同的方式,發展技能和知識,獲益良多。」她指出,蘋果、Google和IBM等公司不再期望所有求職者都是大學畢業生。Dyson亦成立了專屬技術學院,為離校者提供工程工作培訓。

塑造性格

如果只集中於討論技能和學歷,便可能忽略了高等教育中,學生所面對的另一重大挑戰。其實,年輕人除了須學會獨立工作外,亦須學懂如何獨立生活。

位於英國北安普敦郡的溫徹斯特預備學校(Winchester House)校長Emma Goldsmith認為,應在小朋友的早期教育中,便開始建立塑造性格的基礎。

學會善待他人,將影響他們畢業後的生活,所以應及早培養。

富有意義的課外活動能讓年輕人更了解自己,並有助他們發展長處,同時鼓勵他們與其他人合作。社區服務是越來越流行的教學方式,能讓學生與來自不同背景的人士一起協作共事。

溫徹斯特預備學校校長Goldsmith率先與當地的養老院建立通訊計劃,鼓勵學生為弱勢老年人提供支援。此外,學校還成立了認知障礙共融合唱團,在培養學生音樂感的同時,還讓他們學會與截然不同的人合作。

校友支援

離開校園到全新環境接受高等教育,可能會令學生感到不安。因此,學校借助正接受高等教育的校友網絡,來幫助新生順利適應下來,並為離校生提供工作經驗和實習機會。

校友網絡一直是男校的傳統,而女校現在亦已開始建立校友支援網絡,既提供事業指導,也向學生宣傳一系列銜接高等教育的科目,包括傳統上以男性為主的STEM科目。

展望未來

私立學校深明填補技能缺口的關鍵,在於及早準備,才能確保年輕人能順利適應高等教育,並充分把握機遇。私立學校不斷開創新的教學方法,務求令中學教育能更順暢地銜接高等教育。

由Talk Education撰寫
Talk Education是全球最佳學校的數碼動態指南。製作團隊共擁超過175年的專業經驗,助世界各地人士深入了解私立教育。您可瀏覽各地名校的評論,並比較心儀學校的資料,為子女選擇理想學校。

準備好開立海外戶口?

滙豐尚玉和滙豐卓越理財客戶可在子女出發前,預先開立海外銀行戶口,方便遙距繳交學費。請在我們的簡易表格上填寫您的詳細資料,我們會與您聯絡,解答您的問題和助您開立海外戶口

如要前往海外升學,您還須考慮行程、住宿和保險。

進一步了解我們的環球銀行服務

1 Wiley Education Services(2020年)填補技能缺口的另類高等教育
2 UCAS(2021 年 2 月)大學生趨向選擇技術領域學科
3 英國國家學術院UCAS(2017年)周期報告——歷史和哲學研究
4 Relocate Global:提高職業資格標準
5 英國University of Exeter:助學生從變革後的A-levels成功過渡到大學的措施有待改善

Top of main content
teacher helping class of students; Image used for HSBC International Services article How are independent schools preparing children for higher education?

How are independent schools preparing children for higher education?

Thirty years ago, a university education was the exception rather than the rule. Now, it's pretty much essential. At the same time, however, there's evidence that many universities aren't keeping up with changes in the world of work.

To power the fourth industrial revolution, employers need workers with strong technological skills, as well as the resilience and resourcefulness to tackle unfamiliar problems. According to research by Wiley Education Services, the global shortage of highly skilled workers was expected to reach around 35-40 million in 2020 1. That's almost 5 cities the size of London.

World of higher education changing to bridge the so-called 'skills gap'

Research by UCAS shows that there is an increased emphasis 2 on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) degrees, while the British Council has pointed to a corresponding decline 3 in the past few years in the take-up of humanities subjects such as English, history and modern languages. Governments in countries like Britain have also been investing 4 in improving vocational courses, which have long been unfairly stigmatised as a second-rate alternative to university.

But is higher education really the source of this gap? What if it begins to open up much earlier, in the transition between school and university?

University of Exeter research 5 has shown that some qualifications leave young people unprepared for higher education. School exams are stressful, but they are infrequent. Students often take just one or two exams after a 2-year course. At university, they will be examined more frequently, not to mention the fact that, especially in lab-based subjects, they will be forced to work more collaboratively, too. If students spend all their time at university catching up with these new skills, then it's no wonder that they don't have the time to develop new ones for future employment.

What, then, are schools doing to ease this transition and prepare their pupils for higher education?

Learning to learn

With more freedom over how they structure their curriculum, independent schools are better placed than most to give their students the extra help they need. At Caterham School in Surrey, Southwest London, for instance, all sixth-formers take the school's Readiness course to give them experience of university-style teaching, with seminars and distance learning. The students are also encouraged to be more independent in their work and to do more research into their subjects than their exams require.

This process doesn't just start in the sixth form. Caterham's Learning to Learn programme operates throughout the school, teaching students skills like metacognition, self-organisation and note-taking to enable them to be more autonomous in their learning.

At West Sussex prep school Handcross Park in southern England, students in Years 3 to 8 have timetabled sessions to teach them team-building and higher-level problem-solving skills.

This allow[s] the children to understand how to work collaboratively to achieve a goal and to learn to listen.

Head Richard Brown says that the most important aspect of these sessions isn't, in fact, the didactic, teacher-led explanations of concepts and terms, but rather the time given up to the students for reflection and discussion of what has been learned.

Studying in the UK? Use this checklist to help you prepare.

Learning to work

Independent schools have also been leading the charge in preparing students for vocational courses. Westonbirt School in Gloucestershire, Southwest England, is one of many UK schools that have adopted Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC) qualifications to give pupils a different route into higher education. Head Natasha Dangerfield initially had to convince parents that this vocational approach was as worthwhile as A-levels.

"Getting this past parents was hard," she says, "but many schools have managed this with great success and children benefit from developing their skills and their knowledge base in a very different way." She goes on to point out that companies like Apple, Google and IBM no longer expect all applicants to be graduates, and that Dyson has founded its own technical institute to train school-leavers for jobs in engineering.

Building character

All this talk of skills and qualifications, however, risks ignoring another aspect of higher education that students may find difficult. As well as learning to work independently, young people need to learn to live independently, too.

Emma Goldsmith, head of prep school Winchester House in Northamptonshire, argues that the foundations for this character preparation need to be laid early in a child's education.

Kindness, the way you treat other people – that is going to have an effect on their life post-school. They've got to start building those in right from the very beginning.

Strong co-curricular provision can help enrich young peoples' sense of themselves and their strengths, while at the same time encouraging them to work alongside other people. Community service is one increasingly popular way of teaching otherwise privileged students to work with people from a variety of backgrounds.

At Winchester House, Goldsmith has pioneered a correspondence scheme with local care homes to encourage students to offer support to vulnerable older people. In addition, the school runs a dementia-friendly choir, which stretches students' musical abilities while also teaching them to work with people in very different life circumstances from their own.

Alumni support

Leaving school for higher education can be daunting, but schools are using their alumni networks in higher education to help new arrivals settle in, as well as to provide school-leavers with work experience and internships.

These alumni networks have traditionally been the preserve of boys' schools. Now, all-girls schools are mobilising alumnae support to provide their students with role models in all professional fields and to encourage them to consider a range of subjects for higher education, including the historically disproportionately male STEM subjects.

Looking to the future

Independent schools are realising that the key to narrowing the skills gap may well be better preparation earlier on. This ensure that young people arrive at their higher-education destinations ready to take advantage of all the opportunities presented to them. There's no right way of doing this, but independent schools are developing new and innovative forms of teaching to cushion the transition between school and higher education.

Written by Talk Education. Talk Education is a dynamic digital guide to the world's best schools, produced by a team with a combined total of over 175 years' experience in this sector - unlocking the secrets of independent education for a global audience.  Read reviews of the world's best schools, compare data on your favourites and find the perfect school for your child.

Ready to open an overseas account?

If you're an HSBC Jade or Premier customer, you can set up an overseas bank account ahead of time to make paying school expenses easier from afar. Leave your details on our quick form and we'll get in touch to answer your questions and to help you open an overseas account.

If you're studying abroad, there's travel, accommodation and insurance to think about, too.

Learn more about our international services

1 Addressing the Skills Gap with Alternative Higher Education Options, Wiley Education Services. 2020.

2 Students Turn to Technology with University Choices, UCAS. Feb. 2021.

3 The British Academy UCAS (2017) End of Cycle Report - Historical and Philosophical Studies.

4 Vocational qualifications: raising the bar, Relocate Global.

5 More work needed to help students make successful transitions from revised A-levels to university, University of Exeter.